jimmytheh... 4

jimmythehat

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:25.05.2001

Reviews:1

Quote-start

Better than Passat 4Motion Estate

Quote-end
28.05.2001 (29.05.2001)

Advantages:
Value, quality, a practical package with a nice hint of sportiness

Disadvantages:
No CD as standard .

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Value for Money

Road Handling

Comfort

Features

Fuel consumption

Looks

4 Ciao members have rated this review on average: helpful See ratings
very helpful by (13%):
  1. Michael-S
helpful by (75%):
  1. TotalRam
  2. Asif
  3. alexpreston
and 3 other members
somewhat helpful by (13%):
  1. sarsons

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

Audi A6 1.8 T Quattro

I have been fairly loyal to VAG over the years, so when my previous (company provided) Saab 900 came to the end of its lease I decided to have a look at either the VW Passat or Audi A6 Avant.

I was looking for something "interesting" and yet practical. I have a young family (two under-fives) plus a dog. I thought - hmm, a sporty estate might do the trick.

So we had a test drive in a Passat 2.8 V6 4motion Estate. Now, I used to have a VW Corrado VR6. An absolutely fantastic motor - v fast, great fun and fairly practical. This was sold when the Saab 900 arrived. The Saab was ok; a bit boring and sluggish (but nicely designed). I had hoped that the Passat 4motion would re-instate a sense of fun, with enough space for the family. Also, being the top of the Passat range, I expected a certain level of quality and finish.

I was Disappointed.

The main problem was the quality - not really "executive" class. But the whole package just didn't deliver against my expectations. And it was quite pricey.

So, next thought was an Audi A6. The new A4 was also a consideration but my local dealer just happened to have an A6 Avant 1.8T Quattro in stock. An ex-demonstrator. The test drive showed it be nearly ideal. The engine isn't that sporty but does the job. The amount of space is fantastic. And the overall quality is much better than the VW.

Good levels of equipment. However, no CD as standard. Good air conditioning, adjustable for driver and front passenger. Lots of storage (including drawers under the driver and passenger seats). A luggage net and divider. But unlike the Saab it doesn't have a facility to pass long loads (eg. skis) through the rear seat arm rest.

Only real problem is I haven't quite got used to driving a Turbo. It tends to overrun when changing gear.

And the best things of all: buying an ex-demonstrator with around 3000 miles saved 20% on the list price, and it was ready to drive away. No need to wait for 3 months for the car to arrive...

We've had the car for a couple of months now and we are very pleased with it overall. A much better package than the Passat at a very reasonable cost... although you might have a different opinion if you have to pay full list price.

  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

sarsons 29.10.2002 12:33

Info on what the car has to offer would have resulted in a higher rating (eg comfort, ride, equipment, insurance costs etc.). If you ever redo this op, please let me know and I'll reread it and review my rating :) It would also have been better if half of your op wasn't taken up by reviewing another car.

Pumpkin 28.05.2001 13:53

Welcome to Ciao! Good op - I'd like to know a bit more about the spec, fuel economy etc. - then it would probably be a Very Helpful rating! Cheers, hope you enjoy Ciao! Hannah :o)

Michael-S 28.05.2001 13:42

Good first op. Welcome to Ciao. Take care, Michael.

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Similar offers for Audi A6 Avant 1.8T »

1 to 3 out of 43 similar offers for Audi A6 Avant 1.8T Show all similar offers
Audi A6 Avant 2004 Silver Metallic 1:43 Minichamps

Audi A6 Avant 2004 Silver Metallic 1:43 Minichamps

ebay vorschau uk home audi a 6 avant 2004 silver metallic 1 43 minichamps formula one ... more

sports racingcars streetcars rallye cars bikes
motorcycles plastic cases special offers modelcars
scale 1 12 other payment methods bank transfer
visit us on facebook the model was produced in the
usual minichamps high quality and reflects back
the original as possible model features with audi
works outer packaging manufacturer minichamps
scale 1 43 vehicle audi a 6 avant year 2004
article id 5010406213 colour s

 Visit Shop  >
ebay
Postage & Packaging:  £5.95
Availability:  available

4x Brake discs + Brake pads front and rear axle AUDI A6 C5 +AVANT 1.8 - 2.5 +TDI 1997-05, SKODA SUPERB 3U 1.8 - 2.0 +T +TDI

4x Brake discs + Brake pads front and rear axle AUDI A6 C5 +AVANT 1.8 - 2.5 +TDI 1997-05, SKODA SUPERB 3U 1.8 - 2.0 +T +TDI

Please refer to the vehicle list for all suitable vehicles and any technical restrictions ... more

in menu item "product details"! Brand new,
ready-to-fit, first class quality product
including a 2 year warranty! Price including
VAT!PLEASE NOTE: WITHIN THE EU BRAKE PADS MUST
HAVE A VALID ECE/90R CERTIFICATION. WE ONLY SELL
APPROVED AND APPROPRIATELY CERTIFICATED BRAKE
PADS.

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace sports
Postage & Packaging:  £8.90
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Product Information »

Product details

Body Type Estate
Fuel Type Petrol
Range Audi A6
Manufacturer Audi

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Audi A6 Avant 1.8T has been rated:

"very helpful" by (13%):

  1. Michael-S

"helpful" by (75%):

  1. TotalRam
  2. Asif
  3. alexpreston

and 3 other members

"somewhat helpful" by (13%):

  1. sarsons

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Audi A6 2.5 TDI

Audi A6 2.5 TDI

Saloon - Diesel - Available Trims: SE

User reviews (4)

Buy Now

Audi A6 2.0 TDI

Audi A6 2.0 TDI

Saloon - Front (FWD) - 6 Speed Manual Gearbox, 7 Speed multitronic Automatic, 6 Speed Manual - 1968 cc - Max Speed: 130, 129 mph - 140, 136 bhp - Diesel - Available Trims: S line, SE

User reviews (5)

Buy Now

Audi A6 Avant 2.5 TDI

Audi A6 Avant 2.5 TDI

Estate - Diesel - Available Trims: SE

User reviews (4)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Audi A6 Avant 1.8T? Click here