PJE_ 5

PJE_

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me: Hi, I am the Ciaoer formerly known as 'PJE' (Ciao added a flattened penis to the end of my username against my wishes.) These days I live on goodreads where I am user no. 949843 - feel free to say hello over there, or on Twitter (phillipjedwards).

Member since:06.08.2000

Reviews:93

Members who trust:45

Quote-start

"Souls cross ages like clouds cross skies"

Quote-end
22.09.2004 (28.11.2004)

Advantages:
One of the books of the decade .

Disadvantages:
Mind blowing .

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Would you read it again?

Story

Characters

Readability

How does it compare to similar books?

How does it compare to other works by the same author?

31 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (96%):
  1. euphie
  2. Antnic78
  3. kimbahop
and 42 other members
helpful by (4%):
  1. TheChocolateLady
  2. pyela1

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

To paraphrase one of Mitchell's own characters, Cloud Atlas is a sextet of overlapping narratives. Six short stories linking the past, present and future of the human race: each one enveloping the next, like a set of Russian dolls. A bold enterprise indeed. Please don't be put off though, Cloud Atlas is the sort of book you don't so much read, as devour.

From the journal of Adam Ewing, on his voyage home to San Francisco across the South Pacific in 1850; to Zachary, a native of Hawaii, reminsicing about his encounter with one of the last survivors of the 'fall of civilisation' in some not-too-distant future; each story is told using a different narrative style.

Adam Ewing's journal, for example, which reminded me of Matthew Kneale's novel English Passengers, features some wonderfully rumbustious 19th century prose:

"An Indian farmhand peered through the window-pane at his master's visitors.
No more tatterdemalion a renegado I ever beheld, but Mr Evans swore the quadroon, 'Barnabas', was 'the fleetest sheep-dog who ever ran upon two legs'."

But this storyline is left dangling as the second (Letters from Zedelghem) gets under way: transporting us to 1931, and the letters of Robert Frobisher; in which he bleats on like someone from a PG Wodehouse or Evelyn Waugh novel. A self-confessed idler, he is buggering off to Belgium...

"Uneventful journey to the Channel . . . cancerous suburbs, tedious farmland, soiled Sussex. Dover an utter fright staffed by Bolsheviks, versified cliffs as Romantic as my arse and a similar hue."

...in order to blag his way into the household of a famous British composer (loosely based on Delius). This is the weakest segment of the book; but hold onto your hats, because before long we are whisked off to California in 1975 for 'Half Lives - The First Luisa Rey Mystery' - a nuclear conspiracy thriller; a book within a book (within a book?) and a real page-turner.

Next we are brought bang up-to-date with 'The Ghastly Ordeal of Timothy Cavendish' - a pretentious, sixty-something, politically incorrect publisher who gets mugged by a "trio of teenettes, dressed like Prostitute Barbie" before having to flee the family of a gangster who wants to know where the proceeds of his lucrative memoirs have gone. This is a screamingly funny story: I did literally scream with laughter.

"As an experienced editor," Cavendish says at one point, "I disapprove of flashbacks, foreshadowings and tricksy devices; they belong in the 1980s with M.A.s in postmodernism and chaos theory" - thus biting the hand that writes him.

And so it goes on. Just as you are enjoying one story, Mitchell breaks off and takes us hurtling into the future, like we've fallen into the Time Tunnel on that 1960's TV show. And in each story there is an echo of the one before.

When I got to the end of each story I wanted more, and when I got to the end of the book I knew I had to read it again soon. Yes, it is frustrating the way each narrative is interrupted by the next; and there is an irresistable temptation to skip forward to see what happens when that particular storyline resumes; and (quite needlessly as it turned out) I didn't look forward to the futuristic sections; but, with the exception of Frobisher's Letters from Zedelghem, I quickly became engrossed each time. It's a humdinger.

Yesterday I came across this quote from the French philosopher Michel Foucault:

"History is not a predictable mechanism, but a site of often random struggle in a cruel world of master-slave relationships!"

That could almost have been David Mitchell's blueprint for this book.

The fifth story (An Orison of Sonmi) presents a vision of a future ruled by 'corpocrats' where cloned workers called 'fabricants' serve 'purebloods' in some MacDonaldsized Brave New World which is threatened by 'Abolitionists' and 'Union terrorists'.

"How is it some men attain mastery over others while the vast majority live and die as minions, as livestock?" That's the question we are asked by one of our six narrators directly, and by all six of them in one way or another. Are slavery and exploitation inevitable parts of human society, or shall we overcome them? Quite profound stuff. Must the selfish will-to-power of greedy bullies always prevail over liberal collectivism? Nietzsche versus Christ in a punch-up - who will win in the end? Or will human history just carry on repeating itself? In the last story (Shoosha's Crossin' an' Ev'rythin' After) we are taken even further into the future to see...

...and then we go back. One by one, the storylines are resumed and resolved.
But whereas in the first half of each story characters are repressed and enslaved,
in the second halves we find out how their actions do make a difference.


At the 2005 British Book Awards, Cloud Atlas won the Richard & Judy Best Read of the Year award as well as the prize for literary fiction. An unlikely, but well-deserved, double.

Trust me, if you choose to wait for this book to be made into a disney, so you can watch it on your sony while drinking a cup of starbuck, you will be missing out. Don't just take my word for it, read what other reviewers have said about it:


"At once audacious, dazzling, pretentious and infuriating"
- Publishers Weekly.

"Gloriously inventive and dazzlingly virtuosic"
- The Independent.

"Like crawling across a wide narrative web after being stunned by a drug-tipped dart"
- Toronto Star.

"The reader's task is to scramble up the steps of this six-storied ziggurat and bound down the other side [...] A glorious puzzle for the reader"
- Lawrence Norfolk, The Independent.

"Brilliantly exasperating"
- Jenny Barchfield, Newsweek.

"Roller-coaster of a ride"
- The Spectator.

"Bewitching"
- The Times.

"Dizzying"
- The New Statesman.

"Powerful and elegant"
- AS Byatt, The Guardian.

"The way Mitchell inhabits the different voices of the novel is close to miraculous."
- Robert Macfarlane, The Sunday Times.

"The propulsive zing of his sentences and the unexpected U-turn of his narrative give added fuel to his repeated suggestion that time moves like a concertina, not an arrow."
- Pico Iyer, Time magazine.

"It knits together science fiction, political thriller and historical pastiche with musical virtuosity and linguistic exuberance: there won't be a bigger, bolder novel [this year]."
- Justine Jordan, The Guardian.

"As if there could be anything not done a hundred thousand times between Aristophanes and Andrew Void-Webber! As if Art is the What, not the How!"
- Timothy Cavendish, Cloud Atlas.

▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
¶ Hardback cover price: £16.99 ¶ ISBN: 0340822775 ¶ pp 529 ¶
¶ Paperback cover price: £7.99 ¶ ISBN: 0340833203 ¶ pp 544 ¶ 28 Feb 2005 ¶
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀


  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

jesi 14.06.2005 22:16

You spoiled your review by such a profusion of quotes from other reviewers - if I had wanted their quotes I wouldn't be reading on Ciao!... ≈≈≈≈{; -)-{{:::::|||||<

melee 18.04.2005 12:34

I am so pleased someone agrees with me about the similarity to Kneale! Although perhaps we agree on rather little else...

MALU 08.01.2005 22:40

I've just finished the book and written an op by hand (on holiday on Tenerife), now I'm waiting for the category on dooyoo. I'm not so enthusiastic as you are, though.

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Similar offers for Cloud Atlas - David Mitchell »

1 to 3 out of 3 similar offers for Cloud Atlas - David Mitchell
Cloud Atlas by Mitchell, David 1st (first) Edition (2004) - Sceptre

Cloud Atlas by Mitchell, David 1st (first) Edition (2004) - Sceptre

Status: New - By the author of THE THOUSAND AUTUMNS OF JACOB DE ZOET, David Mitchell's ... more

bestselling and Booker Prize-shortlisted novel was
one of Richard & Judy's 100 Books of the Decade
and has now been made into a major motion picture
starring Tom Hanks, Halle Berry, Susan Sarandon,
Jim Sturgess, Ben Whishaw, Jim Broadbent and Hugh
Grant    A reluctant voyager crossing the Pacific
in 1850; a disinherited composer blagging a
precarious livelihood in between-the-wars Belgium;
a high-minded journalist in Governor Reagans
California; a vanity publisher fleeing his
gangland creditors; a genetically modified dinery
server on death-row; and Zachry, a young Pacific
Islander witnessing the nightfall of science and
civilisation the narrators of CLOUD ATLAS hear
each others echoes down the corridor of history,
and their destinies are changed in ways great and
small.    In his extraordinary third novel, David
Mitchell erases the boundaries of language, genre
and time to offer a meditation on humanity's
dangerous will to power, and where it may lead us.

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace books
Postage & Packaging:  £4.00
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Cloud Atlas (Modern Library) by Mitchell, David on 20/11/2012 unknown edition - Modern Library

Cloud Atlas (Modern Library) by Mitchell, David on 20/11/2012 unknown edition - Modern Library

Status: New - Hardcover, Modern Library

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace books
Postage & Packaging:  £4.00
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

David Mitchell Collection 3 Books Set, (Black swan Green, number 9bream and cloud atlas) - Sceptre

David Mitchell Collection 3 Books Set, (Black swan Green, number 9bream and cloud atlas) - Sceptre

Status: New - David Mitchell Collection 3 Books Set, (Black swan Green, number 9bream and ... more

cloud atlas)

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace books
Postage & Packaging:  £2.80
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Product Information »

Product details

Type Fiction
Genre Modern Fiction
Title Cloud Atlas
Author David Mitchell
ISBN 0340822775; 0340822783; 0340832371; 0340833203; 0375507256; 0676974945

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Cloud Atlas - David Mitchell has been rated:

"very helpful" by (96%):

  1. euphie
  2. Antnic78
  3. kimbahop

and 42 other members

"helpful" by (4%):

  1. TheChocolateLady
  2. pyela1

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Close Your Eyes - Ewan Morrison

Close Your Eyes - Ewan Morrison

(+) A beautiful thoughtful book that still manages to be riveting
(-) None

User reviews (1)

Buy now for only £ 3.59

The China Bird - Bryony Doran

The China Bird - Bryony Doran

(+) Character driven and beautifully written
(-) None

User reviews (1)

Buy now for only £ 4.89



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Cloud Atlas - David Mitchell? Click here