Disc-Overy (Parental Advisory) [PA] - Tinie Tempah

Community images

Disc-Overy (Parental Advisory) [PA] - Tinie Tempah

1 CD(s) - Rap, Hip Hop / Rap - Label: Parlophone - Distributor: EMI Operations/CEVA Logistics - Released: 04/10/2010 - 5099990651328, 5099991775627

> Show product information

90% positive

4 reviews from the community

Review of "Disc-Overy (Parental Advisory) [PA] - Tinie Tempah"

published 04/03/2011 | hailee
Member since : 11/10/2002
Reviews : 217
Members who trust : 17
About me :
Heya, I am Hailee, 24 and I love shopping, clothes, make up, books, perfume and wrestling. So expect a lot of reviews on these things. I also play a lot of games so they will be here too. My reviews can also be found on Dooyoo.
Excellent
Pro Good tunes, nice beats, cheap to buy
Cons Some songs are not so great
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"A Star In The Making"

I first heard of Tinie Tempah when he released his single Pass Out last year. My sister first introduced me to the song, and although it is not my usual type of music, I really enjoyed it. I had heard a few more songs of his over the year, and enjoyed them all, so I decided to get his album Disc-Overy.

The album has 13 tracks on, all of which contain "explicit lyrics" so this is a parental advisory album, and I would not recommend letting anyone under the age of 14 or 15 listen to it. The CD was released in October 2010, so it is still some what of a new album, and not all the tracks on it have been released as singles as of yet.

The first track on the album is an intro, and is also called Intro. This is just a quick starter to the album, and there isn't really much to say on it. It is 2 and a half minutes long, which by my standards is quite long for an intro track, but it is quite good to listen to and some what enjoyable.

The second song is Simply Unstoppable. This track has not been released as a single as of yet, so it is not one of Tinies well known tracks, but when you listen to it, you can truly hear that it is a Tinie Tempah song. It has his signature style, and I think this is quite a good track to dance around the house to, as it has a great bass beat and some good lyrical sounds.

The third track is Pass Out. This track is Tinie's debut single and one that made him into the superstar he is. This is a real feel good track, with an awesome drum and bass style to the back beat. Once you have listened to this song, you will be humming it all day. Brilliant summer and party tune, this one has it all!

The fourth track is Illusion. I do like this track, but out of the whole album I can take or leave this one. It does have a good beat and some good lyrics, but there is nothign special to say about it, and in comparison to some of his other songs, it could be considered to be a little bit weak.

The fifth track is entitled Just A Little, and it features Range. This is more of a better song, with a brilliant beat and I love dancing to this track. I really like the way this song flows, and the way that the lyrics fit with the beat show a real skill in song writing on this track.

The sixth track is Snap. This is another of the tracks that is really nothing special, but it is nothing bad either. It fits well with the style of the album, and has some good melodies in it, but that is pretty much all it has going for it, Maybe good as a background tune when reading or something like that.

The seventh track is Written in the Stars and features Eric Turner. This is my favorite track on the album, and it is going to be the main tune for WWE Wrestlemania this year! It is a brilliant song, which mixes rap with a tuneful melody and a piano harmony. The beat to this is beautiful and I love singing along to this song. The styles of Tinie and Eric work well together, and it makes the song truly something to love listening to.

The eighth track is Frisky, featuring Labyrinth and is another song that has been released as a single. A bit different to some of his other stuff, but quite a catchy tune that I do find gets stuck in my head rather easily. This is a good tune to dance to, and mixes a couple of different styles of rap and hip hop, but it really works.

The ninth track is Miami To Ibiza, which is my second favorite on the album. It is a good, upbeat dance tune which makes you feel good. It flows really well, and is a big hit on dancefloors in clubs. It is a proper summer tune, and I can't wait to listen to this whilst sitting in the sunshine.

Tenth we have Obsession, which is a slightly more melodic song, but still has a good bass beat to it. The lyrical stylings are slightly different in this track in comparison to Tinie's other songs, but it is still a good track that is fun to listen to on road trips. I do not think this song is brilliant, but I still like it.

The eleventh track is Invincible, featuring Kelly Rowland. On first hearing this track, I wasn't too keen it but it has grown on me now. I still would not say this is a great track, but it is ok. I think maybe Kelly and Tinie's styles do not mix too well, but it does somewhat work.

The twelfth track is called Wonderman and it features Ellie Goulding. This is his latest single, which has only just been released. It has a bit more of a modern, space age feel to the song, and is more rap than some of his other work. It does flow well, but it is not a song I am greatly keen on.

The final track on the album is called Let Go and features Emeli Sande (I have no idea who that is!) and whilst it is a good track, I do not think much of it and this is another of those tracks that I could have playing in the background whilst I am doing other things. I do not really have much to say about this one.


All in all, this is a good album that is mostly full of good tracks. A couple of the tracks let it down a little bit, but not in a way that makes me regret buying it. The music style of Tinie Tempah is not the sort of music I usually listen to, but I do like his music and the songs on this album are good for me to listen to.

I feel that there is some good talent inside Tinie, and this is shown quite well on this album. There is a good range of style in the songs, with a fair bit of skill shown in each one, from lyrical ability to vocal range.

I bought my copy of this album from Amazon, for £7.95 which is a total bargain for a good album such as this one. You can also buy it from HMV and a few other online stores, but you would be paying over £11 for the exact same album. I recommend this album, and if you are going to buy it, save yourself some cash and buy it from Amazon, as it really is the cheapest place to buy it from.

5 out of 5 stars from me.

*This review is also on Dooyoo under the user name of Stufflover*

Community evaluation

This review was read 247 times and was rated at
88% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • Amy69 published 04/03/2011
    Well written x
  • lilloulfc published 04/03/2011
    nice review
  • pennywa published 04/03/2011
    You might want to amend your very last sentence ... 5 out of how many stars?? xxxx
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Disc-Overy (Parental Advisory) [PA] - Tinie Tempah

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Rap, Hip Hop / Rap - Label: Parlophone - Distributor: EMI Operations/CEVA Logistics - Released: 04/10/2010 - 5099990651328, 5099991775627

Product Details

EAN: 5099990651328, 5099991775627

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011