Disney Frozen Elsa Animator Collection Toddler Doll

Community images

Disney Frozen Elsa Animator Collection Toddler Doll

Fashion Doll - For ages: 3 Years +

> Show product information

80% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Disney Frozen Elsa Animator Collection Toddler Doll"

published 06/09/2017 | sellerleygirl
Member since : 15/02/2015
Reviews : 941
Members who trust : 120
About me :
♬ •♩ All we need is rates!! •♩ Everybody!!•♩ All we need is rates!! ♩ •♬
Super
Pro Beautiful doll, great for collectors
Cons Stains easily from clothes.
exceptional
Durability
Value for Money
Quality

"This is one Elsa that you won't want to let it go."

Disney Frozen Elsa Animator Collection Toddler Doll

Disney Frozen Elsa Animator Collection Toddler Doll

Disney Frozen Elsa


Animator Collection Toddler Doll

About 4 months ago, my little granddaughter received an unexpected present off her great aunt.
My sister does not have any children of her own, and often she will randomly give my children of grandchildren presents – which have ranged from holidays to Jamaica and Barbados to a paddling pool!
Although she has no children, her home is full of Barbie dolls – she collects them! These are not ANY Barbie dolls, they are all collectable and boxed and in pristine condition and they are in EVERY room of her house – they must be worth thousands of pounds!!
Earlier this year she bought a job lot of dolls at auction, in this lot was a boxed Elsa Animator Collection Toddler Doll. Jackie gave this doll to Olivia with the words “If you keep her in the box she will soon be worth a lot of money!”; Olivia’s itchy fingers lasted two days before she ripped open the box and played with her new dolly – don’t tell her Auntie Jackie!!

What are Animator Collection Toddler Dolls

In 2011, the Disney Store introduced their line of 16'' dolls of the Disney Princesses re-imagined as toddlers by the Walt Disney animators – they called this the Animator Collection. The dolls were physically nothing like the characters they represented from the films, they had adorable wide-eyed expressions and tubby tummies; the original line included Snow White, Cinderella, Aurora, Ariel, Belle, Jasmine, Pocahontas, Mulan, Tiana, and Rapunzel.
Since then there have been two more editions of the doll, the second edition had the dolls wearing ‘normal’ clothes but based on the colour scheme and design of the characters dresses on the films the newest edition has reverted to the dolls dressed in clothes from the film. This third edition, released in 2014, included Elsa, Anna and Kristoff from Frozen and all the dolls have their own little toy.
The dolls have details about the animator who created the characters written on the back of the box.
The Elsa Animator Collection Toddler Doll

The only Animator doll I have had any dealings with is the Elsa one, so here are the details for the Ice Queen!

The Packaging

Our young Elsa comes in a plastic and cardboard ‘collectors’ box measuring around 17” x 7” x 6”; the front and sides of the box lets you see the full doll and at the bottom of the front of the box is an animated picture of a young Elsa, her name and the Disney Animator Collection logo. It is the back of the box that is the most interesting, it features photographs of the three animators most responsible for Frozen (so you know who to blame folks!!) - Wayne Unten, Bill Schwab and Jin Kim. Written a notebook-like page are the words:

"Celebrate the Heritage of Disney Animation with the Disney Animator's Collection, created under the guidance of Disney's most renowned animators, these young renditions of your favourite characters are brought to life with creativity and imagination. Supervising Animator for Disney's Frozen, Wayne Unten is an accomplished animator with credits including Tangled, Wreck-it Ralph, and Bolt. In his animation work, Unten strives to breathe life into his characters to make them believable and entertaining. Character design supervisor for Disney’s Frozen, Bill Schwab is an award-winning character designer credited on many Disney hits including Tangled and Wreck-it Ralph. Schwab began drawing at an early age and was further inspired by a Disney animation book he received on his 15th birthday. Integral in bringing the Frozen characters to life on the big screen, Jin Kim is an accomplished character designer with credits including Tangled, Wreck-it Ralph, and The Princess and the Frog. Beginning his illustration career in Korea, Kim joined Walt Disney animation studios in 1995."

I can certainly see my sister’s advice for keeping this doll intact in the box was probably the best!
The Doll

Inside the box and VERY securely fastened (more details in ‘My Opinion’) is a 16” blue eyed and blonde vinyl toddler Elsa.
She is wearing a teal dress with flower and shape decor in different colours, a black headband, teal coloured tights, black plastic shoes with blue flower decoration and she is carrying a plush snowman – Olaf, of course.
She has classic baby doll movement, her head can turn and nod, her arms have a limited up/down movement on the side and can go forward and backward. Her body does not twist and her legs go up and down, but her tights restrict their movement. She usually needs to be propped to stand, but she probably can sit down. Elbows, hands, knees, and ankles do not bend and her eyes and thick eyelashes are painted and don't close. Her blonde hair is done into a neat French braid and is super silky and soft. Under her clothes Elsa has a tummy button and blue plastic painted panties.
She is not recommended for under 3’s.

Her Clothes

Her black satin headband is attached with a thread and has a Velcro closure underneath her hair, and it is removable if the threads on her head are carefully cut.
Her dress appears to be the one that Elsa wore in the beginning of "Do You Want to Build a Snowman", when both girls were at their youngest. The only difference is that in the film, Elsa wore a blue jacket over the dress.
The dress has the appearance of a two-piece and even has layers of material, but it is all sewn together and comes off as one piece. It fastens at the back with Velcro closure and has a satin ribbon (which is just for show and not functional). Elsa is wearing pale blue tights and black plastic shoes with little blue flowers on the top.
Manufacturer’s Details

• Posable limbs
• Realistic hair
• Satin headband
• Wears satin dress over a puff sleeve top
• Patterned bodice and hem
• Satin waistband
• Co-ordinating shoes and tights
• Comes with Olaf the snowman satin soft toy
• H40cm approx
• Suitable for children aged 3 years+
• Warning: not suitable under 36 months due to small parts
• Created for Disney Store

My Opinion

I am once again starting with the packaging, the box did not last as long as Auntie Jackie would have liked but I did get a good look at it, there is one thing that I loved was the history and details about the animator. However, getting the doll out was the normal problem!
To open the box, you simply needed to open the tape at the top part of the boxes and pull the display cardboard up – so far easy!
Elsa’s feet were connected by twist ties to the bottom part of the display cardboard, these needed removing. It was though, the back of the cardboard is where most of Elsa’s parts were attached. Her hair was attached with threads at the back and her head was also attached from the back with a plastic fastener so you have to cut the fastener to avoid it from sticking out from the head and hurting the child. The bottom of her dress was connected to the back with a plastic fastener; untying the knotted twist ties was the hardest and most time-consuming part of detaching the dolls from the cardboard.
I can see now why my sister leaves her Barbie’s in their boxes!!!

As for the doll, she is adorable! I think that Disney have done a wonderful job in capturing this young character in doll form. She has a sweet expression, pretty and colourful clothing and is very authentic to the young Elsa on the film.; she has a simplistic and classic style and you can definitely tell it is Elsa even without the usual ice blue snow dress on.

There are so many little details that I love- especially her shoes. There is so many extra details on her shoes – not just the pretty little blue flowers on the top but the stitching details on the sole (see pictures). At first, I thought there was a mistake with the Olaf toy in the box, I said to Olivia his carrot nose was missing, and I got the ‘stupid Nana’ look – she explained to me that in the film when Elsa goes to the North Mountain and sings ‘Let it Go’, she makes her snowman (Olaf) without a nose, so that’s me told! that they should make Olaf have a nose.

Olivia has loved the doll, it is the perfect size to go in all her Baby Annabelle things like bath, cot etc and she has played with it a lot. Naturally Elsa’s hair does not look the same now, Oliv ia has taken out the braid and brushed it into a pony tail!

I there anything I don’t like about the doll?

1. Unfortunately, the dark material of the headband left quite a dark stain on Elsa's head _ see pictures...
2. I was surprised to find tissue paper on Elsa’s body under her clothes and wondered why they did that? Then I found out – the dye has a tendency to come out of the doll’s clothes and stain the doll’s body.
3. While satin on Elsa’s dress looks pretty, it does fray and snag easily and there is already some signs of wear on her dress after a few months play
Aside from these minor issues, the doll is really lovely and I I would recommend her to any Frozen and doll/toy fan or collector.
Price and Availability

You can buy Elsa from the Disney Store for £20.95, she is also available on Amazon and E Bay but she is more expensive there – generally around the £30 mark.

Would I Recommend?

This is my first experience of one of these Animator Collection Toddler Dolls and I have to say I was very impressed - I think that they are both perfect for a collector or for a child as a plaything.

She is a beautiful doll that seems to be sturdy and strong and well up to being played with. She is excellent quality at a very good price when you see the price of some other dolls on the market today. She doesn’t wee or cry, she’s just a good old fashioned lovable doll.
For the Frozen fan, she is very accurate with beautiful detailed blue dress and headband and her hair in a braid and even has the added bonus of the nose-less Olaf!

For a collector she is wonderful, she looks good in the box and the drawings and writing on her box make her perfect for any collection.
Pictures

1. Elsa – out of the box
2. Elsa – in the box
3. Olivia was very happy to release Elsa!
4. Her shoes and tights
5. Details on the base of her feet
6. Olaf (with no carrot nose)
7. Elsa naked – with her blue painted panties
8. The stain from the head band – has not come off!
9. The back of the box
10. A nightmare to get into!!


Thanks for reading I do hope that this review has been of some help!

© Sellerleygirl September 2017


Community evaluation

This review was read 85 times and was rated at
96% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
exceptional

Comments on this review

  • ravingreviewer published 09/09/2017
    Oops, E - sorry about that!
  • ravingreviewer published 09/09/2017
    vh
  • CGholy published 08/09/2017
    looks cute
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Disney Frozen Elsa Animator Collection Toddler Doll

Manufacturer's product description

Fashion Doll - For ages: 3 Years +

Product Details

Manufacturer: Disney

Type: Fashion Doll

Character: Frozen

Age: 3 Years +

EAN: 411047249633

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 17/08/2017