SteffiK 5

SteffiK

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:06.10.2010

Reviews:22

Members who trust:11

Quote-start

PARENTS! A set that has nearly everything you need to start with!

Quote-end
08.11.2010

Advantages:
Easy to clean, versatile, can be used in microwave and steam sterilisers , nice basic shape

Disadvantages:
Leak if you do not put the Anti Colic Adapter ring in .

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Ease of cleaning

Wear & Tear

Value for Money

Dishwasher proof

CapacityAverage

Microwave proofYes

31 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
exceptional by (15%):
  1. Mistee-Dreamz
  2. Timbo3107
  3. benz2922
and 2 other members
very helpful by (85%):
  1. dawnymarie
  2. jesi
  3. dis_satisfiedCustomer
and 26 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

Baby bottles which one to choose?

Well to start with about 3 years ago I was looking round at the many different range of baby bottles out on the market as I needed some for my ever getting closer addition to the family. After going though the monotonousness that is comparing different brands, prices, uses, design, steriliser compatibility ect... I finally settled on Avent bottles as recommended by my partners sister-in-law who had used the bottles for her 3 children.

I then decided to go out an buy some of the bottles along with a microwave steriliser. However, 3 years ago not having as much mummy knowledge as I know now I bought everything separately over a period of time so a pack of two bottles here and there a separate brush and soothers ect, the amount did add up. However, this time round a I decided a new baby all new bottles. So naturally I stuck with Avent as I had no problems with them in the past.
The Price

I found out that Avent now do a Newborn Starter Set, great I thought that will save me getting the bottles and accessories all separately and the cost wasn't that bad either considering that you can pay up to £10.00 for a pack of 2 260ml bottles at a time in some retailers, due to this I thought the price of this pack would be quite high. Here comes the shock!

Obviously you need to shop around like with anything and I managed to pick up the whole newborn Starter Set for £12.99 as part of a deal through Tesco Direct. AWESOME VALUE.

Comparing prices from other retailers there is a vast contrast here are just a few although prices can change and the best thing to do is look for deals as I did.

ASDA £19:98
Mothercare £22.99
John Lewis £19.95
Tesco Direct £19.98

But even at the above prices it is value for money considering what the pack contains.

Contents

The contents of the pack are as follows:

x2 260ml/9oz bottles
x2 125ml/4oz bottles
x2 (0m+) teats
x2 (1m+) teats
x1 (0-3m) soother
x1 bottle brush.
X4 Anti Colic System Adapter ring.

If you add up how much this would cost separately it would be quite expensive.
Performance and Packaging

The packaging for these bottles is simple, a white box with a picture of the contants on the front with a bit of writing.

On the front it says that it is clinically proven to help settle your baby especially at night and to reduce colic. All what you would expect from a baby bottle.

All the teats, spouts, and bottles are comparable with other Avent products and they fit nicely in a small microwave steriliser and the large electric steam steriliser. The range of products Avent do is quite large and readily available on the high street, which is a huge advantage.

The bottles are easy to hold (no awkward shape bottles here) and are of a basic simple design. The two sizes the bottles come in is great as the smaller 125ml/4fl oz bottles are ideal for smaller newborn babies and the larger 260ml/9fl oz bottles for bigger or older babies. The bottles are not fiddly and they are easy to clean even without a bottle brush as the neck of the bottle is a good size and not to small. Yes they are all dishwasher safe.

The bottles are easy to put together, just pop the anti colic ring on the lip of the bottle, pop the teat you are using through the screw on ring, then simply screw the ring onto the bottle. Ta da!!! After practice you can get this down to a few seconds even when holding a baby and having a toddler demanding attention.

The soother I have not tried yet as my newborn doesn't seem to want it and my toddler well she is just too old for one now. But looking at the soother it is of a nice oval shape and comes with a protector cap and the soother can be sterilised in the Avent sterilisers. Which is a bonus!

The measurements on the bottles are clear and marked in dark blue, which makes them easy to read and the markings don't rub off after repeated washing and sterilising. The bottle itself is in a clear plastic and is BPA (Bisphenol A) free. So you can clearly see the contents.

When using the bottles the milk flows steadily according to your baby's suck. You are in control of the flow of the milk, if you want a faster flow just change to the next level of teat. Genius! Not much air goes through the teat so yes a little less colic for baby. However, your baby is not colic free but the bottles are only clinically proven to reduce colic. So you still need to wind your baby.

The only disadvantage I have found with the bottles is that if you do not add the anti colic system adapter ring they have a tenancy to leak but only if you hold the bottle completely upside down.

Verdict

The starter pack is brilliant as it has everything you need to get going as soon as you come back from hospital so you don't need to rush out to get emergency supplies of bottles and teats. You can then add to the collection later.

There is a huge Avent range from bottle storage stops, expresser's, tubs, beakers and many more items and all the parts are interchangeable. So your collection can grow with your baby.

They are durable as the bottles I had from 3 years ago are still usable. However, I recommend new bottles for new babies. But don't throw them away, I use my old bottles for measuring liquid ingredients for cakes and stuff. My toddler loves this as it is not to messy so she can help. Also the bottles and teats fair well in storage. After a good clean they are ready to go again.

Other Information

Bisphenol A, commonly abbreviated as BPA, is an organic compound used to make polycarbonate plastic and epoxy resins, along with other applications. Questions over it's safety towards infants and young children was raised in 2008 and declared a toxic substance in 2010.

More information on the Avent range can be found at www.philips.com/avent

  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 2p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 2p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

Mistee-Dreamz 31.07.2011 12:04

Excellent review

jesi 23.11.2010 22:24

The set my daughter got me to purchase for her a few years back included all this, plus a microwave steriliser and a hand breast pump system and lids for freezing breast milk (I think) . . . ♥ jesi ♥

Timbo3107 22.11.2010 22:16

EEEE from me!

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Compare prices »

1 to 34 out of 62 offers for Avent Newborn Starter Set   Sorted by: Price 
Philips Avent Classic Newborn Starter Set Baby Feeding Bottle Kit

Philips Avent Classic Newborn Starter Set Baby Feeding Bottle Kit

new in box unwanted gift

30 more offers (£9.99 to £18.17) from this merchant

ebay

Postage & Packaging£3.98
Availabilityavailable
ebay

Philips AVENT Newborn Starter Set

Philips AVENT Newborn Starter Set

Two 1m+ 9oz/260ml Bottles Two 2m+ 9oz/260ml Bottles One Soother 0m+ One cleaning Brush

1 more offer (£16.00) from this merchant

amazon marketplace baby

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace b...
Postage & Packaging£2.99
AvailabilityUsually dispatched within 1-2 business days...
amazon marketplace baby

Product Information »

Manufacturer's product description

Ideal for the new mother and baby. Contains four AVENT feeding bottles fitted with newborn teats. Also included is ...

Product details

Brand Manufacturer Avent Ltd
Long Name Newborn Starter Set, Newborn Starter Kit, Avent SCD271
Type Starter Set, Feeding Bottle

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since 10/09/2007

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Avent Newborn Starter Set has been rated:

"exceptional" by (15%):

  1. Mistee-Dreamz
  2. Timbo3107
  3. benz2922

and 2 other members

"very helpful" by (85%):

  1. dawnymarie
  2. jesi
  3. dis_satisfiedCustomer

and 26 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Avent Express Bottle & Babyfood Warmer

Avent Express Bottle & Babyfood Warmer

Warmer, Food Preparation & Storage, Feeding Bottle

User reviews (27)

Buy now for only £ 22.50



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Avent Newborn Starter Set? Click here