Breaking the Bank (DVD)

Community images

Breaking the Bank (DVD)

> Show product information

60% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Breaking the Bank (DVD)"

published 30/07/2017 | sellerleygirl
Member since : 15/02/2015
Reviews : 944
Members who trust : 120
About me :
♬ •♩ All we need is rates!! •♩ Everybody!!•♩ All we need is rates!! ♩ •♬
Good
Pro Watchable - just!
Cons Poor storyline anad very cliched.
exceptional
Did you enjoy it?
Story
Characters / Performances
Special Effects
Soundtrack

"Keeley Grammer does a Bunbury!!"

Breaking the Bank (DVD)

Breaking the Bank (DVD)

-•- Breaking the Bank-•-


-• Film Only Review -•-

-•- Tagline-•-

You can bank with him, just don’t bank on him

-•- Genre-•-

Comedy
-• Film-•-

This is a 2016 British comedy drama that was filmed in Britain that takes a cynical and comedic look at the world of finance and banking. It stars Frazier actor, Kelsey Grammer, but sporting a very English accent. Directed by Vadim Jean, and written by a former merchant banker, Roger Devlin, who was also a “provider of substantial financial support to the project”

Film Details

RUNNING TIME: 105 minutes
RELEASE DATE: 03/06/2016
DIRECTOR: Vadim Jean
WRITERS: Roger Devlin and Vadim Jean
PRODUCERS: Terry Bird, Jonathan Evans, Jake Seal and Ian Sharples
CINEMATOGRAPHY: Oliver Curtis
-• The Trailer •-

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt3105662/videoplayer/vi3444552729?ref_=tt_pv_vi_aiv_1

-• -The Story -•-

“Congratulations Charles, you’ve broken the bank,”

Kelsey Grammer plays the inadequate and bumbling Charles Bunbury; a man who has been running the hugely profitable investment bank – Tuftons - that has belonged to his wife, Penelope’s (played by Tamsin Greig), for centuries.
The poor, oafish man knows nothing about banking, it is not in his blood, he did in fact inherit the job from his smart father-in-law – and he has great difficulties in running it.
In fact, by running it – read running it into the ground – or ‘doing a Bunbury’.

The film starts with Penelope and financial analysts, Nick Freeman (played by Matthew Horne) and Graham Sneddon (played by Danny Morgan), standing in the midst of a shareholder’s party cringing in fear as Charles gives a speech on the state of the bank’s progress, worried that he will reveal some incriminating information about the bank.

The inapt and bungling old is soon faced with the fight of his life after a bad deal made by Horne’s rogue trader Nick Freeman (or is that Leeson?) results in a battle between an American and Japanese bank to take over the company – Charles ‘breaks the bank’ or ‘does a Bunbury’. The disgraced and penniless Charles must save the bank and his marriage to Penelope; but who will help him?
His errant daughter and her hippy friends?
The tramp with a penchant for trading?
Or the faithful old chauffer?
-• -The Main Cast -•-

Tamsin Greig ... Penelope Bunbury
Kelsey Grammer Charles Bunbury
John Michael Higgins...Richard Grinding
Sonya Cassidy ... Annabel Bunbury
Pearce Quigley ... Oscar
Julie Dray ... Sophie
Mathew Horne ... Nick
Andrew Sachs ... Jenkins
Togo Igawa ... Nakamura
Doon Mackichan Caroline
Dilyana Bouklieva... Business woman
Richard Cordery ... Bournville
Danny Morgan Graham Sneddon

-• - Acting -• -

When are the Razzies held? There could be some contenders in this film!

While the cast of ‘Breaking the Bank’ has some good, experienced performers with some great roles in their résumé, their parts in this film don’t really bring any kudos to their CV’s.

KELSEY GRAMMER

Here we have a well-known and respected American sit com actor (not forgetting Sideshow Bob from The Simpsons) making a decent job of an English accent, however he looks rather like he is impersonating Hugh Bonneville impersonating Boris Johnson (complete with a rather embarrassing ‘whiff whaff’ scene.) He does try, sadly he hasn’t really got enough to work with in the script, and everything he does is pretty predictable.

TAMSIN GREIG

Tamsin Greig is a versatile comedienne and TV and stage actress, and as Charles’s wife Penelope, she does have some of the best lines in the film; most of which come from the droll conversations between her and Charles. The couple do have a good chemistry although it seems a completely unbelievable relationship. Obviously, the trouser wearer in the relationship (and business), Penelope is far less involved in the running of the bank than is plausible.
However, Ms Greig does play the role of the intelligent and frustrated wife in a terrifically acidic way.

MATTHEW HORNE

One of the two ‘villains’ of the film, the ambitious trader, Nick, is played by Matthew Horne. Less the Wolf of Threadneedle Street and more the Mouse of the Piggy Bank. I generally enjoy Matthew Horne’s work, but his role of the champagne-swilling trader in Breaking the Bank is extremely clichéd, very ‘eighties’ and far too predictable. His portrayal is far too OTT the be taken seriously.

JOHN MICHAEL HIGGINS

The other ‘villain’ is the smooth taking, suave but manipulative American Richard Grinding. This role is very one-dimensional, very stereotypical and – like that of Horne’s character far too excessive to be taken seriously

PEARCE QUIGLEY

Probably my favourite character (and for me the funniest) in the film was that played by Pearce Quigley. He plays the down and out homeless man, who is far more of a money expert than the bumbling Charles.

SONYA CASSIDY

As Annabel, Charles and Penelope’s rebellious daughter, Sonya Cassidy’s role is very poorly drawn and undeveloped. It is a very dated type of role – more 60’s orientated than 21st century, and again extremely predictable.

ANDREW SACHS

Let’s just say this is a decrepit looking Manuel in a chauffeur’s outfit – just not as funny!!
Poor Mr Sachs, he must have cringed all the way to the bank

-• -My Opinion -•-

For me this film was more like Brian Rix does Carry on Banking and tries to be Trading Places.!

Despite its modern-day settings, in my opinion there is something very dated about this film. Rather than call it a “comedy” I would call it a "light comedy" or even a “farce”.
When you read the good cast list you think you are in for a better film than you get; there are too many old adages for jokes, too many banking and social clichés and it is far too predictable.

Don’t get me wrong, this film is not DREADFUL, it’s just rather tired and old hat and I did expect more from the seasoned cast. It would though make a great film to watch to waste an hour and a half on a plane journey!
Apart from the basic ‘breaking the bank’ story, there are also a couple of somewhat silly subplots that do very little for the film. One involves the shy financial analyst Graham Sneddon’s attempts to lose his virginity to Sophie (played by Julie Dray) the French secretary (she’s French, so she must be a nymphomaniac, right!), and the other involves the anti-capitalist, Annabel’s idealistic and – once again – cliched - band of ‘freeganism’ hippies (they live on the food thrown out by shops)

The jokes in the film are often very weak and cliched, and is rather like a poor attempt at an impersonation of ‘Trading Places’, but it does move along at a decent pace and there are a few parts that I did giggle at – I didn’t split my sides – but I giggled.
I knew how it would end, but I still watched it; did I enjoy it? I can’t say enjoy, but it was reasonably watchable – better than watching paint dry anyway, and at least I watched it right through to the closing credits!

Reading back, I do seem to have used the words ‘clichéd’ and ‘predictable’ a lot in this review – but I certainly think that those two words really do summarise ‘Breaking the Bank’
-• Ratings-•-

• IMDb 4.7/10 from 244reviews
• Rotten Tomatoes: 36% from 26 reviews

-•- Critics -•-

• The Daily Mail: "Breaking the Bank is an amiably silly comedy set in the world of high finance

• The Express: "FRASIER star Kelsey Grammer plays an incompetent bank chairman in the hilarious Breaking the Bank, alongside Tamsin Greig, Mathew Horne and Andrew Sachs."

• The Guardian: "A good cast led by Kelsey Grammer lifts this comedy about banking, as an old-fashioned British firm falls foul of a shark-like US investor, out of the doldrums"

• The Radio Times: "In this combination of romantic farce and economic chicanery, Kelsey Grammer dons a plummy English accent to play the bumbling aristocratic head of a long-established London bank"

• The Hollywood Reporter: "A few good laughs from the leads is all the payoff you get in this improbable finance yarn"

• Hey U Guys.com: "Despite its issues, there are still some laughs to be had, and fans of old-school British comedy would do well to give this a chance."

-• - DVD Details & Extras - •-

I watched this film on Sky so have no details about the DVD, however Netflix gives these facts about the DVD (and there doesn’t appear to be any extras at all)

• Screen formats: Widescreen Anamorphic 1.78:1
• Subtitles: English SDH, Spanish (Neutral), French, Portuguese
• Closed captioned: No
• Language and sound: English: Dolby Digital 5.1, Spanish (Neutral): Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo, Portuguese: Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo
• Other features: Colour; interactive menus; scene access

-• - How to View - •-

As of 28/07/17, ‘Breaking the Bank ‘can be purchased from Amazon from £3.14 new and £2.00 used or buy from Amazon Instant Video -£6.99
Some DVDs on Amazon are available for free delivery within the UK and are if you have a Prime account, if neither of these apply add £1.26 for postage
Amazon are currently offering £1.00 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase a DVD or Blu-ray offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies.
Offer ends at 23:59 GMT on Wednesday, December 20, 2017
It is also available free to subscribers on Netflix and Sky.
-•- In Conclusion - •-

To summarise, I would say that despite its issues – mainly a very poor script - there are still a few laughs to be had laughs to be had, and there are some nice shots of London.
Who would enjoy it? I think any who enjoyed old-school British farce (Brian Rix style), anyone looking for something easy to watch that isn’t serious or likes to see attacks on the old money, super rich brigade would enjoy this.

-•- Pictures- •-

1. Choosing the film on Sky Cinema
2. Kelsey Grammer and Matthew Horne
3. The down and out Charles
4. The Banker Charles
5. In the boardroom
6. Charles and Penelope


The film photos are taken from Google.

Thanks for reading I do hope that this review has been of some help!

© Sellerleygirl July 2017


Community evaluation

This review was read 172 times and was rated at
74% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
exceptional

Comments on this review

  • danielclark691 published 18/08/2017
    well covered
  • euphie published 06/08/2017
    e :o)
  • bettyboo47 published 02/08/2017
    super!!
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Breaking the Bank (DVD)"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Breaking the Bank (DVD)

Manufacturer's product description

Product Details

Actor(s): Kelsey Grammer, Tamsin Greig, John Michael Higgins, Mathew Horne

Director(s): Vadim Jean

Classification: 12 years and over

DVD Region: DVD

Production Year: 2014

Main Language: English

EAN: 5053083073497

Video Category: Feature Film

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 27/07/2017