American Idiot (Parental Advisory) [PA] - Green Day

Community images

American Idiot (Parental Advisory) [PA] - Green Day

Rock & Pop - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: Reprise - Distributor: Arvato Services, Forte - Released: 30/05/2005 - 93624939122

> Show product information

93% positive

3 reviews from the community

Review of "American Idiot (Parental Advisory) [PA] - Green Day"

published 27/06/2007 | Trystan2008
Member since : 02/05/2007
Reviews : 29
Members who trust : 1
About me :
Excellent
Pro Good Comeback
Cons Cant think of any
helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Green Day - Are they American Idiots?"

American Idiot is a nice fresh album from Green Day. This goes back to how they used to play about 10 years ago.

This is a huge improvement on Warning and Shenanigans, which in my opinion were terrible albums.

It\'s more focus on a set a characters, and tells a story throughout the album.

Many songs also seem to have a double meaning, not only the story of the characters but a political statement.

This album also contains 2 ballads as well, lasting around 10 mins each. This has not been done in many punk rock albums in a long time, and they have mastered it.

This album is definately worth buying, I would highly recommend it!

Singles release from this album include:

American Idiot
Holiday
Boulivard Of Broken Dreams

The General Track Listing is:

American Idiot
Jesus of Suburbia
Holiday
Boulevard of Broken Dreams
Are We the Waiting
St. Jimmy
Give Me Novacaine
She\'s a Rebel
Extraordinary Girl
Letterbomb
Wake Me Up When September Ends
Homecoming
Whatsername

The album is about a character called Jesus of Suburbia”. Jesus is the main character throughout the American Idiot soundtrack. Jesus is the typical white suburban teenager, sick of growing up in his sheltered suburban surroundings, and he starts to question the lies that he’s been used to hearing all his life from his so-called rollmodels.He learns more and more about the real truths of the world, and the lies that everyone seems to be devoted to. Unable to stand the hypocrites and the lies, he eventually runs away.

Jesus gets tired of Surburbia and goes on \"Holiday\" he parties all day and night. Eventually he gets a hangover and starts to feel so alone. This is shown in “Boulevard of Broken Dreams”
“Are We The Waiting” is Jesus\' arrival to the city life. “Lost and found city bound in my dreams”.

St. Jimmy is Jesus\' alter ego. Jesus is in a position to start a new life in the big city, and in doing this, he creates a new identity, an identity that is opposite of all the things he hates about his old suburban life.

“Give Me Novacaine” is when Jimmy sees reality is setting in , and decides to take up drugs.

“She’s a Rebel” is where Jimmy meets a girl called Whatsername and falls completely in love. Hense \"Extraordinary Girl”.

In “Letterbomb” Jesus loses Whatername. She sends him a letter breaking up with him and says that she doesn’t believe he is who he says he is.

“Wake Me Up When September Ends” is not really with the rest of the story, it\'s about how he lost his dad when he was young.

“Homecoming” is when Jesus leaves the big city and heads back to suburbia, killing off his alter-ego Jimmy. But still thinks about \"Whatsername\".

Community evaluation

This review was read 660 times and was rated at
40% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
not rated

Comments on this review

  • suesie published 27/06/2007
    the review seems to be about toblerone?
  • hi_nicola published 27/06/2007
    Has nothing to do with the subject.
  • pinkmatchstick published 27/06/2007
    A fair review
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : American Idiot (Parental Advisory) [PA] - Green Day

Manufacturer's product description

Rock & Pop - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: Reprise - Distributor: Arvato Services, Forte - Released: 30/05/2005 - 93624939122

Product Details

EAN: 93624939122

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011