100 Hits - 70s - Various Artists

Community images

100 Hits - 70s - Various Artists

5 CD(s) - '70s - Label: 100 Hits - Distributor: 2 Entertain/Sony DADC - Released: 15/10/2007 - 654378700224

> Show product information

100% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "100 Hits - 70s - Various Artists"

published 30/12/2008 | d_w86
Member since : 30/07/2007
Reviews : 30
Members who trust : 3
About me :
Excellent
Pro Fab price; Far better tracklisting than most 70s compilations; Loads of classics!
Cons The odd 'filler track' and uninspiring liner notes.
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Budget Bargain!"

A brief overview of the 100 Hits series

What have your experiences with budget priced compilation boxsets been like? Mine have been hit and miss but I believe the 100 Hits series, currently found in most supermarkets, WH Smith, music retailers and online naturally is a goldmine series bringing together the well known classics with quite a few of those tracks that rarely get tracklisted elsewhere on 5 discs, all for the average price of £6.99-7.99 (although if you hurry with the closure of both Zavvi and Woolworths, I have seen the titles priced at £5.99.) Furthermore, apart from the odd track, the series features the original recordings of the featured tracks. The liner notes are typically quite dull as is usually expected of compilations but the music featured on the discs speaks for itself.

The main review.

100 Hits 70s was the first in the series I purchased and I can safely say the compilers know their music and have done a fantastic job in highlighting most of the music styles that pervaded throughout the UK charts during the decade. For the 70s fan wishing to reminisce or the music lover looking to expand their collection, this boxset is ideal. However, for those who view 70s music as simply disco, ABBA, Queen and Status Quo, look at other titles in the 100 Hits series or one of a number of other 70s compilations on the market that only feature the usual suspects. This boxset is perfect for those who want to get away from buying a compilation with the same old stuff.

"Disc 1" is for me by far the strongest and could easily be left on continual play at any house party. I would go as far to say that Disc 1 alone makes owning this boxset a must for any fan of 70s nostalgia. The tracklisting boasts classic disco from Chic with their funky debut 'Dance, Dance, Dance' (distinctively unique when compared to their later hits 'Le Freak' and 'Good Times'); Earth, Wind & Fire's spectacular 'Fantasy' with Philip Bailey's distinctive vocals; the million selling 'Brown Girl in The Ring' from Boney M (yes, the original 1978 version, complete with all the cheese); Andrew Gold's 'Never Let Her Slip Away' which has to be one of the best love songs from the 70s; Ian Dury's 1979 number 1 hit 'Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick' and even Sarah Brightman's camp disco edged 'I Lost My Heart To A Starship Trooper.' For those unfamiliar with Sarah Brightman's early material, this is well worth a listen - extremely kitsch but infectiously catchy. To add to this double top winning formula, the first of two Darts hits is also present on Disc 1, the instantly memorable 'The Boy From New York City,' which I have struggled to find on a 70s compilation for years.

From Barry Blue to Showaddywaddy to The Doobie Brother's 'Long Train Running,' disc 1 has a 70s hit or two for everyone and is a refreshing collection of 70s gems, some of which are rarely heard today. Other tracks worth noting include The Nolan's 'I'm In The Mood For Dancing,' 'My Best Friend's Girl' by The Cars (forget 'Drive' this was a far superior rock song) and Candi Staton's cover of 'Nights on Broadway' which is a perfect cover of an often forgotten Bee Gees classic that despite reaching number 6 in the uk chart is rarely featured on compilations. The same can be said of Eruption's cover of 'One Way Ticket' from 1979 featuring the lead vocals of Precious Wilson, which was another hit from the Frank Farian production line (the genius behind Boney M amongst others.) Eruption's number does have an early Boney M sound but will probably sound a bit more credible to some ears.

Discs 2-5 are themselves fantastic although in my view do not contain the same 'non skip' quality that disc 1 does, although this may be down to my particular tastes. There are a few tracks that don't really appeal to me but might to others. For example the Perry Como tracls on disc 3 do not quite match the heights of his earlier material off and perhaps the inclusion of 'I'd Like To Teach The World To Sing' by the New Seekers would have been a more consistent choice considering that their track 'You Won't Find Another Fool Like Me' is featured. However, Disc 3 ends with two of the greatest from The Walker Brothers ("No Regrets") and Hall & Oates ("She's Gone") which along with number 1 hits such as Art Garfunkel's 'I Only Have Eyes For You' and Chicago's classic 'If You Leave Me Now' more than make up for the less impressive selections.

Disc 2 contains 'Northern Lights' by Renaissance which is one of my all time favourite 70s songs, sounding along the same lines as an ABBA track or two but with theunique folkish style of Renaissance. I bought the boxset specifically to own this track on CD - well worth a listen! Disc 2 contains the excellent 'Wig Wam Bam' from the Sweet and Mott the Hoople's 'All The Young Dudes' (70s anthem by far.) 'Sheena is a Punk Rocker' by the Ramones also crops up on disc 2, representing a driving punk/new wave anthem albeit with a more commercial edge.

Other legendary artists/acts such as T. Rex ), Elvis Presley, David Essex, ELO and Chris Rea feature on discs 3-5 amidst overlooked classics like 'Cats in the Cradle' by Harry Chapin, 'Say You Don't Mind' by Colin Blunstone (brilliant strings and a fine slow solo number from the lead singer of the Zombies), the indescribable 'Love On A Mountain Top' by Robert Knight which went from rare 60s soul groove to taking the charts by storm in 1973 and even 'Little Does She Know' by the Kursaal Flyers. 100 Hits 70s is well worth the price, full of musical surprises and plenty of chart toppers from one of the best eras of pop music. Even one of my all time favourite jazz instrumentals, 'The Morning Dance' by Spyro Gyra is featured on disc 5. I'll complete the review by providing a complete track listing and noting the uk number 1 songs that are included.

Disc: 1
1. I'm In The Mood For Dancing - Nolans
2. Dance Dance Dance - Chic
3. Brown Girl In The Ring - Boney M (UK Number 1)
4. Dr Love - Tina Charles
5. Fantasy - Earth Wind & Fire
6. Harvest For The World - Isley Brothers
7. Nights On Broadway - Candi Staton
8. One Way Ticket - Eruption
9. There Goes My First Love - Drifters
10. Chirpy Chirpy Cheep Cheep - Middle Of The Road (UK Number 1)
11. Never Let Her Slip Away - Andrew Gold
12. Tie A Yellow Ribbon Round An Old Oak Tree - Dawn (UK Number 1)
13. Dancing On A Saturday Night - Barry Blue
14. Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick - Ian Dury & The Blockheads (UK Number 1)
15. I Lost My Heart To A Starship Trooper - Sarah Brightman
16. Hey Rock 'n' Roll - Showaddywaddy
17. Boy From New York City - Darts
18. Yellow River - Christie (UK Number 1)
19. Long Train Running - Doobie Brothers
20. My Best Friend's Girl - Cars

Disc: 2
1. Oh Carol - Smokie
2. Summerlove Sensation - Bay City Rollers
3. All The Young Dudes - Mott The Hoople
4. Wig Wam Bam - Sweet
5. Just What I Needed - Cars
6. Shake Some Action - Flamin' Groovies
7. Sheena Is A Punk Rocker - Ramones
8. Stay With Me - Faces
9. 25 Or 6 To 4 - Chicago
10. Reasons To Be Cheerful Part 3 - Ian Dury & The Blockheads
11. Angel Face - Glitter Band
12. I Want You To Want Me - Cheap Trick
13. Once Bitten Twice Shy - Ian Hunter
14. Rock On - David Essex
15. Born To Be With You - Dave Edmunds
16. Telegram Sam - T-Rex (UK Number 1)
17. Move With Me - Tim Buckley
18. Northern Lights - Renaissance
19. Witch Queen Of New Orleans - Redbone
20. Wonderous Stories - Yes

Disc: 3
1. Wonder Of You - Elvis Presley (UK Number 1)
2. It's Impossible - Perry Como
3. It Don't Matter To Me - Bread
4. Tears On My Pillow - Johnny Nash (UK Number 1)
5. Ruby Tuesday - Melanie
6. Fool (If You Think It's Over) - Chris Rea
7. Chuck E's In Love - Rickie Lee Jones
8. If You Leave Me Now - Chicago (UK Number 1)
9. Seasons In The Sun - Terry Jacks (UK Number 1)
10. Ready Or Not Here I Come (Can't Hide From Love) - Delfonics
11. I Only Have Eyes For You - Art Garfunkel (UK Number 1)
12. Fire - Pointer Sisters
13. What A Fool Believes - Doobie Brothers
14. Love Grows (Where My Rosemary Goes) - Edison Lighthouse (UK Number 1)
15. You Won't Find Another Love Like Me - New Seekers (UK Number 1)
16. Under The Moon Of Love - Showaddywaddy (UK Number 1)
17. I Get A Kick Out Of You - Gary Shearston
18. And I Love You So - Perry Como
19. She's Gone - Hall & Oates
20. No Regrets - Walker Brothers

Disc: 4
1. Metal Guru - T-Rex (UK Number 1)
2. Shine A Little Love - Electric Light Orchestra
3. Baby I Love You - Dave Edmunds
4. Say You Don't Mind - Colin Blunstone
5. Jealous Mind - Alvin Stardust (UK Number 1)
6. Cats In The Cradle - Harry Chapin
7. Time For Action - Secret Affair
8. Have I The Right - Dead End Kids
9. Give A Little Love - Bay City Rollers
10. Natural Sinner - Fair Weather
11. Love On A Mountain Top - Robert Knight
12. Little Does She Know - Kursaal Flyers
13. Jack In The Box - Clodagh Rodgers
14. Glass Of Champagne - Sailor
15. Bang Bang - B.A. Robertson
16. Short People - Newman, Randy
17. Come Back My Love - Darts
18. Look What You've Done - Bread
19. I Can Help - Billy Swan
20. Summer Breeze - Seals & Crofts

Disc: 5
1. You're So Vain - Carly Simon
2. My Coo Ca Choo - Alvin Stardust
3. There's A Whole Lot Of Loving - Guys & Dolls
4. Rio - Michael Nesmith
5. Gertcha - Chas & Dave
6. New York Groove - Hello
7. Something Old Something New - Fantastics
8. Beach Baby - First Class
9. Knocked It Off - Robertson, B.A.
10. Rockabilly Rebel - Matchbox
11. Arms Of Mary - Sutherland Brothers
12. Morning Dance - Spyro Gyra
13. Chosen Few - Dooleys
14. Also Aprach Zarathustra - Deodato
15. Got To Get You Into My Life - Earth Wind & Fire
16. Blame It On Pony Express - Johnson, Johnny & The Bandwagon
17. Sorry I'm A Lady - Baccara
18. Please Tell Him That I Said Hello - Dana
19. Knock Free Times - Dawn (UK Number 1)
20. Do You Wanna Dance - Barry Blue

Community evaluation

This review was read 1279 times and was rated at
100% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • paulpry118 published 31/12/2008
    I will add this to my Amazon wish list. Anna
  • scotlandizdabest published 30/12/2008
    My mum bought this in Woolies for only £3 before it closed!!! Nice review x
  • EVIT published 30/12/2008
    Seems to be a very good collection
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : 100 Hits - 70s - Various Artists

Manufacturer's product description

5 CD(s) - '70s - Label: 100 Hits - Distributor: 2 Entertain/Sony DADC - Released: 15/10/2007 - 654378700224

Product Details

EAN: 654378700224

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 25/09/2007