Black Liberation Dub, Chapter 1 - Mad Professor

Community images

Black Liberation Dub, Chapter 1 - Mad Professor

1 CD(s) - Reggae - Label: Ariwa - Distributor: Plastic Head, Code7/Plastic Head - Released: 01/06/2009 - 5020145800957

> Show product information

100% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Black Liberation Dub, Chapter 1 - Mad Professor"

published 30/08/2006 | MademoiselleButterfly
Member since : 30/08/2006
Reviews : 1
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Excellent
Pro Classic 80s power ballad rock, beautiful melodies, strong vocals, great instrumentals
Cons a couple of weak songs, a bit repetitive at times.
helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Don't Stop Believin' it, it's a great journey."

This album is a total classic. Whether you were born before, during or after the 80s, this album will make you relive the 80s in a truly feel good way. Journey have always been a favourite band of mine, but it was this album that made me realise just how great they are. The best songs of their ongoing career. Each individual song has a melody that will captivate your ears and carry you off into the 80s and make you feel like you are actually watching the music forming in front of you. Listening to the vocals of Steve Perry, you feel like you can empathise with him by the time you reach the end of the double album. Each track will make you feel at least one emotion and it each emotion feels so strong. The songs i think that capture the imagination and are strongest musically & lyrically are:
1. Still They Ride
2. When You Love A Woman
3. Lights
4. I'll Be Alright Without You
5. Faithfully
Whenever i listen to each of these songs i can instantly correspond lyrics to memories in my life. Each song sends shivers up my spine with Steve Perry's faultless vocals and the harmonising of the backing vocalists.
They are some weak points on this album... unfortunately, the live track - 'Line Of Fire' is quite distracting as throughout the song is the constant buzzing of a crowd in the background. A few of the tracks feel like they are a repeat of other tracks. This could, in a lot of cases, lead to boredom with the album but fortunately for Journey (and for anyone who listens to this album) problems of this kind are few and far between, this double album takes you on a rocking roller coaster that comes direct from the 80s and straight into your ears. An all round great album. i'm extremely glad i own it.

Community evaluation

This review was read 1299 times and was rated at
80% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
helpful

Comments on this review

  • fraquelty published 30/08/2006
    Welcome to ciao, good review but add more info for better ratings. :D Robbie
  • Miles13 published 30/08/2006
    Hi & welocme to Ciao sorry for the low rating, to see what required try reading other music reviews on the site, if you expand this let me know I would be more than happy to re-read & re-rate hope this helps -Milt
  • josarah published 30/08/2006
    Hello Steph, welcome to Ciao - a good review, I think music must be one of the most difficult things to write about as it's such a personal thing, you could have put more details in this review, I would suggest having a read around other music reviews to see the type of things that have earned other pepople higher ratings - :o) Jo
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Black Liberation Dub, Chapter 1 - Mad Professor"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Black Liberation Dub, Chapter 1 - Mad Professor

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Reggae - Label: Ariwa - Distributor: Plastic Head, Code7/Plastic Head - Released: 01/06/2009 - 5020145800957

Product Details

EAN: 5020145800957

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 30/08/2006