Evolution of Gospel - Sounds of Blackness

Community images

Evolution of Gospel - Sounds of Blackness

1 CD(s) - Contemporary Gospel - Label: Perspective - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 01/10/1991, 10/1991 - 82839536127

> Show product information

80% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Evolution of Gospel - Sounds of Blackness"

published 01/01/2006 | euphena
Member since : 31/12/2005
Reviews : 5
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Super
Pro This gospel group are outstanding!!
Cons None
somewhat helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"A Very Uplifting Gospel Group"

The Sounds of Blackness, was created in 1971, as a traditional American Gospel choir, but their reputation for contempary gospel has made them a popular group to which many a main stream artist would like to work with.

The group is made up of a 50 strong talented vocalists, with the lead artist (Anne Nesby) holding the choir in good esteem. I first stumbled across the Sounds of Blackness on the radio when I heard their singles "Optimistic" and "Pressure (Part 2)". I loved it so much that I rang the radio station to ask for the name of the album. The album was worth every penny.

The music is so uplifting and inspiring and touches and celebrates the different genres of African, Jazz and Gospel music. The artistes celebrate the origins of black music as well as it's influences on the world music scene.


Community evaluation

This review was read 1012 times and was rated at
73% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
somewhat helpful

Comments on this review

  • micheledog published 04/01/2006
    nice review, some more info needed but great early attempt welcome to Ciao michele x
  • COOOEEE published 02/01/2006
    A nicely presented review. I know you are going to update this soon let me know when you have so I can come back and rate it. Fionaxx
  • Nar published 02/01/2006
    What is contemporary gospel and what makes this group easy for artists to work with? More info needed here. Let me know once youve updated your review. Id be interested to know more about why you chose the album and what kind of music this group excel in other than just gospel music.
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Evolution of Gospel - Sounds of Blackness

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Contemporary Gospel - Label: Perspective - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 01/10/1991, 10/1991 - 82839536127

Product Details

EAN: 82839536127

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 28/10/2011