Cbeebies Song Time (Original Soundtrack) - Cbeebies

Community images

Cbeebies Song Time (Original Soundtrack) - Cbeebies

2 CD(s) - Show - Label: Little Demon - Distributor: 2 Entertain/Sony DADC - Released: 22/11/2010 - 5014797710221

> Show product information

100% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Cbeebies Song Time (Original Soundtrack) - Cbeebies"

published 18/02/2011 | Keelar
Member since : 29/07/2008
Reviews : 155
Members who trust : 28
About me :
Sorry been ill again...no time for this place :-((
Excellent
Pro Lots of songs to sing along to
Cons Some themes missin
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Sing Along With Your Kids"

My husband came home with this one night before Christmas last year, and I was quite surprised because a children’s music CD is not something he is usually interested in, so all I can think is that it was in a ‘cheap’ basket. But anyway, I’m really pleased he did buy it because it is packed full of favourite theme tunes from CBeebies.

Most people who have children under 5 are probably aware of what CBeebies is, but for those of you who don’t know - CBeebies is a BBC channel available on Freeview channel 71, dedicated mostly to children under the age of 5 and it runs every day from 6am until 7pm. The programmes are mostly educational and are quite varied in their content so there is bound to be something for every child out there. My kids seem to like most of the programmes, but they definitely have their favourites, such as ‘Mister Maker’ and ‘Show Me Show Me’.


Anyway, as you may have gathered from the item I am reviewing, each programme has a theme tune. Most are very upbeat and catchy and easy to sing-a-long to, sometimes I find the themes more exciting that the actual programme, my personal favourite to sing to is the ‘Zingzillas’ theme, and also ‘Guess with Jess’.


The Cbeebies Song Time CD is actually a 2 CD set and each CD has 25 tracks on, so that’s a total of 50 songs – I didn’t even think there were that many programmes! But on listening to the CD there are only a couple of songs on there that I do not recognise – such as ‘Garth and Bev’ and ‘Zigby’ – if anyone can enlighten me on these then I’d be grateful!


I think it quite a recent release because it has ‘The Uki Song’ which is from ‘Show Me Show Me’ and Uki is a very recent addition to this particular programme. However, it doesn’t have other recent programme themes such as ‘Big City Park’ or that very new one ‘Mr Bloom’ (and I love his songs!) so that’s a bit disappointing. Other themes include Wibbly Pig, Postman Pt, Gigglebiz, Timmy Time, Driver Dan, Waybuloo, Little Robots, Mister Maker, Chuggington, Space Pirates, In The Night Garden...plus many more.


Some of the tunes actually have additional words to the ones you will hear on the television. Grandpa In My Pocket for instance when you hear it on the TV is just music, but on this CD it actually has words to it; Driver Dan and Zingzillas have a couple of extra verses, as does Big and Small and 3rd & Bird. A lot of the songs are either extended versions or sometimes a medley of all the tunes featured in a particular programme. I think this is good because it extends the length of each song and keeps them from being repetitive.


Something to note is that it is not just the most recent theme tunes that are on this CD, there are a few oldies too such as Teletubbies, Big Cook Little Cook, Tweenies, Lazytown and Balamory. Whilst these are not particularly ‘old’, they don’t seem to appear as much on the CBeebies channel of late.


This whole CD is really good for children, especially those who are familiar with CBeebies. It will never replace good old fashioned nursery rhymes, but the music is modern and catchy, and the kids love to dance to it and sing along. If your children watch the CBeebies channel then they will instantly recognise the music on here and I’m sure they will be surprised to hear it and enjoy singing along. Also, with there being a total of 50 different songs, it is ideal as background music for children’s parties.


I find that if my kids are being particularly rowdy, argumentative, and irritating (often), if I put this CD on it kind of refreshes the situation and changes their mood, it brings a sunny smile to their faces and peace is restored (that is if you can ignore the music). It’s also a good one to have in the car, if you can bear it on a long journey; well anything’s better than whining kids.


So I’d definitely recommend it to parents of children under the age of 5 because they are bound to love it, and it makes a change from watching the programmes like little zombies, why not listen to the theme tunes instead and burn off a few calories...!

Available for £7.99 from Amazon.


Community evaluation

This review was read 376 times and was rated at
100% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • watkins11 published 22/02/2011
    My 21 month son is just getting into Cbeebies, I'd forgotten how addictive (read annoying!) the songs are, you end up with them in your head all day!
  • Novabug published 22/02/2011
    Ha, made my own disc of themes and songs for my daughter... :)
  • pennywa published 21/02/2011
    sounds fun ... and I don't have kids, xxx
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Cbeebies Song Time (Original Soundtrack) - Cbeebies"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Cbeebies Song Time (Original Soundtrack) - Cbeebies

Manufacturer's product description

2 CD(s) - Show - Label: Little Demon - Distributor: 2 Entertain/Sony DADC - Released: 22/11/2010 - 5014797710221

Product Details

EAN: 5014797710221

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011