Flusky 1

Flusky

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:06.11.2007

Reviews:1

Quote-start

Car with problems

Quote-end
06.11.2007

Advantages:
Good little car, Good Fuel Consuption .   V Cheap road Tax .

Disadvantages:
Absolutely attrocious mechanical reliability .

Recommendable No:

Detailed rating:

Value for Money

Road Handling

Comfort

Fuel consumption

Looks

FeaturesSatisfactory

8 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (63%):
  1. RazzaLazza
  2. MAFARRIMOND
  3. vonney1967
and 2 other members
helpful by (38%):
  1. Soho_Black
  2. Bens__mummy
  3. christianfilmcritic

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

In one line, AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE!!!

General overview
=============

I purchased my Ford Fiesta with only 6000 miles on the clock. For the next 2 years, I had perfect, trouble-free driving, withthe exception of the engine cutting out at 70 MPH on the motorway, as the fuel heater element (built into the fuel filter) had shorted out. I put this down to an unfortunate one-off, however, as an engineer, I consider the design to be a poor one, as no one individual electrical system (bar the ECU) should EVER cut an engine out. How about a generic failure caption instead?

Power Steering failure 1
===================

The main problem I have experienced revolve around the power steering rack, which on the fiesta, is a sealed unit which requires complete replacement if it fails. Mine went at the 42,000 mark, just outside the standard warranty by 6 months. Unfortunately, this occured when I was away in Iraq, as I am a serving member of the armed forces. What happened next was a disgrace. I spent many of my 20 minute weekly allowance on the phone to fords customer services arguing that the power steering rack should not have failed after such a short period of time. In the end, they gave in and offered to ONLY pay a third of the repair costs, which added up to over 500 quid... All this whilst I was away from my wife in Iraq, putting her in a very difficult situation. The Ford dealer we dealt with could have been more helpful, it took 6 calls to the dealership involved to get them to even order the parts to have it fixed!!!

Power Steering Rack failure2
=======================

Now, I wouldnt have been too fussed if it were not for the repaired car SUFFERERING ANOTHER POWER STEERING RACK FAILURE (Leaking power steering fluid from the rack, indicating internal failure) AFTER ONLY ANOTHER 19,000 miles and unfortunately enough JUST OUTSIDE THE LAME YEAR-ONLY PARTS GUARANTEE THAT FORDS OFFER!!! VW FOR COMPARISON OFFER 24 MONTHS! Fords, the cheeky so-and-so's, have refused to pay ANYTHING towards the cost of repair/replacement. You would think they would have been embarrased by their poor service and offer to replace the SECOND RACK free of charge. They, in my mind, are a complete bunch of cowboys. If you think this incident is isolated, think again!! there is a whole group devoted to this fault over on yahoo, check it out by googling "Ford Fiesta power steering failure" or by entering the below in the address:

http://uk.messages.cars.yahoo.com/General/threadview?m=tm&bn=UK C-CARSTALK&tid=302&mid=817&tof=2&rt=2&frt=2&off=1

If it were not for the atrocious behaviour of Fords, poor customer service and after sales service, I would have rated the fiesta 4-4.5 stars, it really otherwise is a good little car. Unfortunately, as you can see from above, the complete contempt they come across with towards ford owners is a disgrace, and for those reasons, I would recommend our other car, the VW Polo. It may be a little more expensive, but boy do you notice the difference, especially in the older (ours is a 1999) models, which are really easy to maintain yourself, and are built like tanks.

  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

karimkha 06.11.2007 21:13

Excellent review.

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Similar offers for Ford Fiesta 1.4 TDCi »

1 to 3 out of 8 similar offers for Ford Fiesta 1.4 TDCi Show all similar offers
ATEC Alternator 80A FORD FIESTA 5 V 1.4 TDCi 2001-08; FORD FIESTA VAN 1.4 TDCi 2003-08; FORD FUSION 1.4 TDCi FROM 2002; MAZDA 2 DY 1.4 CD 2003-07

ATEC Alternator 80A FORD FIESTA 5 V 1.4 TDCi 2001-08; FORD FIESTA VAN 1.4 TDCi 2003-08; FORD FUSION 1.4 TDCi FROM 2002; MAZDA 2 DY 1.4 CD 2003-07

Please refer to the vehicle list for all suitable vehicles and any technical restrictions ... more

in menu item "product details"!Brand new,
ready-to-fit, first class quality product
including a 2 year warranty!Price including
VAT!Remember: You will only be charged shipping
costs once per order.Buy two or more items - SAVE
on shipping costs!

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace sports
Postage & Packaging:  £8.90
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

ATEC Compressor Air Conditioning FORD FIESTA 5 V 1.3 FROM 2001; FORD FUSION 1.4 TDCi FROM 2002; FORD STREET KA 1.6 FROM 2003-05

ATEC Compressor Air Conditioning FORD FIESTA 5 V 1.3 FROM 2001; FORD FUSION 1.4 TDCi FROM 2002; FORD STREET KA 1.6 FROM 2003-05

Please refer to the vehicle list for all suitable vehicles and any technical restrictions ... more

in menu item "product details"!Brand new,
ready-to-fit, first class quality product
including a 2 year warranty!Price including
VAT!Please also compare the OE numbers indicated
with the OE numbers printed on your compressor. If
your number matches one of the numbers mentioned,
the compressor is suitable for you.BRAND NEW PART,
no replacement-costs, you don't have to send back
your old part and don´t have to wait for return
payment of deposit on the old part.Remember: You
will only be charged shipping costs once per
order.Buy two or more items - SAVE on shipping
costs! ! !Attention: Important information
concerning installation of air conditioning
compressors:In order to avoid incorrect or faulty
installation we recommend that items be installed
only by a certified car repair shop- When
replacing the compressor ensure filter drier is
also replaced.- Ensure air conditioning system is
cleaned thoroughly with same rinsing liquid used
by repair shops.- Ensure coolant throughout entire
air conditioning unit is renewed.- Ensure whole
air conditioning system is resealed as fast as
possible.- Ensure fault that originally caused the
compressor to malfunction has been located and
repaired.Please ensure that you comply with the
above advice so as to avoid any damage to the
replacement part and / or to your vehicle. Please
be aware that we accept no liability for damage
caused by incorrect fitting.

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace sports
Postage & Packaging:  £8.90
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

ATEC 2x Brake discs vented Ø258 front FORD FIESTA VAN 1.25,1.4 TDCi,1.6 TDCi FROM 2009; FORD FIESTA MK 6 VI 1.25,1.4,1.6 FROM 2008

ATEC 2x Brake discs vented Ø258 front FORD FIESTA VAN 1.25,1.4 TDCi,1.6 TDCi FROM 2009; FORD FIESTA MK 6 VI 1.25,1.4,1.6 FROM 2008

Please refer to the vehicle list for all suitable vehicles and any technical restrictions ... more

in menu item "product details"!Brand new,
ready-to-fit, first class quality product
including a 2 year warranty!Price including VAT!

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace sports
Postage & Packaging:  £8.90
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Product Information »

Manufacturer's product description

Ford present the Fiesta Zetec 1.4 TDCi 5dr Hatchback with 5 Speed Manual Gearbox, Front (FWD) running on Diesel

Product details

Fuel Type Diesel
Range Ford Fiesta
Range + Engine Type Fiesta 1.4 TDCi, Fiesta 1.4i Duratorq TDCi, Fiesta 1.4

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since 23/01/2003

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Ford Fiesta 1.4 TDCi has been rated:

"very helpful" by (63%):

  1. RazzaLazza
  2. MAFARRIMOND
  3. vonney1967

and 2 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Ford Fiesta 1.1

Ford Fiesta 1.1

Hatchback - Petrol - Available Trims: Flight

User reviews (47)

Buy Now

Ford Fiesta 1.3

Ford Fiesta 1.3

Hatchback - Petrol - Available Trims: Finesse, LX

User reviews (55)

Buy Now

Ford Fiesta 1.25

Ford Fiesta 1.25

Hatchback - Front (FWD) - 5 Speed Manual Gearbox - 1242 cc - Max Speed: 101 mph - 82, 75 bhp - Petrol - Available Trims: LX, Firefly, Finesse, Zetec, Style+, Style, Studio

User reviews (91)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Ford Fiesta 1.4 TDCi? Click here