Review of "100 Streets (DVD)"

published 31/03/2017 | sellerleygirl
Member since : 15/02/2015
Reviews : 969
Members who trust : 120
About me :
♬ •♩ All we need is rates!! •♩ Everybody!!•♩ All we need is rates!! ♩ •♬
Good
Pro Great cast and acting
Cons Too short, stories needed to be deeper
exceptional
Did you enjoy it?
Story
Characters / Performances
Special Effects
Soundtrack

"I00 streets that needed deeper digging"

100 Streets (DVD)

100 Streets (DVD)

:-• 100 Streets-•-:


:-• Film Only Review -•-:

This was another film I watched on Sky Cinema this week; consequently, this is a ‘film only’ review;
however, I looked what extras were on the DVD and The Digital Fix say:
“Besides a basic menu offering scene selection and audio set-up, Signature Entertainment’s DVD release of 100 Streets lacks any extras, not even a trailer or featurette. The absence of subtitles is particularly disappointing.”

So maybe I didn’t miss anything by watching this on Sky rather than DVD!
:-• Tagline -•-:

Anyone can take a wrong turn, but it's the journey that allows us to find the right path

:-• Genre -•-:

• Drama
:-• Film-•-:

The oldest thing in London, according to the poet Cicely Fox Smith, is the River Thames; her poem’s opening lines – “A thousand landmarks perish, / A hundred streets grow strange” – are the source of this 2016 film -'100 Streets', starring and co-produced by Idris Elba who is also and music supervisor). The film was first aired on the 11th November 2016 with the DVD released on the 23rd January 2017, so it was basically a straight to DVD low-budget film.
It deals with three separate storylines that are happening within a square mile of London – or 100 streets.

Film Details

Directed by Jim O'Hanlon
Produced by Pippa Cross, Idris Elba and Ros Hubbard
Written by Leon F. Butler
Music by Paul Saunderson
Cinematography Philipp Blaubach
Release date 11th November 2016
DVD release 23 January 2017
Running time 93 min
Classification 15
:-• The Main Cast -•-:

Idris Elba as Max
Gemma Arterton as Emily
Franz Drameh as Kingsley
Ken Stott as Terence
Kierston Wareing as Kathy
Charlie Creed-Miles as George
Tom Cullen as Jake

:-• The Story-•-:

The 100 streets in question are located in a square mile around the Chelsea area of modern day London; where wealth and elegance live side by side with high-rise estates, middle class houses and unemployment and disillusioned youth.
There is not just one story in this film, but three stories that cover all these classes, plus a fourth that affects all of them; it tells the story of a group of Londoners who are all dreaming or hoping for a better life.
In an opening voiceover, a young drug dealer Kingsley (played by Franz Drameh) explains that entire lives are defined by single choices.

We go on to meet Max, a former England rugby captain and star and his beautiful ex-actress wife (Played by Idris Elba and Gemma Arterton) whose marriage has reached crisis point, due to Max's addiction to women and drugs. George, mild mannered and cheery London cabbie and part time kid's football coach and his wife Kathy (played by Charlie Creed-Miles and Kierston Weareing) whose lives are profoundly changed by a tragic accident. Troubled teenager, Kingsley who is mixed up in gang culture and drugs on his estate and wants out. And finally, local ex-actor Terence (played by Ken Stott) who plays a role in each story, even if only in passing.
Basically,'100 Streets'is a modern-day version of the philosophy that everything is connected. The characters all walk the same streets, and their lives all touch each other’s to a greater or lesser extent.

:-• Acting -•-:

Elba and Arterton get the eye-catching roles, he as the ex-rugby star with the eye for ladies and taste for drugs that prove to be his downfall, she as the former actress who has to choose between her lover and her family. These are great performances from Idris Elba and Gemma Arterton as his estranged wife. Although it is Arterton who is the better of the two; she plays the role with a quickness and defencelessness that convincingly portray Emily’s quiet resolve to forge a character independent of WAG and mother. Elba, who is generally completely compelling in any role he takes on, is not quite so credible as the ex- rugby player who yearns for the days when he used to be Twickenham’s darling. It could be the story line but I found his character a little hard to believe in.

In the interweaving storylines, where all principal characters experience major life changes are very well performed.
Young Drameh's take on the drug dealer wanting to clean up his act is a real shining light throughout the film; he makes each of his scenes feel crisp and considered, and his character is very credible. His inter-generational friendship with Stott’s character is very emotional. Charlie Creed-Miles is excellent as the London cabby, George, a likeable, ordinary man-next-door type who coaches the local kids’ football team. He looks – and sounds – completely at home behind the wheel of his cab and you feel for him when taking on his last fare of the day turns out to be the worst decision of his life. Kierston Wareing is totally believable as George’s supportive wife – Kathy.

Meanwhile all through the film, Ken Stott drifts along in the background like a guardian angel in bright red Beats headphones, doing Tai-Chi by the Thames and connecting everything and everybody but getting precious little reward for his efforts - but just why does he spend so much time in the cemetery (which is where he meets Kingsley)?

Tom Cullen, as Jake - Emily's lover, also plays a good part - but there is precious little of him in the film.

:-• My Opinion -•-:

My husband likes a film with a goodie, a baddie, an opening, a storyline and a satisfactory finale, so I could sense that he wasn’t completely comfortable watching this film
However, I enjoyed the film – although I thought that it needed to be at least half an hour longer, as it did feel very rushed – and I would have liked the stories to have been delved into a little deeper.
For me the most successful storyline (and the one that seems to have more screen time) is the Elba-Arterton one: they’re playing celebrities, and they both look the part. The couple are in the process of trying to restore their marriage after Max's affair with his children’s nanny had become a tabloid scandal. However, Emily contemplates returning to the stage after a 12-year gap after having their children and her affair with a photographer and Max's cocaine-fuelled public meltdowns don't help, and you feel like knocking their heads together. You do though, get to see a lot of Mr Elba's body - so it's not all bad.

George's story could be the winner, but it seems to be far too rushed, and I would have liked to have seen more of it. Creed-Miles and Ms Wareing (who was wasted as she didn't have enough to do in this film) as the despairing-but-supportive wife are likeable characters who don't get dealt the best cards in life. Their desperate attempts to adopt a baby look like being thwarted and their life is ruined by a tragedy. However, the film is so rushed, it shuffles between these storylines in a soap-opera like manner.

The terrific Drameh, as gang member Kingsley has a background seen many times before in films. He is portrayed as the typical black youth from a dingy council estate and immersed in drugs and petty crime. After his young sister begs him not to go to prison again, he vows to go straight and pursue his artistic leanings, but the local dealers refuse to loosen their grip on him. Making a decent future for himself away from his drug dealing and crime filled background is clearly not going to be an easy task for Kingsley, but his chance meeting with an aging ex-actor could be the catalyst he needed.

Each of these stories could have made an adequate film in its own right, and the connections between them are very tenuous, in some cases characters just pass in the street.
I thought that the wonderful cast was definitely the strongest point of the film - far better than the storyline. The film would have been more appealing if the characters had more in common with each other and were better developed – it really needed to be longer.
I would add that the camera work was very strong with brilliant close ups and long shots were superb, including some really stunning shots of London but the final scene, with its cliché ending, slightly outshone the entire film’s story/ies,

:-• Ratings -•-:

• Rotten Tomatoes: 41%, based on 34 reviews
• Metacritic: 44 out of 100, based on 32 critics
• iMDB: 5…5/10 from 1,3373 votes
:-• Critics -•-:

• New York Times: "A converging-narratives film that’s a mix of effective moments and predictable ones"

• Variety: "Seemingly modelled as London's more polite answer to Paul Haggis's "Crash," complete with one fateful road collision but minus the burning socio-political rhetoric"

• The Guardian: "100 Streets review – Idris Elba misfires in multistranded London-set drama"

• The Telegraph: "100 Streets review: Idris Elba's celebrity can't save this aimless Altman-esque drama"

• The Sun: "Idris Elba’s new film 100 Streets is a Brit flick with strong turn from Bond star Gemma Arterton and is a cut above straight to DVD dross"

:-• Trailer -•-:

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2990126/videoplayer/vi4042110489?ref_=tt_ov_vi
:-• How to Watch -•-:

‘100 Streets’ is available on Netflix and Sky Cinema, free for subscribers ; it can also be purchased from Amazon new from £2.40, used from £2.02, £7.99 from Amazon Instant Video or from LOVEFiLM by post.
Some DVDs on Amazon are available for free delivery within the UK and are if you have a Prime account, if neither of these apply add £1.26 for postage
Amazon are currently offering £1.00 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase a DVD or Blu-ray offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies.

:-• DVD Details -•-:

Format: PAL
Region: Region 2
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 15
Studio: Signature Entertainment
DVD Release Date: 23 Jan. 2017
Run Time: 90 minutes
ASIN: B01N2H5CFJ
:-• In Conclusion -•-:

Despite my criticisms, I would still recommend watching this film – although as there are no extras of any merit on the DVD – maybe watch it through Sky/Netflix etc.
It is an entertaining film, I just wanted more – longer stories and more depth to some of the characters, but don’t take my word for it – go watch it!!

:-• Pictures -•-:

1. Max the womanising celebrity
2. Max, determined to sober up
3. We do see a lot of Mr Elba
4. Kingsley and Terence’s first meeting
5. Terence with his ever-present read Beats
6. Emily and Jake’s brief affair
7. The chirpy bespectacled George before the tragedy
8. The poignant couple – Terence and Kingsley

_ Taken From Google _

_ Thanks for reading, I hope that you have found this review useful _
:-• © Sellerleygirl March 2017 -•-:

Community evaluation

This review was read 308 times and was rated at
73% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
exceptional

Comments on this review

  • frankiecesca published 05/04/2017
    I've never heard of this film!
  • mousy86 published 04/04/2017
    great review x
  • 2mennycds published 03/04/2017
    sounds intriguing - E
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "100 Streets (DVD)"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : 100 Streets (DVD)

Manufacturer's product description

Product Details

Actor(s): Idris Elba, Gemma Arterton, Adam Bakri, Franz Drameh, Tom Cullen

Director(s): Jim O'Hanlon

DVD Region: DVD

Video Category: Feature Film

Classification: 15 years and over

Production Year: 2016

EAN: 5060262854921

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 29/03/2017