Because of You - Ne-Yo

Community images

Because of You - Ne-Yo

1 CD(s) - Soul - Label: Mercury, Def Jam - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 30/04/2007 - 602517326910

> Show product information

95% positive

6 reviews from the community

Review of "Because of You - Ne-Yo"

published 17/05/2007 | plonky
Member since : 08/11/2006
Reviews : 6
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Excellent
Pro Rhytmic, upbeat and sexy, better sound
Cons Shows nothing new or different in terms of lyrics than the last one
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"'Because of ...an excellent performance'"

There you have it. Mr Ne-Yo had done it again. Yet another fab song from an even better album. For the ones that are not familiar with his precious work I shall give you some more information.

ABOUT THE ARTIST:
Shaffer Chimere Smith is the real name is the artist who was born on October 18, 1982.Ne-Yo's debut album, In My Own Words, was released in early 2006, through Def Jam Records, and debuted at number one on Billboard 200, selling over 301,000 copies in the first week. His second album 'Because of you' is currently number one in the US. The album was released on 1 May 2007 and features artists like Jay-Z and Jennifer Hudson.

ABOUT THE ALBUM:
Ne-yo continues to give his fans a smooth sound and new and rhythmic R'n'B songs.

The first song on the album is 'Because of you' which was the first song released from the album and had debuted at number 1 one on the Billboard 200 and Billboard R&B/Hip-Hop Albums.

The song 'Call me crazy' is collaboration with Jay-Z although his role in the song is rather short.

In general the album is very similar to his first one in terms of style and rhythm. One of the more upbeat songs in the album is 'Can we chill' although the song title suggests the opposite. In terms of sound that song is similar to 'Because of you'.

The album has also sensual ballads as the artist remains true to his style. 'Do you' is a very romantic song and shows Ne-yo's true singing talent.

Although Ne-Yo has been 'So Sick' of love songs he continues to sing only about love. The album definitely shows he has improved his vocals and h sounds more mature. The songs have better rhythm and every single one has the potential of becoming a hit. I can see every song being played in a club. The album is also great for listening with the loved one because it is so romantic. I have both albums and I would have to say that the second one shows more professionalism.

The interesting thing is the general theme in the 'Addiction' as one of the songs is called. In most of the songs he talks about love obsession and passion about a woman. That is why the song 'Leaving Tonight" ft Jennifer Hudson works really well. It is different from the other songs on the album. It has a more soul sound, it is slower and more smooth. Jennifer Hudson has very strong vocals and Ne-Yo blends in the background a bit.

As a conclusion I would definitely recommend this album to everyone who enjoys that style of music. The album is very relaxing and at the same time it can set you in the mood for any occasion-going out, enjoying an evening or enjoying time with a partner.

You will spend you money well!

Community evaluation

This review was read 887 times and was rated at
60% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • piggypine published 17/05/2007
    Good review.
  • sha-olga published 17/05/2007
    Good helpful review, well done !
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Because of You - Ne-Yo"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Because of You - Ne-Yo

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Soul - Label: Mercury, Def Jam - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 30/04/2007 - 602517326910

Product Details

EAN: 602517326910

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 04/07/2011