Army of One (DVD)

Community images

Army of One (DVD)

> Show product information

60% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Army of One (DVD)"

published 03/09/2017 | sellerleygirl
Member since : 15/02/2015
Reviews : 945
Members who trust : 120
About me :
♬ •♩ All we need is rates!! •♩ Everybody!!•♩ All we need is rates!! ♩ •♬
Good
Pro Nicholas Cage's performance
Cons Russell Brand's performance
exceptional
Did you enjoy it?
Story
Characters / Performances
Special Effects
Soundtrack

"God: "What is that Nicholas Cage doing in my movie?""

Army of One (DVD)

Army of One (DVD)

-•- Army of One -•-


-• Film Only Review -•-

“I choose you to wield this sword, and as long as it's in your possession, you need never know fear again!”

-•- Tagline-•-

One man's wildly true quest to capture Osama Bin Laden

-•- Genre-•-

• Adventure
• Biography
• Comedy
-• Film-•-

'Army of One' is a 2016 comedy film that is based on real life Gary Faulkner, an ex-construction contractor and unemployed handy man, who believed that God had sent him to capture Osama bin Laden in Pakistan. This was a straight to DVD production.

During the films ending credits, real news footage of Gary Faulkner is shown. The footage ends with a statement, "Gary is currently planning to use the money made from this film to buy a kidney so that he can continue his mission."
Film Details

Directed by Larry Charles
Produced by Emile Gladstone, Jeremy Steckler and James D. Stern
Written by Rajiv Joseph and Scott Rothman
Music by David Newman
Cinematography Anthony Hardwick
Release date 4th November 2016
Running time 93 minutes
Classification 15
Country United States
Language English

-• The Trailer •-


http://www.imdb.com/title/tt4382824/videoplayer/vi1341044249?ref_=tt_pv_vi_aiv_1
-• -The Story -•-

The film opens with 12-year-old Gary Faulkner, a nerdy school boy who is constantly bullied by his classmates, as he receives a message from God telling him that those bullies will come to an unfortunate drug related end. We then fast forward 35 years to 2004, where Faulkner (played by Nicholas Cage), a demented part time handyman/construction worker and big patriot, is in hospital receiving dialysis, which he needs three times a week for his failing kidneys.
With no home of his own, he sofa surfs at all his friends’ houses until he wears out his welcome. Then at one of his dialysis sessions, the rather deranged Gary sees a vision of God (played by Russell Brand), who commands him to go to Pakistan, find Osama bin Laden and capture him and bring him to America for “justice and stuff.”; but he must bring him alive - because "Thou must not kill".

We then follow Gary, who meets up with his high school crush Marci (played by Wendi McLendon-Covey) and her mute, cerebral palsy-afflicted niece Lizzie, (played by Chenoa Morrison), as he prepares to head for Pakistan with a samurai sword (purchased from a home-shopping channel) to look for the hidden Al Qaeda leader, who Faulkner calls “Binny Boy”.

I guess we all know how this will end!!

-• -The Main Cast -•-

Nicolas Cage as Gary Faulkner
Wendi McLendon-Covey as Marci Mitchell
Rainn Wilson as Agent Simons
Russell Brand as God
Denis O'Hare as Agent Doss
Paul Scheer as Pickles
Adrian Martinez as Actor
Matthew Modine as Dr. Rose
Will Sasso as Roy
Chenoa Morrison as Lizzie
Rabij Benjhaili as Pakistani Man (Al Qaeda Op)
-• -My Opinion -•-

“Son, I can do anything. I am Gary Faulkner. I am the donkey king.”


Where do I start??
This is one weird film! It probably wouldn’t be worth watching if it were not for Cage – he is incredibly weird, incredibly annoying but also very funny!
The storyline is just too bizarre to be true – but hang on – it IS true!!
We watch open mouthed as Faulkner decides to travel single handed in a tiny sailing boat from San Diego to Pakistan (isn’t that a land-locked country?), or tries to board a plane with a dagger in his belt and a samurai sword in his hand, fly on a star-spangled hang glider in to Pakistan from the top of an Israeli mountaintop with a reassembled glider that he had sawed into small pieces to fit in his suitcase.
Faulkner is as crazy as a box of frogs, and Cage gives him a REALLY annoying voice, surely this man would have no friends. But he does have some friends – there’s Pickles (played by Paul Scheer) and Roy (played by Will Sasso) who both adore him even if they do laugh at him as much as they laugh with him. Even the lovely Marci Mitchel land her niece Lizzie care a lot for him despite his obvious unpredictability. And Cage does make us care for him too even though we know that he will not fulfil his mission.

I can take or leave Russell Brand, I quite enjoyed him in ‘Get Him to the Greek’, but I did find him really annoying in this film. His portrayal of God is very OTT – and slightly sacrilegious- for example, he blames Noah for putting syphilis and gonorrhoea on the ark, and when Gary shouts “holy s**t” at the sight of God, Brand winks in the camera and adds “I take a holy shit every day!” – you get the idea!! Gary sees God (or to be more exact, hears Brand’s voice) in the form of accidental strangers, an Islamabad truck driver and even his dialysis nurse.

Unbelievably, this manic film really is based on a true story, but to just what extent.? The narrator in the film tells us “As strange as it is compelling, this is a true story - or a story that has truth in it, or, maybe, elements of truth in it.”!!

With ‘Army of One’, director Larry Charles hasn't gone down mockumentary route he did with "Borat" and "Bruno", which he well could have done. Instead, he just tells the story of a man who went on a spiritual mission from God by showing off his whacky life before hand in small chunks of silliness.
As the film goes on with money making (failed) trips to Vegas and his time in Pakistan, it does really get rather boring – at 93 minutes long, this film is around 13 minutes too long.

This is certainly not a perfect film, and I understand that some people may find it hard to get into, and/or to laugh at ; but it's not all bad and "Army of One" makes a decent time filler and is a good vehicle to showcase Cage's acting/comedic talent.

It is worth at least one watch if you got nothing better to do.

-• Ratings-•-

• IMDb 5/10 from 4,253 reviews
• Metacritic :43% from 31 critics
• Rotten Tomatoes:27% from 11 reviews
-•- Critics -•-


• Hollywoodintoto: "Army of One avoids lazy Red State bashing ... along with insightful humour."

• Movie Emporium: "Nic Cage gives it a real effort, but Army of One goes horribly awry right from the start."

• Blue Ray.com "It's a joy to see the old madman juices flowing again, but "Army of One" doesn't match Cage's intensity, trying to stretch a thin premise that would be better served in a short film."

• The Film File: "Nicolas Cage is exceptionally committed, but his role—and the picture as a whole—cries out for more depth."

• Los Angeles Times: "The movie's noisy, busy and not that funny. But there is a sweetness and a cockeyed optimism here."

-• - DVD Details & Extras - •-

I watched this on Sky Cinema so have no details about the DVD; however according to DVD Dizzy, the following extras are on the DVD.

• "Making Army of One" (7:07), a standard featurette that collects comments and features some behind-the-scenes footage showing the real Faulkner advising and apparently accepting the production.
• A trailer for Wild Oats.
• The menu loops a montage of clips

http://www.dvdizzy.com/armyofone.html

DVD DETAILS

• Format: PAL
• Region: Region 2
• Number of discs: 1
• Classification: 15
• Studio: Arrow Films
• DVD Release Date: 6 Feb. 2017
• ASIN: B01MYRCYMU

-• - How to View - •-

As of 03/09/17, ‘Army of One ‘can be purchased from Amazon from £3.99 new and £1.72 used or buy from Amazon Instant Video -£2.49 or rent form £7.99.
Some DVDs on Amazon are available for free delivery within the UK and are if you have a Prime account, if neither of these apply add £1.26 for postage
Amazon are currently offering £1.00 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase a DVD or Blu-ray offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies.
Offer ends at 23:59 GMT on Wednesday, December 20, 2017
It is also available free to subscribers on Netflix and Sky Cinema.
-•- In Conclusion - •-

Do I recommend it?

Well, yes if you are a Nicolas Cage fan - I’m sure that any such fan would love his outstanding performance of a really a bizarre and deranged man. There is the possibility that you will see his portrayal of Gary as pathetic, irritating and unlikable – if you can get over this and see the humour in his character you will find it funny.
If you’re not a fan of Russel Brand, then, no you won’t like this film, because as God in this film he is very ‘Russell Brand’ and very annoying.
It is a mildly amusing film, except when Brand is being OTT Brand, it is not a good film but it is not a terrible film either. I think that it is worth watching just the once to watch Cage's manic performance. as there isn't much else to bother with

The film photos are taken from Google plus my download from Sky Cinema

Thanks for reading I do hope that this review has been of some help!

© Sellerleygirl September 2017


Community evaluation

This review was read 98 times and was rated at
73% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
exceptional

Comments on this review

  • euphie published 06/09/2017
    e :o)
  • NBCMad92 published 05/09/2017
    This sounds like something I would watch. E from me.
  • mumsymary published 04/09/2017
    E review
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Army of One (DVD)"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Army of One (DVD)

Manufacturer's product description

Product Details

Actor(s): Nicolas Cage, Wendi McLendon-Covey, Matthew Modine, Russell Brand, Rainn Wilson

Classification: 15 years and over

DVD Region: DVD

Production Year: 2016

Main Language: English

EAN: 5027035015804

Video Category: Feature Film

Director(s): Larry Charles

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 01/09/2017