cravenh 1

cravenh

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:05.12.2004

Reviews:5

Quote-start

BMW Approved used car warranty in doubt

Quote-end
09.11.2008 (24.11.2008)

Advantages:
I have seen none to date

Disadvantages:
A BMW approved used car from a main dealer proved to be a nightmare

Recommendable No:

Detailed rating:

Price

Service

Efficiency

After sales service

Name of dealershipVines of Guildford

9 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (89%):
  1. TheHairyGodmother
  2. paulpry118
  3. rd52169
and 5 other members
helpful by (11%):
  1. JeffFromPoole

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

Two months ago, I purchased a BMW 323ci convertible from Vines of Guildford who are BMW main dealers. The car is 8 years old and had just over 47000 miles on the clock. It was sold with a BMW used car warranty but with certain exclusions due to its age, explained to me after I had paid a deposit on it.
In the last couple of weeks, knocking noises have started coming from the engine which have progressively got worse. I've owned three BMWs and I know these cars well but I've never had one do that before. Very worried I checked the service history booklet 'Evidence of maintenance work' that came with the car and this is what I found ...

09/05/2000 Pre-delivery check
No running-in check at 1250 miles
20/11/2002 Oil service at 12632 miles (6 months late)
05/05/2005 Oil/Inspection 1 and 2 at 21055 miles (1 year late)

And then no further evidence of any servicing done on the car during the following 3 and a half years and 26000 miles, even the mandatory inspection performed prior to the sale of the car to me is missing.

This car has only had two services in 8 years and both were very late yet BMW UK and Vines of Guildford clearly state on their websites that ''Only BMWs that have been maintained in strict adherence to BMW servicing recommendations can qualify as Approved Used BMWs'.

I have now reported the problem to the salesman at Vines and he is arranging for their workshop 'to have a listen to my engine'. I also asked about the service history, it was checked as we spoke on Vines computer, and the last time it was maintained was as per the service book.

I am now expecting a battle to get a refund on this car as I believe the engine to be seriously worn due to lack of maintenance . I shall update this report in due course.

UPDATE

I eventually got a refund but not before I sent an ultimatum. It transpired that a service was missing for the 3 and a half years and 26000 miles prior to the sale of the car to me. Vines explained their failure to verify the car's history as 'an administration error' and admitted that the car should not have been offered as a BMW approved used car. However, the past two weeks have been a nightmare as I waited for Vines to exhaust their attempts to recover the service history for the car.

BMW UK customer services were made aware of this dispute from the outset but they declined to get involved as the contract was between myself and Vines, even though it was via their website that I found the car in the first place.

I paid £11.5k for this car, which is some £2k - £4k more than I would have paid for one from a non BMW dealer or private seller. It seems to me that one is just as likely to be sold a 'dodgy motor' by a BMW main dealer as any other, one just pays a lot more money for the privilege.
  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

JeffFromPoole 09.11.2008 17:34

With only 47000 miles in 8 years I would have expected better from this most over rated of all cars

thereddragon 09.11.2008 12:44

What a horrendous experience - maybe a chat with Trading Standards would be a good idea, regarding misrepresentation.

nikkiroymarsh 09.11.2008 12:36

My brother had MASSIVE problems with his BWM and the warranty - "Not worth the paper it was written on." Hope you get it sorted. Great review x

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of BMW has been rated:

"very helpful" by (89%):

  1. TheHairyGodmother
  2. paulpry118
  3. rd52169

and 5 other members

"helpful" by (11%):

  1. JeffFromPoole

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Evans Halshaw Ford, Cumbernauld Rd, Glasgow

Evans Halshaw Ford, Cumbernauld Rd, Glasgow

(+) Nice selection of cars
(-) Sales staff Unhelpful,uninterested,their after care/customer care is 0/10.

User reviews (2)

Buy Now

Southport Honda Car Dealer

Southport Honda Car Dealer

53-55 Southport Road, Scarisbrick

User reviews (1)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of BMW? Click here