Franz Ferdinand - Franz Ferdinand

Community images

Franz Ferdinand - Franz Ferdinand

Alternative - Studio, MixedRecording - 1, 2 CD(s) - Label: Domino - Distributor: Discovery, PIAS UK/Sony DADC - Released: 09/02/2004 - 5034202113621, ...

> Show product information

89% positive

37 reviews from the community

Review of "Franz Ferdinand - Franz Ferdinand"

published 06/05/2012 | Absinthe_Fairy
Member since : 03/01/2011
Reviews : 1489
Members who trust : 151
About me :
Happy 2016!
Excellent
Pro Very strong album with varied tracks
Cons None for me
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Brings back memories for me"

Franz Ferdinand's eponymous debut album was released in 2004 and was one of the soundtracks of my university days, with Take Me Out being played constantly in the clubs I used to frequent.

Their arrival on the scene seemed to coincide with something of a Britpop revival in music. Like contemporaries the Kaiser Chiefs, both bands were influenced by Blur and Pulp, but while Kaiser Chiefs were more childlike and in-your-face, Franz Ferdinand gave the impression of being more arty and slightly pretentious. You wouldn't catch Kaiser Chiefs on BBC2, "telling Terry Wogan how I made it", as Franz Ferdinand singer Alex Kapranos sings on The Dark of the Matinee. The band sings about going out, conversations and holidays, in a very British fashion with barely a trace of a Scottish accent (the band hails from Glasgow).

The music has a definite retro sound, mixing guitars and Britpop sounds with 80s synths. It has the catchy quality of good pop with the vocals and musical sound of old-school indie.

The songs on the album work together well, with no songs sounding completely different or incongruous. There are no dreary ballads, just catchy uptempo numbers. This is an album to be played in a club, or at a house party. Like The Killers' debut, it has a claustrophobic, smoky feel.

The album has something of an experimental sound, with signature changes and tempo changes. Debut single Take Me Out sounds like two different songs. This makes the album as a whole sound really different and new.

Standout songs for me include the fantastic debut single Take Me Out, catchy Michael and quirky This Fire. The album as a whole is really strong with a bunch of great tracks, and comes highly recommended by me.

Track Listing
1. Jacqueline
2. Tell Her Tonight
3. Take Me Out
4. The Dark of the Matinee
5. Auf Achse
6. Cheating on You
7. This Fire
8. Darts of Pleasure
9. Michael
10. Come on Home
11. 40'

Community evaluation

This review was read 415 times and was rated at
71% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • RICHADA published 09/05/2012
    Probably should have read this one first! R. xxx
  • mumsymary published 06/05/2012
    I remember this too
  • Novabug published 06/05/2012
    I like this album. :)
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Franz Ferdinand - Franz Ferdinand"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Franz Ferdinand - Franz Ferdinand

Manufacturer's product description

Alternative - Studio, MixedRecording - 1, 2 CD(s) - Label: Domino - Distributor: Discovery, PIAS UK/Sony DADC - Released: 09/02/2004 - 5034202113621, 5034202113638

Product Details

EAN: 5034202113621, 5034202113638

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011