Autarkis 5

Autarkis

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me: Some more rates on my Flanimals book review would be appreciated, and returned! 23:01.2012: Received autism diagnosis for my precious son. Everyday is magical with my little boy.

Member since:04.12.2008

Reviews:247

Members who trust:250

Quote-start

"Ring Ring" It's For You!

Quote-end
30.05.2009 (01.12.2010)

Advantages:
Traditional long lasting toy, that's great value for money

Disadvantages:
Cord on receiver is a bit short,I'm going to have to cut this off

Detailed rating:

Durability

Value for Money

Educational ValueExcellent

79 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
exceptional by (7%):
  1. supersonic75
  2. KateHurst
  3. obscuredbykep
and 4 other members
very helpful by (93%):
  1. pinky50
  2. cornishchic
  3. Soho_Black
and 87 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

I was delighted when I was out shopping and happened to notice the chatter phone staring at me from the toy shelf in Wilkinson’s. I remember this phone from my childhood and my daughter had a Fisher price phone a good 12 years ago and I remembered how much enjoyment she had out of it. It hasn’t changed much apart from it is now made out of plastic opposed to the wooden one my daughter had.


This is a great basic traditional child's toy by Fisher Price, it has been around for years, I only paid £4 for it and I couldn’t believe the low price, it generally retails around £4 - £6 which is excellent value for money. The chatter phone is recommended for Preschoolers and is suitable from 1 year +.
This is a great simple toy as it requires no batteries!


It is a good chunky white old fashioned phone that has some nice little features that are a bright red receiver; and a traditional number dial with the numbers 0 to 9 on it. On the front of the phone is a happy face with eyes that move up and down when the phone is wheeled or pulled across the floor. The phone has bright red wheels and a cord at the front to pull the phone along. When the number dial is turned and released it makes a ringing noise, and when it is pulled across the floor it makes a clicking sound as the eyes move up and down. The cord on the hand receiver is slightly short which means my son lifts the entire phone when he lifts the receiver to his ear. This toy is great for baby's that are crawling as they will have fun pushing it along the floor or chasing after it as you pull it across the floor for them. It is also good for toddlers that can walk as they will enjoy pulling across the floor themselves.


As can be expected with all Fisher Price toys it is of great quality, and it is strong and durable. My son is quite boisterous and this phone has been bashed about and dropped quite a few times and it is still in perfect condition with no damage or parts being broken. It is made from a solid plastic and has no small parts that are likely to break off. The phone unit has soft rounded edges so a child is less likely to hurt themselves.


It is easily cleaned as there are not many areas for dust and grime to collect and as it is all made from plastic it can be wiped clean with soapy water.


This toy is fun and educational. The phone aids in speech development, self expression, imaginative skills and role play, it helps to promote sensory development, imaginative and creative play.


All babies and children love to imitate others, and as a phone is used often in daily life children love to be able to copy mum and dad and get great pleasure in imitating us with this toy phone. This toy is not only good for younger children, but nice as they get older to use this phone in role play to have imaginary conversations.


You don't always need to spend a lot of money on high tech toys to entertain children; it is good to see that there are still some good old fashioned non high tech toys out there.


The only drawback to this phone is the fact that Fisher Price have shortened the cord to the hand receiver for safety reasons, although the cord to pull the phone along is longer so this doesn’t make much sense to me. My son has never minded lifting the phone when he speaks into it, although he does bend down to the phone and have his head angled to the side as he holds the receiver to his ear. I may end up cutting the cord off so that he can use the phone easier.


I bought this phone for my son when he was 9 months old and he still loves to play with it now at the age of 19 months, I can see he will get a lot more play out of it yet. He loves anything with wheels and he really enjoys pulling and pushing it along the floor. He also likes pointing to the different facial features, and he has easily managed to operate the phone dial from a young age. I will often make the noise of the phone and he will go and look for his phone and lift it to his ear, and then bring it to me to let me talk, he finds this rather amusing. He has had hours of fun out of it and will get much more enjoyment out of it as he grows and learns.


The phone will be great for children as their speech develops you can have chats on the phone, and use it as part of a game for role play.


Although the phone is old fashioned, I still think children will love to use it and it won't confuse them on how a real phone works as they have plenty of time to learn that later in life.


It has been great value for money, and a great basic fun toy that I highly recommend.


Summary: Classic toys can never be beaten
Pictures of Fisher-Price Chatter Telephone
Fisher-Price Chatter Telephone Fisher-Price Chatter
Fisher-Price Chatter Telephone.
  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

  Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 1p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 1p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

angelboouk123 09.06.2010 11:28

my son has this phone too and i had one when i was a child as well x

Staffenburg 26.05.2010 10:14

At least you wont get people trying to sell you things at the other end :D

afy9mab 07.05.2010 18:00

I wonder if kids can identify this as a telephone these days. I can't remember the last time I saw a rotary dial phone.

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Similar offers for Fisher-Price Chatter Telephone »

1 to 3 out of 10 similar offers for Fisher-Price Chatter Telephone Show all similar offers
Fisher-Price Fisher Price Chatter Telephone Pink

Fisher-Price Fisher Price Chatter Telephone Pink

Fisher Price Chatter Telephone Pink

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace toys
Postage & Packaging:  Free!
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 24 hours...

Fisher-Price Chatter Telephone Fisher Price Classic (retro Brown Box) - Preschool Pull Along

Fisher-Price Chatter Telephone Fisher Price Classic (retro Brown Box) - Preschool Pull Along

categories other action figures dr who trading cards comic books wwe action figures ben 10 ... more

marvel heroes d d rpg nerf gaming cards singles
gaming cards boxes packs board family games model
gaming supplies paints sylvanian families pre
school toy story wooden letters moshi monsters
model kits tna action figures transformers
thundercats disney super soakers morphsuits
chatter telephone fisher price classic retro brown
box preschool pull along product description
introduced in 1961 as the talk back

 Visit Shop  >
ebay
Postage & Packaging:  £0.00
Availability:  available

Fisher-Price Elc Boys And Girls Fisher Price Chatter Telephone Toy From 1 Year

Fisher-Price Elc Boys And Girls Fisher Price Chatter Telephone Toy From 1 Year

email us elc ebay marketplace elc co uk offers outlet baby toddler toys outdoor toys ... more

furniture dolls houses toy dolls dressing up
pretend play action figures playsets vehicles
construction learning books art music creative
play puzzles games gifts new elc boys and girls
fisher price chatter telephone toy from 1 year
product code 139582 price 14 99 features and
benefits classic chatter telephone pull along toy
ringing rotary dial moving eyes spinning dial and
a receiver to lift promoting fine mot

 Visit Shop  >
ebay
Postage & Packaging:  £2.95
Availability:  available

Product Information »

Manufacturer's product description

Fisher Price Chatter Telephone. Pres choolers love to chat on the phone and this classic roll-along pull toy with a...

Product details

EAN 75380778160
Long Name Chatter Telephone
Type Interactive Toy

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since 06/11/2008

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Fisher-Price Chatter Telephone has been rated:

"very helpful" by (93%):

  1. pinky50
  2. cornishchic
  3. Soho_Black

and 87 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Fisher-Price Chatter Telephone? Click here