Avent Newborn Starter Set

Community images

Avent Newborn Starter Set

Ideal for the new mother and baby. Contains four AVENT feeding bottles fitted with newborn teats. Also included is an AVENT Newborn Soother to help ca...

> Show product information

86% positive

10 reviews from the community

Review of "Avent Newborn Starter Set"

published 08/11/2010 | SteffiK
Member since : 05/10/2010
Reviews : 22
Members who trust : 11
About me :
Excellent
Pro Easy to clean, versatile, can be used in microwave and steam sterilisers , nice basic shape
Cons Leak if you do not put the Anti Colic Adapter ring in.
very helpful
Capacity
Ease of cleaning
Wear & Tear
Value for Money
Dishwasher proof

"PARENTS! A set that has nearly everything you need to start with!"

Baby bottles which one to choose?

Well to start with about 3 years ago I was looking round at the many different range of baby bottles out on the market as I needed some for my ever getting closer addition to the family. After going though the monotonousness that is comparing different brands, prices, uses, design, steriliser compatibility ect... I finally settled on Avent bottles as recommended by my partners sister-in-law who had used the bottles for her 3 children.

I then decided to go out an buy some of the bottles along with a microwave steriliser. However, 3 years ago not having as much mummy knowledge as I know now I bought everything separately over a period of time so a pack of two bottles here and there a separate brush and soothers ect, the amount did add up. However, this time round a I decided a new baby all new bottles. So naturally I stuck with Avent as I had no problems with them in the past.
The Price

I found out that Avent now do a Newborn Starter Set, great I thought that will save me getting the bottles and accessories all separately and the cost wasn't that bad either considering that you can pay up to £10.00 for a pack of 2 260ml bottles at a time in some retailers, due to this I thought the price of this pack would be quite high. Here comes the shock!

Obviously you need to shop around like with anything and I managed to pick up the whole newborn Starter Set for £12.99 as part of a deal through Tesco Direct. AWESOME VALUE.

Comparing prices from other retailers there is a vast contrast here are just a few although prices can change and the best thing to do is look for deals as I did.

ASDA £19:98
Mothercare £22.99
John Lewis £19.95
Tesco Direct £19.98

But even at the above prices it is value for money considering what the pack contains.

Contents

The contents of the pack are as follows:

x2 260ml/9oz bottles
x2 125ml/4oz bottles
x2 (0m+) teats
x2 (1m+) teats
x1 (0-3m) soother
x1 bottle brush.
X4 Anti Colic System Adapter ring.

If you add up how much this would cost separately it would be quite expensive.
Performance and Packaging

The packaging for these bottles is simple, a white box with a picture of the contants on the front with a bit of writing.

On the front it says that it is clinically proven to help settle your baby especially at night and to reduce colic. All what you would expect from a baby bottle.

All the teats, spouts, and bottles are comparable with other Avent products and they fit nicely in a small microwave steriliser and the large electric steam steriliser. The range of products Avent do is quite large and readily available on the high street, which is a huge advantage.

The bottles are easy to hold (no awkward shape bottles here) and are of a basic simple design. The two sizes the bottles come in is great as the smaller 125ml/4fl oz bottles are ideal for smaller newborn babies and the larger 260ml/9fl oz bottles for bigger or older babies. The bottles are not fiddly and they are easy to clean even without a bottle brush as the neck of the bottle is a good size and not to small. Yes they are all dishwasher safe.

The bottles are easy to put together, just pop the anti colic ring on the lip of the bottle, pop the teat you are using through the screw on ring, then simply screw the ring onto the bottle. Ta da!!! After practice you can get this down to a few seconds even when holding a baby and having a toddler demanding attention.

The soother I have not tried yet as my newborn doesn't seem to want it and my toddler well she is just too old for one now. But looking at the soother it is of a nice oval shape and comes with a protector cap and the soother can be sterilised in the Avent sterilisers. Which is a bonus!

The measurements on the bottles are clear and marked in dark blue, which makes them easy to read and the markings don't rub off after repeated washing and sterilising. The bottle itself is in a clear plastic and is BPA (Bisphenol A) free. So you can clearly see the contents.

When using the bottles the milk flows steadily according to your baby's suck. You are in control of the flow of the milk, if you want a faster flow just change to the next level of teat. Genius! Not much air goes through the teat so yes a little less colic for baby. However, your baby is not colic free but the bottles are only clinically proven to reduce colic. So you still need to wind your baby.

The only disadvantage I have found with the bottles is that if you do not add the anti colic system adapter ring they have a tenancy to leak but only if you hold the bottle completely upside down.

Verdict

The starter pack is brilliant as it has everything you need to get going as soon as you come back from hospital so you don't need to rush out to get emergency supplies of bottles and teats. You can then add to the collection later.

There is a huge Avent range from bottle storage stops, expresser's, tubs, beakers and many more items and all the parts are interchangeable. So your collection can grow with your baby.

They are durable as the bottles I had from 3 years ago are still usable. However, I recommend new bottles for new babies. But don't throw them away, I use my old bottles for measuring liquid ingredients for cakes and stuff. My toddler loves this as it is not to messy so she can help. Also the bottles and teats fair well in storage. After a good clean they are ready to go again.

Other Information

Bisphenol A, commonly abbreviated as BPA, is an organic compound used to make polycarbonate plastic and epoxy resins, along with other applications. Questions over it's safety towards infants and young children was raised in 2008 and declared a toxic substance in 2010.

More information on the Avent range can be found at www.philips.com/avent

Community evaluation

This review was read 1349 times and was rated at
85% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • Mistee-Dreamz published 31/07/2011
    Excellent review
  • jesi published 23/11/2010
    The set my daughter got me to purchase for her a few years back included all this, plus a microwave steriliser and a hand breast pump system and lids for freezing breast milk (I think) . . . ♥ jesi ♥
  • Timbo3107 published 22/11/2010
    EEEE from me!
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Avent Newborn Starter Set"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Avent Newborn Starter Set

Manufacturer's product description

Ideal for the new mother and baby. Contains four AVENT feeding bottles fitted with newborn teats. Also included is an AVENT Newborn Soother to help calm the new arrival and an AVENT Bottle Brush specially designed to reach all parts of the bottles and teats. Features: Contains: 2 Feeding Bottles (260ml/9oz) with Newborn Teats, 2 Feeding Bottles (125ml/4oz) with Newborn Teats, 2 Newborn Teats, Newborn Soother, Bottle Brush.

Product Details

Brand Manufacturer: Avent Ltd

Long Name: Newborn Starter Set, Newborn Starter Kit, Avent SCD271

Type: Starter Set, Feeding Bottle

Manufacturer: Avent, Philips Avent, Philips

EAN: 5012909007856, 8710103514961

MPN: SCD271/00

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 10/09/2007