Glee - Season One Vol.1 (The Music) - Various Artists

Community images

Glee - Season One Vol.1 (The Music) - Various Artists

1 CD(s) - TV - Label: Epic - Distributor: Sony Music/Arvato Services - Released: 15/02/2010 - 886975409020

> Show product information

80% positive

7 reviews from the community

Review of "Glee - Season One Vol.1 (The Music) - Various Artists"

published 13/04/2010 | emily.ha
Member since : 12/04/2010
Reviews : 34
Members who trust : 5
About me :
Super
Pro Brings older tunes into the modern world, very good vocals, entertaining, good value
Cons Couple of slightly weaker songs,
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"Glee Volume 1 (music, not reviewing actual show) =Great !"

This hit US show has recently become so popular in the UK, i myself am a huge fan of it, so I decided to purchase this Album. I believe this show has encouraged fans of younger ages to appreciate some older songs that they might not have like/heard of before.

Song Name original artist
Don't Stop Believin' Journey
- Lea Michele and Cory Monteith's take on this is purely amazing; a lovely introduction to the album. However, i do feel that Monteith is drowned out a bit by Michele. Personally, i feel this is better than the original.

Can't Fight This Feeling REO Speedwagon
Cory Monteith does a wonderful solo job at covering this song. Shows the true emotion in the song.

Gold Digger Kanye West feat. Jamie Foxx
Matthew Morrison provides an entertaining version of this song. However it is not a song that allows him to prove his true vocal talents. Still great though.

Take A Bow Rihanna
Lea Michele performs a powerful & emotional cover of this song, with a flawless voice. Just as good as the original.

Bust Your Windows Jazmine Sullivan
Filled with attitude and anger, Amber Riley shows her talent and passion in this song. Very entertaining.

Taking Chances Platinum Weird/Celine Dion
A very sweet and lovely song for Lea Michele to sing on her own, showing how talented she is.

Alone Heart
One of my favourites on the album, covered by Kristin Chenoweth and Matthew Morrison. They deliver it very well, showing the emotion behind it, and I love their cover.

Maybe This Time Liza Minelli
Kristin Chenoweth and Lea Michele both deliver another flawless performance each. This song mixes lines sung by both artists separately. Very powerful performance.

Somebody To Love Queen
Perhaps the best track on this album, certainly shown in its rise to success in the music charts. Main vocalists Lea Michele and Cory Monteith again provide some exceptionally wonderful vocals. Always gets me singing along and boppin' around. I love the background vocals too, like a very upbeat choir.Love the originial, too.

Hate On Me Jill Scott
Amber Riley gives another excellent performance, showing yet more anger and attitude. She shows the perfect amount of emotion and personality, while also delivering a perfect vocal performance.

No Air Jordin Sparks feat. Chris Brown
As much as i love the original version (a lot), I absolutely adore this version too. Michele and Monteith show so much chemistry with their voices. Flawless vocals.

You Keep Me Hangin' On The Supremes
Dianna Agron's only solo on this album, and she delivers it very well. I feel her vocals do not match those of Lea Michele or Amber Riley, yet this track suits her voice wonderfully.

Keep Holding On Avril Lavigne
An absolutely powerful and amazing cover. I love how well Michele & Monteith's voices go together. The background vocals in the chorus can't be forgotten, also done perfectly.

Bust A Move Young MC
Matthew Morrison delivers another very entertaining solo. (love his dance moves in the show, too). Not the best vocally, but sitll a catchy tune. Lots of attitude, which I love.

Sweet Caroline Neil Diamond
Mark Salling's only solo cover, but job well done for this. Very enjoyable, lovely vocals.

Dancing With Myself Generation X, and Billy Idol
Kevin McHale's only solo, perhaps not a very vocally powerful performance, but that's probably due to the song instead of him. He does it perfectly, entertaining + enjoyable.

Defying Gravity Cast of Wicked
Probably my favourite track on the album. Lea Michele and Chris Colfer both deliver amazing vocals. Again, i believe Michele has drowned out her fellow singer slightly; i wish Colfer was easier to hear. But it's still such a great cover.

DEFINITELY recommend this to everyone, even if you're not the biggest fan of the show :)

please rate + comment :)
x

Community evaluation

This review was read 661 times and was rated at
95% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • MizzMolko published 31/08/2010
    I'm not a fan of the show to be honest so I perhaps wouldn't contemplate listening to the album - a good break down of the songs though : ) Eleanor x
  • newby2 published 13/08/2010
    great review xxx
  • liolia79 published 07/07/2010
    Nicely reviewed!
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Glee - Season One Vol.1 (The Music) - Various Artists

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - TV - Label: Epic - Distributor: Sony Music/Arvato Services - Released: 15/02/2010 - 886975409020

Product Details

EAN: 886975409020

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 11/04/2010