spankygoo... 5

spankygoodtime

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:27.04.2001

Reviews:81

Members who trust:33

Quote-start

Sharon is back

Quote-end
22.05.2001 (26.05.2001)

Advantages:
Escapist fun

Disadvantages:
Having to miss it sometimes

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

How good is the story?

Is it dramatic?

How good are the characters?

Soundtrack

How does it compare to similar programmes?Outstanding

How do you rate the overall style and design?Outstanding

6 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (100%):
  1. Amy69
  2. Conicview
  3. jonathancowley
and 15 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

I have been watching this soap on and off since its beginning 15 years ago, although I missed it for long periods when I was backpacking. Then again when I was in Australia I had the pleasure of seeing my favourite old episodes, and telling my colleagues at work what was going to happen.

In the time it has been running, I think this soap must have featured every subject under the sun that is possible, murder… homosexuality… kidnapping… rape… infidelity… euthanasia… stalking… and for the first time that I can remember (I stand to be corrected on this) hinted at threesome/fetishes. (Episode broadcast 17/05/01) It is a shame that the scriptwriter could not have done more on this scene, but we know the constraints the BBC have at this hour of the evening. *grin* The sight of Kat’s face last week when she realised that the “small” party she had been invited to was for more than two, cracked me up.

There are many more mundane issues too that frequently affect us all, and I think almost every year there is an argument over where various characters are going to spend Christmas and New Year. When there is a wedding or party… who is coming or not… where it is going to be… will the bride or groom even go through with it! When they get a divorce or leave their partners, (and they all do) plots concerning access to children both for parents and grandparents mirror everyday happenings in the real world.

I think my favourite characters of all time in the series had to have been Den and Angie. Den was an evil, cheating scumbag and his wife Angie was scheming and manipulative. Like many people I know in fact. My current favourite has to be Peggy. What a clever piece of casting, an actress famous for her boobs being cast as a lady faced with a mastectomy. An indomitable mum, she rules her thuggish, Neanderthal sons with a rod of iron although she does not always get her own way. I am looking forward to seeing her cross swords with Sharon when she comes back this week.

Now of course this soap is not true to life in a number of ways. The language is too clean for one thing. Real people in the kind of situations that these people get into would let rip. However I heard the word “Slapper” for the first time on this programme. I wonder if this word was in existence already and the BBC slipped it in, or did the word get invented by an Eastenders scriptwriter? Anyone know?

Very few of the people on Eastenders smoke, which I think does not make some of the characters believable. I can see Kat with a fag hanging out of her mouth at all times. I have seldom seen the brand of beer or alcohol that is being sold or drunk in The Vic and they never ask for a beer brand by name, but the BBC is constrained by the laws on advertising as we all know.

Believable or not, I watch Eastenders avidly whenever I can. As I am working in the evenings this week I will be videoing it, because Sharon is coming back into it and "Sharongate" is my favourite episode. I don't know how people can knock the acting on soaps. The sight of Grant's tears as he listened to Sharon talking about sleeping with Phil on that tape was heartbreaking.

Long live Eastenders, it's a British institution!!!
  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

Amy69 10.11.2008 21:39

Sharongate = <3 xx

Cazz 26.05.2001 00:38

Hear Hear! Woss going on? Eh?

LostWitness 24.05.2001 11:52

I'd be a liar if I said I didn't watch this regularly, but I do find most of the characters intensely irritating. I like the fact that Sharon's coming back - it would be a real coup if Angie came back as well! :)

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of BBC1 - Eastenders has been rated:

"very helpful" by (100%):

  1. Amy69
  2. Conicview
  3. jonathancowley

and 15 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.



Are you the manufacturer / provider of BBC1 - Eastenders? Click here