Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE

Community images

Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE

Audio quality: 24 bit. Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR): 100 dB. Audio channels: 7.1. Minimum RAM: 128 MB. Minimum processor: Pentium III 1.0 GHz. Compatib...

> Show product information

73% positive

4 reviews from the community

Review of "Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE"

published 08/07/2007 | Pigfacespeaks
Member since : 08/07/2007
Reviews : 4
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Not for me
Pro Lots of software
Cons Constant rebooting needed on a high end PC
helpful
Stability
Sound quality
Ease of use
Speed
Instruction manual

"Buy at your peril"

This sound card came with my new PC in nov 06.it was a troublesome card from the start, lots of unnecessary software on the disk that is no particular use unless you want to alter all kinds of EAX settings.
On games like oblivion it would grind to a halt after five minutes with shuddering sound that rendered the game unplayable, this happened with lots of other games too.
If you use youtube or similar you may experience that after the 3rd or fourth video is clicked on will start making the sound stutter again, always resulting in the need to reboot the computer.
I struggled for a couple of months trying to find the issue with this even with clean booting, I am a very experienced PC user and my PC is high end, all the drivers were updated and my system is clean so it was not a hardware issue.
I installed a SB 16 bit soundcard which then ran absolutely perfectly.
After searching online I found that many were having issues similar to mine with this card and had ditched it while others seemed happy with it.
I suspect that it is simply a "fickle" card that is kind a lottery in wether it will work or not, so please be warned the sound for me was distorted and scratchy and slowed down applications and eventually ground a dual core P2.4g 4 meg of ram Gforce 8800GTX to a halt and would only be corrected by constant reboots.
I am still currently using my nine year old 16 bit soundcard with no problems at all which is better than my onboard sound, despite my onboard sound performing better than the Audigy!

Community evaluation

This review was read 3279 times and was rated at
75% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
helpful

Comments on this review

  • winter_shadows published 08/07/2007
    a bit short
  • Miskah published 08/07/2007
    an interesting review
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE

Manufacturer's product description

Audio quality: 24 bit. Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR): 100 dB. Audio channels: 7.1. Minimum RAM: 128 MB. Minimum processor: Pentium III 1.0 GHz. Compatible operating systems: Windows 2000 SP4, Windows XP SP1, Windows XP Pro x64. Interface type: PCI.

Product Details

Product Description: Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE - sound card

Device Type: Sound card

Enclosure Type: Internal

Interface Type: PCI

Signal Processor: Creative Audigy SE

Sound Output Mode: 7.1 channel surround

DAC Resolution: 24-bit

Sample Rate: 8 kHz (min) - 96 kHz (max)

Signal-To-Noise Ratio: 100 dB

System Requirements: Microsoft Windows XP SP1, Microsoft Windows 2000 SP4, Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition

Manufacturer Warranty: 2 years warranty

Package Type: OEM, Retail, Bulk

Packaged Quantity: 20 (specifications are for single item)

General

MPN: 70SB057002000, 30SB057000004, 30SB057000004 OEM, 70SB057002003, 30SB057000000, 70SB057002001

Device Type: Sound card

Form Factor: Internal

Interface Type: PCI

Packaged Quantity: 20 (specifications are for single item)

Processor / Memory

Signal Processor: Creative Audigy SE

Audio Output

Sound Output Mode: 7.1 channel surround

DAC Resolution: 24-bit

Sample Rate: 8 kHz (min) - 96 kHz (max)

Signal-To-Noise Ratio: 100 dB

Voice Poliphony Qty: 64

Frequency Response: 10 - 40000 Hz

Compliant Standards: EAX 3.0

Audio Modes: Record : 24-bit 96 kHz - 100 dB ¦ Playback : 24-bit 96 kHz 7.1 - 100 dB

Expansion / Connectivity

Interfaces: 1 x SPDIF input/line-in/microphone - mini-phone 3.5mm ¦ 1 x audio line-in - 4 PIN MPC ¦ 1 x audio line-out/headphones - mini-phone stereo 3.5 mm ¦ 1 x speakers (rear/right surround) - mini-phone stereo 3.5 mm ¦ 1 x speakers (center/subwoofer/left surround) - mini-phone stereo 3.5 mm

Software / System Requirements

Software: Creative MediaSource, Creative Software Suite

OS Required: Microsoft Windows XP SP1, Microsoft Windows 2000 SP4, Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition

System Requirements Details: Celeron - 1 GHz - RAM 128 MB

Manufacturer Warranty

Service & Support: 2 years warranty

Service & Support Details: Limited warranty - 2 years

Miscellaneous

Package Type: OEM, Retail, Bulk

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 28/05/2006

Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE - Review - Buy at your peril
Home > Computers > Components > Cards > Sound Cards > Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE > Reviews

Pigfacesp... 1

Pigfacespeaks

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:08.07.2007

Reviews:4

Quote-start

Buy at your peril

Quote-end
08.07.2007

Advantages:
Lots of software

Disadvantages:
Constant rebooting needed on a high end PC

Recommendable No:

Detailed rating:

Stability

Sound quality

Ease of Installation

Speed

Value For Money

Ease of useSatisfactory

Instruction manualNeeds improvement

Manufacturer SupportNeeds improvement

4 Ciao members have rated this review on average: helpful See ratings
very helpful by (25%):
  1. lisarichardson18
  2. johnphilip
helpful by (75%):
  1. christianfilmcritic
  2. winter_shadows
  3. spottydog2
and 3 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on

This sound card came with my new PC in nov 06.it was a troublesome card from the start, lots of unnecessary software on the disk that is no particular use unless you want to alter all kinds of EAX settings.
On games like oblivion it would grind to a halt after five minutes with shuddering sound that rendered the game unplayable, this happened with lots of other games too.
If you use youtube or similar you may experience that after the 3rd or fourth video is clicked on will start making the sound stutter again, always resulting in the need to reboot the computer.
I struggled for a couple of months trying to find the issue with this even with clean booting, I am a very experienced PC user and my PC is high end, all the drivers were updated and my system is clean so it was not a hardware issue.
I installed a SB 16 bit soundcard which then ran absolutely perfectly.
After searching online I found that many were having issues similar to mine with this card and had ditched it while others seemed happy with it.
I suspect that it is simply a "fickle" card that is kind a lottery in wether it will work or not, so please be warned the sound for me was distorted and scratchy and slowed down applications and eventually ground a dual core P2.4g 4 meg of ram Gforce 8800GTX to a halt and would only be corrected by constant reboots.
I am still currently using my nine year old 16 bit soundcard with no problems at all which is better than my onboard sound, despite my onboard sound performing better than the Audigy!

  Write your own review

Share this review on

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Report a problem with this reviews content

Comments about this review »

winter_shadows 08.07.2007 23:20

a bit short

Miskah 08.07.2007 22:29

an interesting review

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

Post comment

Product Information

Manufacturer's product description

Audio quality: 24 bit. Signal-to-Noise Ratio (SNR): 100 dB. Audio channels: 7.1. Minimum RAM: 128 MB. Minimum proce...

General

MPN 70SB057002000, 30SB057000004, 30SB057000004 OEM, 70SB057002003, 30SB057000000, 70SB057002001
Device Type Sound card
Form Factor Internal

Processor / memory

Signal Processor Creative Audigy SE

Show all Product Information

More reviews

Review Ratings

This review of Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE has been rated:

"very helpful" by (25%):

  1. lisarichardson18
  2. johnphilip

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE? Click here