BMW 320d

Community images

BMW 320d

BMW present the 3 Series 320d Saloon with 6 Speed - (Man) / 6 Speed - (Auto), Rear (RWD) running on Diesel

> Show product information

86% positive

31 reviews from the community

Review of "BMW 320d"

published 30/05/2006 | jamesey
Member since : 24/12/2005
Reviews : 2
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Satisfactory
Pro Preformance, Economy, choice of trim, extras
Cons reliability - Expensive turbo failure, Rear Seat Space, Boot Space
helpful
Road Handling
Comfort
Features
Fuel consumption
Looks

"320d - Potentially expensive failure"

This is my first BMW, and I am sorry to say my last. The 320d has a reputation for turbo failure, which I believe applies only to pre July 2003 models. This failure can happen at any time regardless of service history and so cannot be predicted or circumvented and is a widely publicised failure amongst 320d owners on the internet!. The cost of repairing this vary between £2000 - £3000 and is not something which I would expect from a name like BMW.

Other drawbacks include driver comfort, which is virtually non existant, after 15 mins in the drivers seat you rapidly experience another feature of the 320D - namely BMW "Numb Bum", which I must admit was not publicised in the brochure. The driving position is also somewhat strange.

Both rear seat and boot space are limited and certainly not inline with the size of vehicle, and all BMW's rivals all seem to have more copious amounts of both, so if you have a family (or are planning one) maybe this car is to avoided!.

I bought the BMW 320d thinking that I was going to experience comfort and reliability, and within 1 month of buying a 2002 model, i was left bitterly disappointed on both accounts, especially as I found that the Turbo failure was a known problem and affected a large number of pre 2003 320D's

So if you are planning on buying a 2nd hand model, then avoid anything below a 2003 model, unless you factor in the risk (and expense) of needing a new turbo.

Prior to buying this model, I owned a Vauxhall which in comparison suffered no faults in the same league (or expense) as the BMW in the nine years in which I owned it, and was also more comfortable in comparison.

Community evaluation

This review was read 23702 times and was rated at
86% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
helpful

Comments on this review

  • HokaHey published 05/11/2007
    Couldn't agree more!
  • lindsayjayne published 30/05/2006
    Welcome to Ciao. My partner's just been given a £35,000 BMW courtesy car by his insurance company after someone drove into his £9,000 Jaguar. He says the BMW is nice, and has everything you could possibly want in it, but the Jaguar drives 1000 times better. x x
  • workangel published 30/05/2006
    Hi, welcome to Ciao - have to say, I think BMW's are overrated. I was lucky? enought to have two as Company cars - both had niggly ongoing faults. Caro
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : BMW 320d

Manufacturer's product description

BMW present the 3 Series 320d Saloon with 6 Speed - (Man) / 6 Speed - (Auto), Rear (RWD) running on Diesel

Product Details

Manufacturer: BMW

Boot Capacity (litres): 460

Weight: 1490, 1505

Length: 4520, 4531

Width: 1817

Height: 1424, 1421

Towing Limit (kg): 1600

Engine Size (cc): 1995

Insurance Group: 14

Driven Wheels: Rear (RWD)

Torque: 250@2000 lb/ft, 258@1750 lb/ft

Release Date: 01.01.2005

Fuel Capacity (litres): 60, 61

Cylinders: 4

Warranty: 3 years / Unlimited miles

Maximum Speed (mph): 140, 143

Acceleration (0 - 62 mph): 8.3 seconds - (Man), 7.9 seconds - (Man); 8 seconds - (Auto)

Number of Doors: 2, 4

Type: Car

Emissions Class: EU4, EU5

CO2 Emissions: 153 g/km - (Man) / 179 g/km - (Auto), 128 g/km - (Man)

Country of Origin: Germany

Range + Engine Type: 320d, 320d SE, 320d ES

Classification: Standard Car

Body Type: Saloon

Fuel Type: Diesel

Transmission type: 6 Speed Manual; 6 Speed Automatic

Power: 163, 177

Available Trims: ES; SE; Sport; M Sport

Range: BMW 3 Series

NCAP Rating: NCAP 5 Star Rating

Wheel Base (mm): 2760

Combined Fuel Consumption (mpg): 58.9

Service Interval: Variable miles

Avg Price: 26680

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 27/08/2000