Damn Right, I've Got the Blues - Buddy Guy

Community images

Damn Right, I've Got the Blues - Buddy Guy

1 CD(s) - Chicago Blues - Label: Silvertone Records, Silvertone - Distributor: Sony Music/Arvato Services - Released: 18/09/2004 - 5013705901621

> Show product information

100% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Damn Right, I've Got the Blues - Buddy Guy"

published 17/01/2009 | jcneil
Member since : 16/07/2004
Reviews : 563
Members who trust : 51
About me :
Hi everyone, I am 30 and I mostly write music reviews on here, I also do the odd fragrance review. I used to write on dooyoo but have switched to writing on just ciao now. I will be trying to write a couple of reviews every two days.
Excellent
Pro Guitar, vocals
Cons Only ten tracks??????
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Damn right he's got talent"

1.) Damn Right I've Got The Blues

As an opening track this is just superb. It really draws you in for the rest of the album with it's awesome blues melody and aggressive guitar playing with Buddy's incredible vocals making the song just astonishing. If you have ever seen him perform this on Later with Jools Holland or any other Music show then you will know just how talented he is. An awesome start to the album.

2.) Where is the next one coming from?

This is another track which showcases his superb guitar playing. Although his vocals are not as powerful as they are on Damn Right I've got the blues they still give you an indication of his vocal talent. A very flowing track which has very good use of the bass guitar throught the melody.

3.) Five Long Years

This is a superb cover of BB King's classic track. To be honest I slightly prefer BB King's original but this is also a very fine version indeed which benefits from Buddy's Trademark guitar sounds. Not often do you get two artists versions of one song that are as good as these two are.

4.) Mustang Sally

An energetic cover of the Mack Rice original. This is a very lively track. Other artists to record this track include Solomon Burke, Sam and Dave, Wilson Picket and Muddy Waters. I really like the flow of this version and it also has a very dynamic quality to it which just adds to the appeal of the track.

5.) There is something on your mind

Big Jay McNeely originally performed this track and BB King has also recorded his own version of the track. This slow Blues melody combines with the vocals from Buddy to create a fantastic song which is touching both musically and vocally aswell as lyrically.

6.) Early In The Morning

This track features a jazzy big band blues style with Buddy's high pitched guitar tones. This is not the best track on the album due to it's shorter length at 3 minutes 11 seconds but features enough of Buddy Guy and Eric Clapton on guitar aswell as a very fine female vocal backing throught the track.

7.) Too Broke To Spend The Night

This has more than a nod to Stevie Ray Vaughan but still keeps that eruption vocally and on the guitar that is unmistably Buddy Guy. The vocals are up to the incredible standard of opening title track Damn Right I've Got The Blues. Another incredible track that just oozes the blues.

8.) Black Night

This is a fantastic track which has some gentle guitar sounds and the sound of the organ that are just gut wrenching. This is just an incredible track which shows just how good a guitarist and singer he is. Damn Right I've got the blues and Black Night are the best tracks on this album.

9.) Let Me Love You Baby

This is a very catchy fast paced Blues track which finds Buddy Guy in fine vocal form and he also provides ample evidence of his guitar talent. This is the Buddy Guy of his earlier career. A fine extended guitar solo adds a fine touch on the track.

10.) Rememberin' Stevie

This is a fabulous tribute to Stevie Ray Vaughan who was a fan of Buddy Guy aswell as a good friend before his death a year before the album was released. Stevie was well known for his instrumentals and this is a fine instrumental which has Buddy playing around with a combination of a Stevie Ray Vaughan sound and his own sound.

**Overall**

This is a very fine album indeed that shows that Buddy Guy is one of most legendary musiciains of all time and also one of the greatest vocalists of all time too. The standout tracks on the album have to be the awesome title track, Black Night and the closing Rememberin Stevie. That said there are no bad tracks on the album and this is a very fine effort indeed that ranks as one of his best ever albums and one of the best blues albums of the 1990's.

Also posted on Dooyoo as Lakerfanster

Community evaluation

This review was read 653 times and was rated at
100% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • Seresecros published 18/01/2009
    The definitive blues guitarist. Great review.
  • MI9to5 published 17/01/2009
    Lovely review. xx
  • thereddragon published 17/01/2009
    Agreed, Buddy Guy is one of the all-time greats. Good review.
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Damn Right, I've Got the Blues - Buddy Guy"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Damn Right, I've Got the Blues - Buddy Guy

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Chicago Blues - Label: Silvertone Records, Silvertone - Distributor: Sony Music/Arvato Services - Released: 18/09/2004 - 5013705901621

Product Details

EAN: 5013705901621

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 28/10/2011