Review of "Cobra SZ 440 Conforming Driver"

published 17/07/2007 | roberto900
Member since : 25/06/2007
Reviews : 15
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Excellent
Pro Large Clubhead, Huge "Sweet Zone", Very Forgiving, Long
Cons Make sure you don't buy the "unlimited" version
very helpful
Durability
Comfort
Control
Value for Money

"Cobra 440 SZ - Forgiving, Accurate and Long!"

I purchased this driver about 18 months ago when it was reasonably new to the market and have being impressed with it ever since. It is attractive to look at and inspires confidence at address with a large clubhead and great design.

Cobra have forged a name for themselves in the driver and fairway woods market in recent times and are widely renowned as a great club for length and forgivness: the 440 SZ is no exception. Although it is not the most recent in the Cobra series having being overtaken by newer models such as the "Speed" drivers and the new LD models, the 440 SZ is still a fantastic club and well worth a look at a much lower price than the most recent of additions. The club is available at around £100 and can be found for around £60/£70 on eBay having originally retailed at £249.

Without a doubt the most outstanding feature of this club is the extra accuracy that it gives players. Named the SZ due to its huge "Sweet Zone" the club is appropriately named as the margin for error on off-centre hits is exceptional and the length of drive is unaffected by this. A very forgiving club indeed.

The standard shaft that comes with the 440 SZ is a Cobra/Graphite Design YS-5.1 and I got along very well with the regular stiffness and it was only improvement of my game that caused me to upgrade to an Aldila NV 65 with stiff shaft which has been a remarkable improvement to my kit!

The grip that the standard club comes equipped with is a very respectable Golf Pride Tour Velvet 50D which I have had no complaints with. It is durable and good even in adverse weather conditions.

The club conforms with the new R&A ruling for 2008 regarding club head size but be aware when purchasing that there is also an "illegal" version of the club which is set apart by the word "Unlimited" written on the bottom of the club - the unlimited version will be made illegal in competition in January 2008.

In conclusion, I believe that anyone looking for a new driver, whether it be accuracy, distance or consistancy that they desire, should give the 440 SZ a chance. It may not be the newest of models but it is as good a driver as I have hit and at under £100 is a complete bargain too!

Community evaluation

This review was read 3829 times and was rated at
88% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • Craigshadow12 published 24/07/2007
    Love the review!. Top quality!
  • Miskah published 17/07/2007
    An interesting and informative review.♥Beth.
  • nuttynaomi published 17/07/2007
    great review. ~Naomi xx~
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Cobra SZ 440 Conforming Driver

Manufacturer's product description

Golf Club, Golf Clubs

Product Details

Long Name: SZ 440 Conforming Driver, SZ 440 Conforming L/H Driver

Type: Golf Club, Golf Clubs

Manufacturer: Cobra

Golf Club Type: Woods & Drivers

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 05/09/2005