Famous Last Words - My Chemical Romance (Single)

Community images

Famous Last Words - My Chemical Romance (Single)

Single Track from My Chemical Romance - Genre: Alternative - Release Year: 2006

> Show product information

100% positive

1 reviews from the community

Sorry, we couldn't find any offers

Review of "Famous Last Words - My Chemical Romance (Single)"

published 24/03/2013 | Borg
Member since : 16/08/2001
Reviews : 333
Members who trust : 184
About me :
Excellent
Pro Just great
Cons None
very helpful
Originality
Quality of Lyrics/Music
How does it compare to the artist's other releases?

"Famous Last Words"

Famous Last Words - My Chemical Romance (Single)

Famous Last Words - My Chemical Romance (Single)

Please note this is a review of a single from an album and therefore is a brief, to the point review of the song. I have also included the full lyrics for you to sing along to.

On the 22nd March 2013 My Chemical Romance announced on their website in a brief statement that after 12 years they were splitting up.

Whether this is a permanent thing, or if they return under another name as some rumours suggest, only time will tell. Later readers of this review might have an answer. I found this quite sad as over the past six months I have been getting into this punk-pop band from New Jersey. My daughter and I have been collecting their albums and she is always listening to their music, so I guess it hit her more than me. But I am older, I guess, and have known many bands split up and reform, such as Deep Purple or even Take That.

Of all the songs the band recorded, this will always be my all time favourite. It is the song that made me go out and buy The Black Parade album, from which this song arises. It is a good, stomping rock song filled with passion. It leaves you feeling positive, and it has a kick ass chorus too. Its starts with a vocal and guitar intro in which Gerard Way’s vocals are filled with such utter passion. Fine sleazy guitar riff ensues, followed by a stomping, anthem like beat. The all song builds and builds with high passion and fine musicianship.

Of all the songs on the album, this is the most ‘rockiest’ and a lot lighter than songs from their previous two albums. That’s not to say that it doesn't kick arse, though!


The Lyrics:

Now I know that I can't make you stay, But where's your heart?
But where's your heart?, But where's your?
And I know there's nothing I could say, To change that part, To change that part, To change
So many bright lights to cast a shadow, but can I speak?
Well, is it hard understanding I'm incomplete?
A life that's so demanding, I get so weak
A love that's so demanding, I can't speak
I am not afraid to keep on living
I am not afraid to walk this world alone
Honey if you stay, I'll be forgiven
Nothing you could say can stop me going home
Can you see my eyes are shining bright
‘Cause I'm out here on the other side
Of a jet black hotel mirror and I'm so weak
Is it hard understanding I'm incomplete?
A love that's so demanding I get weak
I am not afraid to keep on living
I am not afraid to walk this world alone
Honey if you stay, I'll be forgiven
Nothing you could say can stop me going home
I am not afraid to keep on living
I am not afraid to walk this world alone
Honey if you stay, I'll be forgiven
Nothing you could say can stop me going home
These bright lights have always blinded me
These bright lights have always blinded me
I say…I see you lying next to me
With words I thought I'd never speak
Awake and unafraid
Asleep or dead
(How can I see, I see you lying)
'Cause I see you lying next to me
(How can I see, I see you lying)
With words I thought I'd never speak
(How can I see, I see you lying)
Awake and unafraid
(How can I see, I see you lying)
Asleep or dead!
'Cause I see you lying next to me
With words I thought I'd never speak
Awake and unafraid
Asleep or dead!
'Cause I see you lying next to me
With words I thought I'd never speak
Awake and unafraid
Asleep or dead!
I am not afraid to keep on living
I am not afraid to walk this world alone
(Or dead!)
Honey if you stay, I'll be forgiven
Nothing you can say can stop me going home
(Or dead!)
I am not afraid to keep on living
I am not afraid to walk this world alone
(Or dead!)
Honey if you stay, I'll be forgiven
Nothing you can say can stop me going home
(Or dead!)
I am not afraid to keep on living
I am not afraid to walk this world alone
(Or dead!)
Honey if you stay, I'll be forgiven
Nothing you can say can stop me going home…


The Band:

Frank Iero — rhythm guitar, backing vocals
Ray Toro — lead guitar, backing vocals, acoustic guitar
Gerard Way — lead vocals
Mikey Way — bass guitar
Bob Bryar — drums, percussion



The Famous Last Words single is available on download with another song, My Way Home is Through You.

This is all out punk rock with fine, stomping guitars and gruff voice. A real toe-tapper, this is just ace.

Another version of the single features the song, Kill all your Friends.

This is a slow number and quite a grower. Way’s voice is gruff and full of passion. We have a nice little chorus and it is well worth a listen.


All songs were written by My Chemical Romance.

Released in 2007

View now on YouTube… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8bbTtPL1jRs

Community evaluation

This review was read 886 times and was rated at
87% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • Scotlass712 published 03/03/2015
    I question what the "younger generation" classify as punk these days... (Being an old punk myself, lol), but I do enjoy these guys - although I'd classify them as alternative as opposed to (what I would call) punk! VH!!!
  • cornishchic published 15/10/2014
    vh x
  • ilusvm published 28/07/2013
    Not heard this one - will head over to youtube now!
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Famous Last Words - My Chemical Romance (Single)

Manufacturer's product description

Single Track from My Chemical Romance - Genre: Alternative - Release Year: 2006

Product Details

Artist(s): My Chemical Romance

Title: Famous Last Words

Release Date: 20/10/2006

Genre: Alternative

Rights: 2006 Reprise Records for the U.S. and WEA International Inc. for the world outside the U.S.

Release Year: 2006

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 13/08/2010