Fat of the Land - Prodigy (The)

Community images

Fat of the Land - Prodigy (The)

1 CD(s) - Electronic - Label: XL - Distributor: PIAS UK/Arvato Services - Released: 05/01/2004 - 634904012120

> Show product information

88% positive

25 reviews from the community

Review of "Fat of the Land - Prodigy (The)"

published 13/08/2001 | RussSenior
Member since : 08/08/2001
Reviews : 12
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Super
Pro Its typical prodigy
Cons A bit too rocky in some places
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Lyrics
How does it compare to the artist's other releases

"Its pretty good"

Released in July 1997, I have to say this is a very good album.
Three years on from the populist techno of Music For The Jilted Generation, they are back with another winner. More rock and hip-hop influenced than its predecessors, Fat of the Land sets the pulse racing, fusing big beats with a raving loony attitude. A punk metal song, Fuel my Fire, is very good alongside almost straightforward hip-hop of Diesel Power, while Funky S**t is the nearest in spirit to Music For The Jilted Generation. This is an essential album for people curious about dance music in the late Nineties.
This really is a superb album, and every track is good to listen and dance to, even if they do get a bit loud in some places.

Smack my Bitch Up – A very controversial track because of the video which contained scenes of intercourse, vomiting and drug taking. This track is a good opener and set the tone for the rest of the album. It starts of fairly slow and soft and then the bass suddenly kicks in, magnificent.

Breathe – This song went to Number One, and I can see why. The introduction is menacing and awesome, then suddenly the bass kicks in. The vocals are poor, but that’s not what Prodigy is about. A brilliant track, one of the best on the album.

Diesel Power – This is an odd track for The Prodigy. It is more hip-hop orientated that dance music, but it still works. Its not embarrassing, it has a good beat, and the vocals are suprisingly good for the Prodigy. The same beat continues throughout, and I think this makes it even better.

Funky S**t – I think has to be my favourite track on the album. It jumps straight into the track with “Oh my God, that the Funky S**t”. It’s a fast dance track with an excellent beat. The drums are brilliant throughout. There are very little vocals on the track, and I think this is could, otherwise it could have been spoilt.

Serial Thrilla – I dislike this track and think it is the worst on the track. It starts of with loud high-pitched noise, which puts you off straight away. Then a small guitar solo starts, and it sounds like rock music. I don’t like rock music, and that is what this track is. The vocal and lyrics are very poor and it’s too loud. A poor track which finished with the high pitched noise again.

Mindfields – This is a brilliant track and one of my favourites on the album. IT has a menacing beat at the start, then a soft guitar solo comes on which sets the tone. These two beats continue throughout as other instruments gradually come in. The bass comes in and the song is magnificent. The vocals are OK, but this is cancelled out by the brilliant beat and sounds within the song.

Narayan – This is another odd song. It starts of well with a nice sound, which continues for some time, and you can feel something gradually building up. The beat and bass comes in, and the song is still pretty good. The vocals come in and they are soft and so don’t spoil the track, this tempo continues throughout and the lyrics are also very good. A good track.

Firestarter – Well, what can I say about this? This is another track of the album, which reached number one, and again I can see why. The start is very menacing with the electrical noises, and the beat and bass kicks in and the track just gets better and better. Keith’s vocals are brilliant throughout, as is the beat. One of Prodigy’s best ever tracks, and one of the best on the album.

Climbatize – I like this track. Its starts of very soft as you can hear the music gradually coming in, getting louder and louder, but not too loud. You wonder what is going to happen, and then, this excellent electrical beat comes in and it makes you feel really good. Then a soft bass beat comes in, still not too loud and not to spoil the track. Another instrument comes in, and this is an awesome track. Again probably one of the best on the album. It deserves more credit.

Fuel My Fire – A weird track. There is a strange noise at the start, then a fast bass beat comes in, and then some sorts of vocals come in. It’s another rock track, and its very poor. I think they could have chosen a better track to finish their best album ever with.


Community evaluation

This review was read 1004 times and was rated at
100% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • chocoholic published 13/08/2001
    I love this album, funky sh*t has to be the best track on it!
  • wiggglypufff published 13/08/2001
    I wasn't overly taken with this album, but great review all the same. Thanks, Karen
  • AdamCristos published 13/08/2001
    Russ, Read and rate as well as write, if your read peoples reviews, you will get read too. Just thought id pass on a little something I learnt.
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Fat of the Land - Prodigy (The)

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Electronic - Label: XL - Distributor: PIAS UK/Arvato Services - Released: 05/01/2004 - 634904012120

Product Details

EAN: 634904012120

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 14/06/2000