gothic_mo... 5

gothic_moon

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:23.09.2005

Reviews:606

Members who trust:42

Quote-start

Electrical Elegance

Quote-end
05.12.2011

Advantages:
Look gorgeous, effective, easy to use, high but variable heat, accessories included

Disadvantages:
None for me

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Value for Money

Straightening

Ease of Use

Price£26.00-80.00

Special Featuresnot applicable

22 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (100%):
  1. ryanando
  2. anwar
  3. jojoborne
and 19 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

My last hair straighteners were 'reasonable' but it didn't take long before they starting showing signs of wear. I don't see the point in paying a fortune for these, especially if it's mostly for a brand name, but I do like having something I think is a good investment, that's good quality and will be reliable. I've had these BaByliss ones for a little while and so far I've been really pleased with them.

There are so many hair straighteners to choose from and consumer reviews, like on here, tend to help inform my decisions when it comes to electrical products. I was looking for something that would be reliable, effective and good quality, without spending a fortune. BaByliss are very popular in the hair care electrical market and I've had other products of theirs in the past so I trusted these to be at least reasonable.

The Pro 230 Elegance Straighteners have a lot to offer, but I'll start with their good looks first. These come boxed along with a heat mat and what seems to be a silky case to keep them in (which could easily double up as an evening bag). You also get some sectioning clips (though I can't say I've ever used these) and an instruction guide (never used that either!). The straighteners themselves are 'blueberry' in colour, which is a deep yet shiny, metallic colour that looks very stylish without being tacky or looking cheap. There are a few more buttons than my last one had (which equalled zero) but they don't get in the way and they're not taxing to use.

As for features, these heat up to 230°C in 15 seconds, after which temperature is maintained. It sounds very hot, which it is, so you do need to be careful, but most straighteners seem to reach ridiculously high temps too. The plates are made of nano titanium ceramic, which aids their ability to 'glide' through your hair, plus they're a tad longer than other similar straighteners to allow you to straighten more hair in one go. These also have an 'ionic system', which seems a bit fluffy to me but apparently a 'stream of balancing ions' is released to 'enhance hair condition and eliminate frizz'. The power comes in dual voltage (110 & 240v) so you can use them wherever (ie home or abroad).

I think that these definitely score highly in terms of appearances; they're modern, quite thin and have a unique glossy colour finish. Their sleekness also makes them a bit easier to use and they fit more comfortably in your hand. The length of the plates makes them suitable for longer hair and I'd say short hair too, as I've chopped a lot of my hair off since buying these and still find them easy to use. Obviously it's harder straightening your hair when it's above shoulder length, but that's probably the case regardless of what you use. I believe their claim of the plates being 25% longer is with reference to earlier models of the Elegance straighteners, which makes these the newest model out at the moment (as of December 2011).

These seem to be designed for efficiency and speed, with the higher temperature being reached in only seconds. You can adjust these settings, however, very easily with a button on the side, where you can select one of three temperatures (180/200/230°C). I like that you can vary this according to what you want, especially if you're concerned about damaging your hair and want a lower heat. Having said that, these do seem to nourish my hair, even just ever so slightly. Perhaps it's the ion system!

How well do they work? I find these are very easy to use. Just plug them in, press what counts as the on button so you can see a little red light, and make sure your heat setting is where you want it. Give it a few seconds and you can start straightening. The cord isn't majorly long, which I guess is a bit safer, but it's adequate for moving around a room slightly so you can see your mirror, for example. These do seem to 'glide' through my hair fairly well, and the two plates close down smoothly to flatten my hair with ease. When finished, just unplug at the wall and rest on the heat mat for safety. You do need to be careful because the plates, obviously, do get very hot, but the plastic of the straighteners themselves is fine to hold whilst straightening your hair (I say this because I've owned a pair before that seemed to get far too hot on the handles!).

The result is hair that's got some added shine, that you can style as you wish and that seems, overall, a bit healthier. You can get 'poker' straight results from these too, and it doesn't take too long. The speed at which you can get results is partly thanks to technology and partly thanks to the overall design and reliability, so if you want something quick yet effective to use then these are recommended.

I would definitely give these a thumbs up over many other straighteners out there when considering how much I paid for them. I've not owned GHDs, though I have used them, so all I can really say is that they seem to deliver equal results in my opinion, just without the 'GHD' name tag.

RRP £80, but selling on Amazon for £26.49

Overall...Fantastic hair straighteners that are highly recommended.
[Also reviewed by me, Cazkins, on DooYoo]


  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

ryanando 08.12.2011 20:17

good review, makes me yearn for the days when i had my long hair :) I find shaving your head stops you needing to use them lol

ryanando 08.12.2011 20:17

good review, makes me yearn for the days when i had my long hair :) I find shaving your head stops you needing to use them lol

mozzie76 05.12.2011 14:12

Good review!

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Compare prices »

1 to 2 out of 2 offers for BaByliss 2088 U PRO 230 Elegance   Sorted by: Price 
BaByliss 2098BU Pro 230 Elegance Straightener

BaByliss 2098BU Pro 230 Elegance Straightener

Stylish as ever, the new Pro 230 Elegance comes in a sophisticated high-gloss metallic ... more

finish to ensure your straightener stands out from
the rest. It comes with a luxurious pale pink
carrying pouch so you can store your Pro 230
Elegance safely at home...

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace h...
Postage & PackagingFree!
AvailabilityUsually dispatched within 24 hours...
amazon marketplace health and beauty

Product Information »

Manufacturer's product description

Babyliss Hair straighteners are used the world over by leading stylists and hairdressers - find out why by getting ...

Product details

EAN 3030053020882, 0302547844797, 3030053220886, 0303005302088, 3030053120889, 5055301200074
Manufacturer BaByliss
Type Straightener, Hair Straightener

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since 05/07/2007

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of BaByliss 2088 U PRO 230 Elegance has been rated:

"very helpful" by (100%):

  1. ryanando
  2. anwar
  3. jojoborne

and 19 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

BaByliss 2098U/BU/CU/DU/KU

BaByliss 2098U/BU/CU/DU/KU

Hair Stylers - Straightener - with Different Temperature Settings - Mains operated

User reviews (6)

Buy now for only £ 33.99

BaByliss 2067CU

BaByliss 2067CU

Hair Stylers - Straightener - with Different Temperature Settings - Mains operated

Rate it now

Buy now for only £ 18.49

BaByliss PRO 235 Styler

BaByliss PRO 235 Styler

Hair Stylers - Straightener - with Different Temperature Settings - Mains operated

User reviews (4)

Buy now for only £ 43.99



Are you the manufacturer / provider of BaByliss 2088 U PRO 230 Elegance? Click here