Arcade Perfect - Sonic Boom Six

Community images

Arcade Perfect - Sonic Boom Six

1 CD(s) - Oi - Label: Rebel Alliance - Distributor: Code7/Plastic Head - Released: 19/11/2007 - 689076869188

> Show product information

100% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Arcade Perfect - Sonic Boom Six"

published 09/02/2008 | RazzaLazza
Member since : 01/05/2005
Reviews : 342
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Excellent
Pro Fantastic dual vocals throughout the album, eclectic and effective mash-up of genres.
Cons May be a little too much going on in one album for some.
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Sound of a Revolution"

Sonic Boom Six are a band that have driven through from the underground; their journey began in Manchester in the April 2002, and they finally released their début album 'The Ruff Guide to Genre-Terrorism' in July 2006. Having gotten their début out of the way after four years, they are now onto their second studio album and it was in fact released in November 2007 through Rebel Alliance Recordings. Sonic Boom Six have come a long way as a band over the years, and their 'Arcade Perfect' album is a testament to that fact.

Combining elements of Reggae, Punk, and Hip-Hop - the music of Sonic Boom Six is a concoction that has to be heard to be believed. Add to that mix the energy of Jungle and the essence of Ska, then you'll come somewhere close to the sound of Sonic Boom Six. It shouldn't work, yet somehow it does and the band mix the sounds perfectly in order to provide an innovative sound which is very much their own. Sonic Boom Six are a band that without doubt stand out from the crowd, doing so by mixing the most eclectic range of genres and with each and every track sounding fresh and exciting.

Never dull, always exciting; the 'Arcade Perfect' album begins with title track 'Arcade Perfect', ends with 'For 12 Weeks, The City Is Theirs', and has nine tracks in between which all shine through with their excellence. Fronted by Laila K, backed by Barney and Ben - the vocals of Sonic Boom Six are something that always shine through to me about their music. Not only do the instruments combine together magnificently, but the vocal entourage is always excellent also. The male and female dual assault vocals are consistently fantastic throughout the album and never do they disappoint.

The album consists of many highlights, the track 'Sound of a Revolution' particularly having captured my imagination. Everything about this one works, the lyrics are superb, the dual vocals excellent as ever, and the instrumental section is absolutely spot on. From the very first time I ever heard this one I loved it immediately and have not been able to stop playing it since. 'September to May' is another that stands out when listening to this album, there is just something about it that is ever so charming and makes it a joy to listen to. The track is just so catchy and will have you singing along in no time. With its chilled out vibe and great use of guitars, it works exceptionally well and is never in danger of being anything but highly exciting and hugely enthralling.

With a band that combine such a variation of genres in their sound, the music is always going to be full of surprises. 'Ya Basta!' for example is an interesting collaboration from the band with ex King Prawn member Babar Luck, one that is quite different from anything else present on the release yet supremely effective. Babar Luck is not the only one to have collaborated with the band on this release, Matt Reynolds of Howards Alias features also, as do former Filaments man Johnny One Lung and Itch of The King Blues. The collaborations all work extremely well, and using key figures from the scene that the band have been a huge part of for the past five years was an excellent idea I feel.

The 'Arcade Perfect' album combines an eclectic mix of genres and I feel that this is something which is pulled off exceptionally well by the band. It could so easily have all ended in disaster, but it all works and every track on the album is thoroughly enjoyable to listen to. Never conventional, always original; the music that Sonic Boom Six are creating is one that I personally am a huge fan of. I have been following the progress of this band for a good few years now and to have seen them progress and evolve into the band that they are today has been fantastic. Sonic Boom Six are a band that are forever driving forward, and their sound never seems to stop improving. The work that all the members have put into this band over the years is phenomenal, and to hear the result of their 'Arcade Perfect' album is proof alone that it has all been worthwhile.

Sonic Boom Six are a fantastic band and all elements of their music shine through superbly in this release. Their dual vocals are something that have always appealed to me about their music, something which I feel comes across extremely well throughout this album. There is never a dull moment with Sonic Boom Six, something which has no doubt helped their cause hugely in a scene where many of their contemporaries have long since called it a day. Laila K is a truly phenomenal front woman, and the energy and passion that she puts in to her performance is absolutely sensational. When listening to this album you can hear that the band are giving it their all and this is something which is always great to hear. Sonic Boom Six don't do things by halves, and throughout the whole of their 'Arcade Perfect' album they go all out in their genre bending mash-up of sounds. You'd never think that with the volume of genres that the band combine that this music could ever work, but it does and their sound is highly innovative and always great fun to listen to. Make sure you don't let the music of Sonic Boom Six pass you by; it would be a huge shame to let this happen.


Label: Rebel Alliance
Release Date: 12th November 2007

Originally posted by me on my website Alt-UK.com
Source: http://www.alt-uk.com/modules.php?name=Reviews

Community evaluation

This review was read 1982 times and was rated at
98% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • Seresecros published 10/02/2008
    And every purchase of this album is a bitch-slap to the face of the Imperial Empire. Sounds good, I'll give them a go.
  • Morning_Becomes_Electra published 09/02/2008
    Excellent review! Very well written as usual. An E from me :)
  • hackersupr published 09/02/2008
    Great, informative review :)
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Arcade Perfect - Sonic Boom Six

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Oi - Label: Rebel Alliance - Distributor: Code7/Plastic Head - Released: 19/11/2007 - 689076869188

Product Details

EAN: 689076869188

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 03/11/2007