Best Power Ballads In The World...Ever! - Various Artists

Community images

Best Power Ballads In The World...Ever! - Various Artists

Rock & Pop - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: Virgin - Distributor: EMI Operations/CEVA Logistics, Universal Music - Released: 02/06/2003 - 72438113...

> Show product information

81% positive

11 reviews from the community

Review of "Best Power Ballads In The World...Ever! - Various Artists"

published 13/09/2003 | herby30
Member since : 27/03/2003
Reviews : 165
Members who trust : 158
About me :
Super
Pro Some great classic listening!
Cons Brings back sad memories!
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Lyrics
How does it compare to the artist's other releases

"POWERFUL BALLADS SOME CLASSIC ROCK!!!"

Being a big fan of Rock Ballads, as soon as I heard this advertised I rushed out to buy, I even paid £15.99 at HMV for it, although I am sure you could buy cheaper elsewhere for instance play.com, Amazon.co.uk to name but a few, but I just couldn’t be bothered to shop around and I wanted to hear sooner rather than later.

Power Ballads is a double CD compilation of 39 tracks by various artists. Ballads spanning over several decades (70’s, 80’s 90’s and 00’s) brought together on 2 fantastic CD’s by Virgin Music Group Ltd.

Disc 1 information:
Total play time 79.05 minutes

Track 01
Hero, published by Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp BMI/Arm Your Dillo Publishing Inc (SOCAN) and produced by Chad Kroeger (2002), you may remember this song and video from Spiderman, fantastically performed by Chad Kroeger featuring Josey Scott.
Chad’s voice is very gritty and quite distinctive, track starts of with a drum roll and Chad singing a few lines before galloping heavily into drumming and guitar, this song continues along the same lines, slowing down and building upto chorus again, all justified to make Hero the passionate and powerful ballad it is!
7/10


Track 02
We Are The Champions, published by EMI Music Publishing Ltd/Queen Music Ltd and performed by Queen back in 1977.
Another hit for Queen, We Are The Champions starts with Freddie Mercury signing a few lines with the aid of the piano, guitars and drumming will take you into the corny chorus. A very dramatic song, sounds almost like a song from a West End Show and not a big rock band.
4/10


Track 03
The Best, published by Rondor Music (London) Ltd/Zomba Music Publishers Ltd/Q Music Ltd, performed by Tina Turner back in 1989
One of Tina’s slushier songs that seems to have become a great anthem for those who visit Ibrox Football Stadium on a regular basis, you either love it or hate it, very passionate song with catchy chorus and cheesy music.
6/10


Track 04
Because The Night, published by Bruce Springsteen, produced by Jimmy Lovine and performed by Patti Smith Group back in 1978.
I am not familiar with the group at all but this a true rock chick song, Patti Smith’s voice is similar to that of Chrissie Hynde, very strong, not really tuneful but enjoyable all the same. Song starts with faint piano playing and then Patti’s voice raises a few octaves to come in along with heavy drumming, luv it!
8/10


Track 05
The One I Love, published by Night Garden Music (BMI)/Warner/Chappel Music Ltd, produced by Scott Litt and R.E.M, and performed by R.E.M. back in 1987.
I am not a great R.E.M. fan but I kinda like this song, quite a fast catchy track, again with lots of Guitar strumming and drumming, cheery little number that will have your toes tapping in no time!
7/10


Track 06
I Drove All Night, published by Sony Music Publishing, produced by Orbiston Records Ltd and performed by Roy Orbiston back in 1992.
Not really a fan of Roy, Cyndi Lauper also released a version of this song, which I have to say is much better (in my opinion). This song is very fast and your left feeling that there’s something wrong with your CD player, it would probably be more bearable is he slowed his signing slightly, but then I suppose it’s over quickly (always a positive to be found). I get the impression Roy Orbiston modelled himself on Elvis, but his voice is not half as good, but I have to agree he can sing, quite liked Pretty Woman.
2/10


Track 07
The Power of Love, published by Warner/Chappell Music Ltd, produced and performed by Huey Lewis and The News back in 1985.
Reminds me of the first time I ever went to cinema without parents, I went to see Back To The Future. This track has a fantastic cheerful beat, Huey Lewis has a great voice, very soulfoul and strong, strumming of guitars and drumming responsible for feelgood factor of song I think!
8/10

Track 08
Heaven is a place on Earth, published by EMI Music Publishing Ltd/EMI Virgin Music Ltd, produced by Rick Nowels and performed by Belinda Carlisle back in 1987.
Who can forget Belinda Carlisle, I can still see her dancing around in circles in her video for this song, very dancy kinda tune, you might be forgiven for thinking it’s a pop tune until the guitar strumming kicks in.
6/10

Track 09
Alone, published by Sony Music Publishing, produced by Ron Nevison and performed by Heart back in 1987.
This is quite a soulful ballad, starts off slowly with piano and then builds to crescendo for the chorus, great guitar solo in middle of track, great classic track that will never age!
9/10

Track 10
Is This Love, published by Warner/Chappell Music Ltd, produced by Keith Olsen and Mike Stone, performed by Whitesnake back in 1987.
This song takes an age to start but when it does get going you’ll be signing it for days, song has a heavy drumbeat and softer guitar strumming, again, another timeless classic!
9/10

Track 11
Black Velvet, published by Gema/Biem, produced by David Tyson and performed by Alannah Myles back in 1989.
Starts with a nice acoustic guitar rift, heavy drumbeat throughout whole song and a nice poem but poor song!
3/10

Track 12
(I Just) Died In Your Arms, published by Sony/ATV Music Publishing (UK) Ltd, produced by Brown, Jensen and Cutting Crew, performed by Cutting Crew back in 1986.
For such a great introduction to a song, I find this very disappointing and very repetitive. Heavy drumbeat and cleverly used guitars.
4/10 only cause I liked the intro and the beat!

Track 13
You Took The Words Right Out Of My Mouth (Hot Summer Night), published by Carlin Music Corp, produced by Jim Steinman and performed by Meat Loaf back in 1977.
Classic timeless rock song by one of the world’s biggest selling rock artists of all time, this is a very dramatic track that would not be out of place on a West End Show. Meat Loaf has a fantastic voice and knows how to use it to his full potential, he never disappoints. A song from an era where they could make and sing real music!
10/10

Track 14
Total Eclipse Of The Heart, published by EMI Virgin Music Ltd, produced by Jim Steinman, performed by the fantastic Bonnie Tyler back in 1983.
A slow haunting introduction, which breaks into full band sound, heavy drum and guitar tone throughout. Bonnie Tyler’s vocals are very distinctive. This song is very dramatic and passionate, again would not be out of place on a West End Show.
10/10


Track 15
China In Your Hand, published by BMG Music Publishing Ltd, performed by T’Pau back in 1987.
A very oriental sounding track with a great Sax solo. It shows off Carol Decker’s fantastic vocal abilities, she has a tremendously powerful vocal range, which I find pleasing to the ear and feel tempted to sing along with much to my hubby’s disgust! Another lovely poem that we’ll be listening to for years to come.
9/10


Track 16
Bitch, published by Hidden Pun Music/Kissing Booth Music/Sushi Too Music/Warner Tamerlane Publishing Corp, produced by Geza X, performed by Meredith Brooks back in 1997.
Quite a grungy feeling song, she kinda reminds me of Alannis Morisette. I think she has some issues she needs to deal with, nuff said!
3/10 just for vocal ability!


Track 17
How You Remind Me, published by Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp (BMI/Arm Your Dillo Publishing Inc/Zero-G Music Inc/M Kroeger Publishing (SOCAN), produced by Rick Parashar and Nickelback, performed by Nickelback in 2001.
Heavy rock song with a heavy base and drum line. Liked it when I first heard it, can’t stand it now, I think the trouble with this track is that it was played too much on radio and became a housewives choice that we all got sick of hearing.
3/10


Track 18
Love Hurts, published by Acuff-Rose Music Ltd, produced by Nazareth (Dunfermline) Ltd, performed by Nazareth back on 1974.
Intro to this song could be any classic rock song, vocals spoil it, the singer has quite a screeching voice, nice base and guitar melody. Has a drunken end of night feeling to it!
1/10


Track 19
Every Rose Has It’s Thorn, published by Zomba Music Publishers Ltd, performed by Poison back in 1988.
Lovely acoustic guitar intro breaking into a nice clean crisp sound, well balanced tune you’ll be attempting to sing along to after hearing for the first time, clever use of vocal harmonies in the chorus, add this to the classic guitar solo making this a fantastic classic, generations to come will appreciate!
10/10


Track 20
Nothing Compares 2 U, published by Copywright Control, produced by Nellee Hooper and Sinead O’Connor, performed by Sinead O’Connor back in 1990.
Lovely string introduction giving way to a heavy drumbeat throughout the rest of the track. Sinead O’ Connor has the voice of an angel. But this song’s biggest downfall is that it’s been overplayed throughout the years!
8/10


Disc 1 information:
Play time: 79.03 minutes

Track 01
Drive, published by Gema/Biem, produced by Mutt Lange (Shania Twain’s hubby), performed by The Cars in 1984.
Nice clean intro as the title says makes you want to Drive, very 80’s electric sound, great song but you get the feeling it needs something more!
6/10


Track 02
Broken Wings, published by Warner Chappell Music Ltd, produced by Paul A Rothschild, performed by Mr. Mister back in 1985.
Good base intro, very Miami Vice, you get the feeling it’s a song of hope. Strong male vocals throughout. Leaves you feeling uplifted, nice song.
8/10


Track 03
Hard To Say I’m Sorry, published by Gema/Biem, produced by David Foster, performed by Chicago back in 1982.
Piano intro grabbing the listeners attention into nice vocal harmonies, emotional feeling song, nice sad poem, a good making up song!
9/10


Track 04
Against All Odds (Take A Look At Me Now), published by Hit And Run Publishing Ltd, produced by Arif Mardin, performed by Phil Collins back in 1984.
Classic Phil Collins during his finest hour. Haunting piano and strings, introducing one of the greatest drum breaks of all time. Very emotional feeling and classic wedding song that will never age.
10/10


Track 05
To Be With You, published by Gema/Biem, produced by Kevin Elson, performed by Mr. Big back in 1991.
Very country feeling sound, nice vocal harmonies in chorus, love or hate it, you’ll be singing along by the end of the song.
6/10


Track 06
I Want To Know What Love Is, published by Gema/Biem, produced by Alex Sadkin and Mick Jones, performed by Foreigner back in 1984.
Very 80’s electric sound which captures your imagination throughout, a classic chorus that will never age, guitars and drums simply accompany the singer.
8/10


Track 07
The Living Years, published by Hit And Run Music Publishing Ltd/Palan Music Publishing, produced by Christopher Neil and Mike Rutherford, performed by Mike and The Mechanics back in 1988.
One of the most haunting songs you will ever hear, very emotional story that we can all relate to, music simply accompanies this classic story. This song will stand the test of time and will be listened to for generations to come.
10/10


Track 08
Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now, published by Windswept Pacific Music Ltd/EMI Music Publishing Ltd/BMG Publishing Ltd, produced by Narada Michael Walden, performed by Starship back in 1987.
Very cheesy 80’s sound that is clearly out of place on this album. Nuff said.
0/10


Track 09
Keep On Loving You, published by International Music Network, produced by Sony Music Entertainment Inc, performed by REO Speedwagon back in 1980.
Nice melodic piano intro giving way to a very powerful classic rock ballad, has a slight country feel to it. Great vocal harmonies in the chorus. Great song.
9/10


Track 10
We Belong, published by EMI Music Publishing Ltd/Screen Gems-EMI Music Inc/EMI Music Publishing Ltd, produced by Neil Gerado and Peter Coleman, performed by Pat Benatar in 1984.
Oriental sounding intro giving way to a song with a gospel-sounding feel. Very uplifting. Forget Spice Girls this is your original girl power. Pat has one of the most tremendously powerful female voices I have ever heard. Simply superb.
10/10


Track 11
Don’t You (Forget About Me), published by Universal/MCA Music Ltd, produced by Keith Forsey, performed by Simple Minds back in 1985
Track starts with heavy drum beat, clever use of strings and guitars throughout the track. I am a big fan of Simple Minds but this is not their best song, it will be more remembered for the milk advertising campaign.
4/10


Track 12
Missing You, published by Carlin Music Corp/Sony/ATV Music Publishing (UK) Ltd/Warner/Chappell Music Ltd/Warner/Chappell North America Ltd, performed by John Waite back in 1984.
This song reminds me of breaking up. Nice pleasant sounding accompaniment to the singer which dares you to listen to the story he’s telling. Another timeless classic.
9/10


Track 13
Isn’t It Time, published by Ensign Music Corp/Seven Summits Music (a div of Disney Music Publishing)/X-Ray Music/Campbell Connelly & Co Ltd/Famous Music Publishing Ltd, performed by The Baby’s back in 1978
Nice piano intro going into almost a classical sounding song, bored by the time the chorus starts, very disjointed, would be better suited to the film soundtrack the Commitments.
3/10


Track 14
When I See You Smile, published by EMI Music Publishing Ltd, produced by Sony Music Entertainment Inc, performed by Bad English back in 1989.
Simple vocal intro, nice clean melody building to a very powerful chorus which captures your attention throughout the rest of this track. Nice timeless ballad.
8/10


Track 15
It Must Have Been Love, published by Jimmy Fun Music/EMI Music Publishing Ltd, performed by Roxette back in 1988.
Heavy drum intro leading to a haunting sounding song, very 80’s. Simple drum and base rifts throughout track. Nice song but again suffers from overplay!
6/10


Track 16
Eternal Flame, published by EMI Songs Ltd/Sony/ATV Music Publishing Ltd, produced by Sony Music, performed by The Bangles back in 1988.
Very short simple introduction leading the listener into a powerful ballad. Clever use of vocal harmonies throughout. Reminds me of a first real love song, very slushy!
8/10


Track 17
All By Myself, published by Copywright Control, performed by Eric Carmen back in 1976.
Soft piano intro, very haunting sound, nice male vocals with string accompaniment, sad song. Celine Dion covered this a few years ago, I prefer her version, I believe it’s more suited to a female vocal. Worth a listen for the melody alone.
5/10


Track 18
Eyes Without A Face, published by Chrysalis Music Ltd/Warner/Chappell Music Ltd, performed by Billy Idol back in 1983.
Billy Idol’s finest hour, very simple intro with a very 80’s feeling sound. Classic.
7/10


Track 19
I’d Do Anything For Love (But I Won’t Do That), published by Carlin Music Corp, produced by Jim Steinman, performed by Meatloaf back in 1993.
Best piano intro on this album, dramatic sound throughout, again could be part of a West End Show. Fantastic sounding song with great musical crescendos throughout. Another classic.
10/10


The CD comes in a normal Jewel Case with a flip over section inside to place both CD’s. Front cover graphics are full colour of the earth placed above a long straight American Highway at dusk, bold white text tells you the album is named POWER BALLADS and a list of main artists at bottom of cover in smaller text.


Hope you've enjoyed reading this as much as I have enjoyed listening and writing this, my first music op. I would appreciate any feedback on what your thoughts are. Take care Heather:)

Community evaluation

This review was read 37047 times and was rated at
93% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • Westocean published 01/01/2009
    Belinda Carlisle is a legend. Great review!
  • Mayoki published 07/05/2008
    Great review, I really liked the personal comments for each track.
  • xdonzx published 29/08/2007
    good review xdonzx
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Best Power Ballads In The World...Ever! - Various Artists"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Best Power Ballads In The World...Ever! - Various Artists

Manufacturer's product description

Rock & Pop - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: Virgin - Distributor: EMI Operations/CEVA Logistics, Universal Music - Released: 02/06/2003 - 724381136027

Product Details

EAN: 724381136027

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011