Blood Father (DVD)

Community images

Blood Father (DVD)

> Show product information

80% positive

2 reviews from the community

Review of "Blood Father (DVD)"

published 09/08/2017 | sellerleygirl
Member since : 15/02/2015
Reviews : 976
Members who trust : 120
About me :
Super
Pro Mel Gibson doing what he does best
Cons Quiter a lot of profanity - but not out of context
exceptional
Did you enjoy it?
Story
Characters / Performances
Special Effects
Soundtrack

"Mel Gibson is back - and how!"

Blood Father (DVD)

Blood Father (DVD)

-•- Blood Father-•-


-• Film Only Review -•-

This is the second Mel Gibson film that I have watched in the last few weeks; I watched the fantastic ‘Hacksaw Ridge’ which he directed and now this film that he stars in. We watched Blood Father off Sky Cinema in an attempt to escape from the continuous athletics we were being force fed!

-•- Tagline-•-

A Father Makes His Own Justice
-•- Genre-•-

• Action
• Crime
• Drama
• Thriller

-• Film-•-

'Blood Father', starring Mel Gibson, is a 2016 English-language French film directed by Jean-François Richet and written by Peter Craig based on his novel of the same name.
This was filmed in New Mexico, but it is a French film that was first shown at the Cannes Film Festival, 2016.
Film Details

Directed by Jean-François Richet
Produced by Chris Briggs, Peter Craig, Pascal Caucheteux and Sebastien K. Lemercier
Screenplay by Peter Craig and Andrea Berloff
Based on Blood Father by Peter Craig
Music by Sven Faulconer
Cinematography Robert Gantz
UK Release date 7 October 2016
DVD Release date 13th February 2017
Classification 15
Running time 88 minutes
Country France
Language English

-• The Trailer •-

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt3647498/videoplayer/vi3629626649?ref_=tt_pv_vi_aiv_2
-• -The Story -•-


“You may not want to wake up tomorrow but the day after that, might just be great.”


The film starts with a teenage girl, Lydia Link (played by Erin Moriarty) being turned down to buy cigarettes without ID but able to buy boxes of 9mm ammo!!

We then see John Link (played by heavily bearded Mel Gibson), who works as a tattoo artist in the remote caravan park where he lives and work. Link is a reformed alcoholic and ex-con, who lives life one day at a time with the help of his AA sponsor Kirby Curtis (played by William H Macy). We learn that Link has not seen his teenage daughter Lydia in years, except for “on the side of a milk carton” – and posters for her return are on his caravan walls.

Soon Lydia does show up, high on drugs and recovering from gunplay gone very wrong; it seems that Lydia has fallen in with a very bad crowd and this crowd could well be after her now.
When trouble turns up at the caravan, the reunited father and daughter hit the road through the Californian desert, to find out more about Lydia’s boyfriend, Jonah Pincerna (played by Diego Luna), and to stay out of way of his homicidal gang.

Will the couple manage to throw off Luna and his men?
Will they live happily ever after?

-• -The Main Cast -•-

Mel Gibson as John Link
Erin Moriarty as Lydia Link
William H. Macy as Kirby Curtis,
Diego Luna as Jonah
Thomas Mann as Jayson
Dale Dickey as Cherise
Michael Parks as Preacher
Daniel Moncada as Choop
Raoul Trujillo as a cleaner
Richard Cabral as Joker
-• - Acting -• -

Mel Gibson’s character - John Link – is very much like a consolidation of lots of his past, more famous characters, with a little Mad Max, a scattering of ‘Lethal Weapon’s’ Riggs, a touch of Thomas Craven from ‘Edge of Darkness’ and a pinch of Porter, from ‘Payback’. Mel Gibson has always shone in these anti-hero roles (back in the day when it was not wrong to like Gibson), and over ten years on he’s back, trying to resurrect the career he almost threw away with his drunken ramblings, and he is still excelling at it. He might be looking very old, he might have gained a lot of facial lines (as we see when he loses the beard) but there’s no doubting that Mel Gibson still has the ability to play great roles- let’s hope that there are more to come.
When his character and Lydia hit the road, we see that Gibson - despite his added years- is still able to pull off these hard-hitting action roles – and you are rooting for him all the way.

Erin Moriarty, who plays Gibson's long-lost daughter, certainly delivers. She plays the role of a teenage girl who is very lost, very well, she plays the role both young and stupid and mature and strong– I would say that we will see more of this young lady in the future. I thought that one of the strengths of the film was actually the dialogue between the volatile Gibson and Moriarty. The excellent supporting cast rounds off an excellent cast., especially William H. Mac as Curtis, who I would have liked to have seem more of.
-• -My Opinion -•-

I didn’t even know that Mel Gibson had made another film, it was if this was a B movie rather than a ‘real’ Hollywood film. Maybe it was kept quiet on purpose as it is not fashionable to admit to liking Mel Gibson after his meltdown a few years ago!
When my husband downloaded this film, I hadn’t even then realised it was a Mel Gibson film – but it certainly WAS a Mel Gibson film, and he is back as gritty and reliable as ever.

I felt like there were a few nods to Gibson’s personal problems in the film, like his battling with drink and the memories of his drunken verbal explosions. There were also a few tongue in cheek moments like when he kicked a model of a Nazi soldier over and when he claims that illegal Mexican immigrants are "stealing" fruit-picking jobs from white Americans. and then there his line
“You can’t be a prick all your life and just say never mind”.

This is a fast-paced film with some well-staged action and fighting scenes, credible characters, a good storyline and some clever – and often witty dialogue. Like when the motel clerk asks Link in a wink, wink, nudge, nudge way where he met Lydia and Link replies in a flash “In the delivery room!”

I would say that ‘Blood Father’ is more a drama film with action than just an action film; but the action is good, sometimes bloody and all in all very entertaining.
There is a lot of profanity in the film, as well as a lot of violence and so is definitely not one for under 15’s.

Welcome back Mr Gibson, and here’s to seeing more of you in the future!!

-• Ratings-•-

• IMDb 6.4/10 from 42,631 reviews
• Metacritic :64% from 160 critics
• Rotten Tomatoes:88% from 83 reviews
-•- Critics -•-

• Empire: "This is Mel Gibson back to doing what he once did best, just older and grumpier. The movie has problems but delivers when it needs to."

• Financial Times: "The dialogue goes like a Gatling gun and the action is its match."

• Guardian: "There's an unexpectedly engaging performance from Gibson"

• Sunday Times: "The troubled actor hasn't been this charismatic on screen for more than a decade."

• Independent Online: "A surprisingly solid action thriller, Blood Father delivers exactly what you expect, and then some"

• Irish Times: "Mel Gibson channels an older, wounded version of his ‘Lethal Weapon’ character in this high-octane, ultra-violent action film"
-• - How to View - •-

As of 9/08/17, ‘Blood Father ‘can be purchased from Amazon from £4.71 new and £4.08 used or buy from Amazon Instant Video -£6.99
Some DVDs on Amazon are available for free delivery within the UK and are if you have a Prime account, if neither of these apply add £1.26 for postage
Amazon are currently offering £1.00 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase a DVD or Blu-ray offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies.
Offer ends at 23:59 GMT on Wednesday, December 20, 2017
It is also available free to subscribers on Netflix and from Sky Cinema

-•- In Conclusion - •-

Do I recommend it?

Yes, I do, especially if you are a ‘Mad Max’, ‘Lethal Weapon’ type film. Because ‘Blood Father’ is a slick, cliché ridden, honestly acted, quite violent, action/chase and extremely entertaining film.
It won't leave you thinking about the meaning of life but it is enjoyable, action-packed and even a little bit silly – andit brings Mel Gibson back to our screens.

'Blood Father' gets 4 stars from me.


The film photos are taken from Google, plus a photo from My Sky for downloading the film

Thanks for reading I do hope that this review has been of some help!

© Sellerleygirl August 2017


Community evaluation

This review was read 133 times and was rated at
86% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
exceptional

Comments on this review

  • euphie published 13/08/2017
    e :o)
  • kiss_me2070 published 12/08/2017
    Great review. I have this to watch this weekend.
  • 2mennycds published 10/08/2017
    Quality evaluation!
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Blood Father (DVD)

Manufacturer's product description

Product Details

Actor(s): Mel Gibson, Erin Moriaty, William H. Macy, Elisabeth Röhm, Diego Luna

Director(s): Jean-Francois Richet

DVD Region: DVD

Video Category: Feature Film

Classification: 15 years and over

Production Year: 2016

EAN: 5051892203869

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 07/08/2017