Eliminators (DVD)

Community images

Eliminators (DVD)

> Show product information

60% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Eliminators (DVD)"

published 09/09/2017 | sellerleygirl
Member since : 15/02/2015
Reviews : 945
Members who trust : 120
About me :
♬ •♩ All we need is rates!! •♩ Everybody!!•♩ All we need is rates!! ♩ •♬
Good
Pro A decent action thriller.
Cons Rather predictable, nothing special about this film
exceptional
Did you enjoy it?
Story
Characters / Performances
Special Effects
Soundtrack

"High kicks , tension and chases galore."

Eliminators (DVD)

Eliminators (DVD)

-•- Eliminators-•-


-• Film Only Review -•-

-•- Genre-•-

• Action

-• -The Tagline -•-

A former Agent. A lethal assassin. GAME ON
-• Film-•-

'Eliminators' is a direct to video 2016 American action thriller film directed by James Nunn, that is set in London.

Film Details

Directed by James Nunn
Produced by James Harris
Written by Nathan Brookes and Bobby Lee Darby
Cinematography Luke Bryant
Release date 11th October 2016
Running time 94 minutes
Country United States
Language English
-• The Trailer •-

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt4587366/videoplayer/vi953267737?ref_=tt_pv_vi_aiv_1

-• -The Story -•-

The story opens in modern day London, where we see widowed Thomas McKenzie (played by Scott Adkins) who is posing as a security guard called Martin Parker working as a parking garage attendant for Hurstbank Security and looking after his young daughter, Carly (played by Lily Ann Stubbs) Things go wrong when, after tucking Carly up for the night, three ski-masked men mistakenly break into his flat. Little did they realise that their victim was like a cross between Jackie Chan and Jean-Claude Van Damme, this fatal error resulted in Parker/McKenzie being arrested with the police not realising that Thomas was actually a former US Federal Agent who had been placed in witness protection in London by the FBI.

Handcuffed to his hospital bed, Thomas is worried about his daughter; will he manage to escape and get his daughter back? Fortunately, Tom gets some much needed assistance from his close friend and fellow FBI agent, Ray Monroe, played by Daniel Caltagirone.

How will these two men cope against the strength of The Bishop?
Just what is the real baddie (Played by James Cosmo), Mr Cooper’s interest in Thomas and Carly?
-• -The Main Cast -•-

Scott Adkins as Thomas McKenzie / Martin Parker
Wade Barrett as George "Bishop" Edwards
Daniel Caltagirone as Ray Monroe
James Cosmo as Charles Cooper
Mem Ferda as Giordani
Ty Glaser as Stacey
Olivia Mace as Hannah
Lily Ann Harland-Stubbs as Carly
Stephen Marcus as George
Bruce Johnson as Agent Reid
Sean Cronin as Big Boss Man

-• -My Opinion -•-

From the cast list, I thought that I only knew James Cosmo, however the lead character, played by Scott Adkins, looked very familiar. When I looked him up, I found that he wasn’t actually American and had acted in Holby City seven years ago! My son (a closet WWE fan) also informed me that Wade Barrett who plays George "Bishop" Edwards is an ex WWE wrestler AKA as Stu Bennet.
Interestingly, this film comes from WWE Studios so this would explain why the majority of the film involves Scott Adkins going head to head with Wade Barrett in the action thriller as they play a cat and mouse game around London

‘Eliminators’ is obviously a low budget film and pretty predictable, but it does offer a decent hour and a half viewing and offers a mixture of family drama, witness protection gone wrong, and action chases. It is quite well paced too; the family component is introduced first in order to introduce us to our hero’s predicament before he is plunged into an almost non-stop confrontation with “The Bishop’s” intimidating expertise. There is certainly a lot of tension amongst the couple’s chase across London, including a fight inside one of the gondolas on the Thames cable car, and McKenzie gets obstacle after obstacle hurled at him after he escapes.

Adkins, despite his hard man image, is quite vulnerable as the father whose child has been taken from him, and he delivers the passion and despair that anyone can relate to in his non-stop willpower in getting Carly back.

Adkins’ plays the character, Thomas, well, he is believable as a doting father and he knows how to make you root for his character; his American accent is very good – I didn’t realise that he wasn’t an American at first. The rest of the supporting cast are also quite good, especially on the villain front, Wade Barrett, who gives a convincing performance with his imposing voice and physical stature. While he is the physical villain the real villain of the film is Mr Cooper, played by James Cosmo. While Cosmo’s performance in the final few scenes of the film is very affective I did find that he struggled to hide his Scottish accent.

Lovers of action films will revel in the physical fighting in this fil; it took me back to the 80’s and 90’s and Jean-Claude Van Damme’s many films. The physically impressive Barrett is in in excellent shape as he attacks Adkins with a barrage of high kicks and body slams while Adkins retaliates with plenty of flips and kicks that would put Jackie Chan to shame. As well as the martial arts, there is also some shooting sequences in this film that are well staged for the locations in which they transpire. These fights and chases are all very well staged and exciting to watch, with the added benefit that there is a real sense that Adkin’s character might not make it out of the film alive.

Overall, while this film is nothing incredible, it wasted an hour and a half quite entertainingly.

-• Ratings-•-

• IMDb 5.5/10 from 2,164reviews

-•- Critics -•-

• Action-flix: "Eliminators isn't just an action movie, it's a great suspense-thriller at the same time with Adkins and Barrett tearing through the streets of London."

• Weliveentertainment.com: "Between the action, Eliminators takes a tad longer than it needs to for such a familiar plot, but not hard to get through."

• Worldfilmgeek.com: "An interesting plot mixed in with some pretty good action scenes"

• Theintestinalfortitude.com: "An interesting plot mixed in with some pretty good action scenes"

• WhatsonTV: "Blighty-born WWE star Scott Adkins is back on home soil for a brawny action thriller"
-• - How to View - •-

As of 09/09/17, ‘Eliminators ‘can be purchased from Amazon from £4.61 new and £294 used or buy from Amazon Instant Video -£9.99
Some DVDs on Amazon are available for free delivery within the UK and are if you have a Prime account, if neither of these apply add £1.26 for postage
Amazon are currently offering £1.00 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase a DVD or Blu-ray offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies.
Offer ends at 23:59 GMT on Wednesday, December 20, 2017
It is also available free to subscribers on Netflix and id available to Rent £5.49 or on Sky Cinema

-• - The DVD - •-

Because I watched this on Sky Cinema I have no details about the DVD, however I got eh following information on the extras on the DVD from Home Theatre Forum:

• Hand-to-Hand Bishop (6:06, HD): director James Nunn and stars Scott Adkins and Wade Barrett discuss the fight scenes in the movie with fight coordinator Tim Man. The training necessary for the combat and the staging of one fight in a small cable car get special attention.
• Bishop for Hire (3:22, HD): Wade Barrett discusses modifying his combat work for filming in this brief featurette which also has director James Nunn and co-star Scott Adkins praising his efforts in the movie.
• Digital Copy/Ultraviolet: code sheet enclosed in the case.
https://www.hometheaterforum.com/eliminators-blu-ray-review/

-•- In Conclusion - •-

Do I recommend it?

I would say that as a direct-to-video film, 'Eliminators' isn’t that bad of a film. OK, the story has been done before, but the simplicity of the film leaves lots of room for action and Adkins brings the mandatory amount of pounding to the action and Wade Barrett proves to be a worthy, impressive adversary to his polished his fight skills.
If you are a fan of action films, if you like to see the high kicks and martial arts type fighting there is a decent amount to enjoy in this film. The simple concept of a father wanting to protect his child gives a decent backstory and the final baddie showdown makes it worth your time.
You probably won't want to watch this again, so I would say rent it or watch it on Sky!


The film photos are taken from Google and my download from Sky


Thanks for reading I do hope that this review has been of some help!

© Sellerleygirl July 2017


Community evaluation

This review was read 99 times and was rated at
79% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
exceptional

Comments on this review

  • jb0077 published 23/09/2017
    vh
  • euphie published 12/09/2017
    e :o)
  • NBCMad92 published 11/09/2017
    EX
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Eliminators (DVD)"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Eliminators (DVD)

Manufacturer's product description

Product Details

Actor(s): Scott Adkins, Stu Bennet, Daniel Caltagirone

Director(s): James Nunn

DVD Region: DVD

Classification: 15 years and over

Production Year: 2016

EAN: 5060105724145

Video Category: Feature Film

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 07/09/2017