Review of "Good Vibrations (DVD)"

published 14/01/2017 | sellerleygirl
Member since : 15/02/2015
Reviews : 943
Members who trust : 120
About me :
♬ •♩ All we need is rates!! •♩ Everybody!!•♩ All we need is rates!! ♩ •♬
Excellent
Pro A hypnotic and endearing watch
Cons None
exceptional
Did you enjoy it?
Story
Characters / Performances
Special Effects
Soundtrack

""Get teenage kicks right through the night, all right""

Good Vibrations (DVD)

Good Vibrations (DVD)

:¦:-• Good Vibrations-•-:¦:


:¦:-• Tagline -•-:¦:

Are teenage dreams hard to beat?

:¦:-• DVD Review -•-:¦:

:¦:-• Genre -•-:¦:

• Biography
• Drama
• Music

:¦:-• Film-•-:¦:

When I saw this film I thought that it was going to be something to do with the Beach Boys, due to their record of the same name. However, this 2013 UK and Ireland film is actually a comedy drama. Set in 1970’s Ireland and is based on the life of Terri Hooley, a record-store owner who was instrumental in developing Belfast's punk-rock scene.
‘Good Vibrations’ is actually a Belfast record label and store that was founded by Terri Hooley in the early 1970s. This tiny store became Hooley’s tour promotion HQ, as well as the indie record label that put out the Undertones' Teenage Kicks.
After several ups and downs and moves Good Vibrations finally closed for good in June 2015.
The film, funded by Snow Patrol and the BBC,( Chris Martin from Coldplay is one of the film's producers too )was nominated for a 2014 Bafta for Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer.

Directed by Lisa Barros D'Sa and Glenn Leyburn
Produced by Chris Martin, Andrew Eaton, David Holmes and Bruno Charlesworth
Written by Colin Carberry and Glenn Patterson
Cinematography Ivan McCullough
Edited by Nick Emerson
Distributed by The Works
Release date 29 March 2013
Running time 102 minutes
Country UK/Ireland
Language English

:¦:-• The Story -•-:¦:

“When It comes to punk: New York has the haircuts, London has the trousers, but Belfast has the Reason! “

Briefly this is a rags to rags (no that is NOT a typo)tale of Terri Hooley(played by Richard Dormer) , a charismatic revolutionary and incompetent businessman who proved that music could rise above’ the Troubles’ of Northern Ireland.
The film opens with an archive film of a divided Belfast in the 1960s and early 70s, that those of us of a certain age will remember well. We learn about Hooley’s childhood, when his father George (played by Karl Johnson) was a would-be politician who repeatedly failed to get elected as a communist leader; Young Terri was brought up to not to care about whether someone was Protestant or Catholic. We then see Hooley in the 70’s as a music fan and idealistic spirit who opened a tiny record shop in Belfast. We see him go from being a fan of Dylan, the Kinks, the Who and the likes to being gleefully converted to the new genre of music – punk - in the middle of a noisy, pogoing crowd.

Hooley was enthused by the youthful vivacity of the punk scene and went on to become an important record producer and promoter. But not everything ran smoothly for Hooley, who was soon struggling both with the music industry and his chaotic personal life. We see a man who was influential in creating an alternative Irish community from the religious and social rivalries he had grown up with; he helped the evolving Northern-Irish punk bands to record and distribute their music, and convert Belfast into one of the punk capitals of the world. All at once Belfast, previously known only for conflict and violence, was a place of cultural interest and pioneering music which traversed religions and communities.
:¦:-• Cast -•-:¦:

Richard Dormer as Terri Hooley
Jodie Whittaker as Ruth
Michael Colgan as Dave Hyndman
Karl Johnson as George Hooley
Adrian Dunbar as Gang Leader
Liam Cunningham as Studio Engineer
Dylan Moran as Harp Owner
Mark Ryder as Greg Cowen
Killian Scott as Ronnie Matthews
Phillip Taggart as Gordon Blair
Diarmuid Noyes as Brian Young
Andrew Simpson as Colin "Getty" Getgood
Ryan McParland as Fangs
Kerr Logan as Feargal Sharkey
Demetri Goritsas as Paul McNally
Chris Patrick-Simpson as Wolfgang Zorrer
James Tolcher as Gang Member
Paul Caddell as Ned
John Travers as Mutt
Niall Wright as Mickey Bradley
Una Carroll as Mrs. Sharkey (as Una Caryll)
Dorian Dixon as Sazafrazz Bods
Mark Asante as Soldier
Niketa Ferguson as Beautiful German Girl
Robert Render as Roaring Executive
Mary Lindsay as Marilyn
Steven Donnelly as Rural Punk Kid
Emma Ryan as Girl
Joseph Donnelly as Rural Hall Manager

:¦:-• My Opinion -•-:¦:

Now, let me make it clear I never have been and never will be a fan of punk music, I have never been to Belfast, or Northern Ireland at all, and I never really expected to enjoy this film at all – I would have been far happier watching Brian Wilson and the rest of the Beach Boys playing ‘Good Vibrations’!!
My closest connection to the punk movement was when one of my catering trainees was experimenting in the punk look and I danced with him at a college night out, and the closest I got to Ireland at this time is that my first daughter was born on the 30th January, 1972; and it was after the Irish midwife lifted her up and said “Welcome to the world God help you” I heard of the terrible incidents occurring in Belfast on that day – later known as Bloody Sunday!
There have been many films about ‘the Troubles’ in Ireland – like ‘The Crying Game’, ‘Bloody Sunday’ and ‘The Hunger’; however, ‘Good Vibrations’ offers a fresh and surprising perspective of that era, with a protagonist who became known as the Godfather of Punk
This is obviously a low budget film, but it is totally mesmerising and really lures you into Hooley’s inspiring journey. As it says on the trailer “This is not a feel-good film, it’s a feel great film!”

I had never even heard of Terri Hooley before I was introduced to him in this film, working as a DJ in a Belfast during the troubled 1970s, as he meets his long-suffering wife, Ruth (who is played wonderfully by Jodie Whitaker.) He had had a troubled childhood, and as six he lost an eye during a child’s playtime accident when an arrow struck him in the face, from then on, he claimed that he struggled to find happiness and then only finding it in music.
He struggled to open his tiny music shop because he wanted bring music to the disadvantaged people of Belfast – he welcomed any colour, any race and any religion; this notion changes suddenly when he attends a gig to see Rudi and the Outcasts He gets completely drunk, joins in with the crowds as they are pogoing and then finally signs the band!

We then follow him as Richard Dormer gives a sincere and endearing portrayal of the accidental impresario. Dormer is incredible in the role of this charming man and he smoothly imitates Hooley’s distinctive Belfast rasp on his many business ups and downs as he gets involved with launching The Undertones, his marital anguishes, the capriciousness music industry and the ever-increasing financial problems. He gives a slightly comedic and sarcastic performance and is an easy character to engage with. Along his meandering journey we witness the absolute fervour of ‘the kids’ for this new Punk music, a few tears, a lot of laughs a few tears and the scene where Hooley first hears The Undertones’ ‘Teenage Kicks’, is absolutely wonderful. This moment is followed by the legendry John Peel playing the record twice on the row and uttering the words "...Isn't that just the best thing you've ever heard..." – it really makes you tingle!
There are some other good performances from some of Ireland’s best actors – with the ever-good Adrian Dunbar as a gang member and Dylan Moran as a bar owner – as well as Jodie Whittaker as Terri’s wife, Ruth who does seem somewhat underused. A pity, as she is wonderful as she portrays the wife who soon begins to feel the strain of her and her husband’s relationship after Hooley’s love of music takes centre stage, even over his newly born daughter.

The music throughout is fantastic – and not just punk – and there are over 30 songs on the soundtrack ranging from Bowie to Hank Williams to Stiff Little Fingers.

For anyone who remembers the 70’s, this film is well worth watching (if you weren’t there watch it to see what you were missing!!), as it is heaving with detail and decor from the period – as well as the music, and ‘the Troubles’.

However, the polished focus of this energetic period piece is Dormer's compelling performance as Hooley, as he channels the passion and rebelliousness that is entrenched in the music that he loves.

Well recommended.
:¦:-• Ratings -•-:¦:

• Rotten Tomatoes: 94% from 34 reviews
• IMDb: 7.2/10 from 3,739 votes

:¦:-• Critics -•-:¦:

• The Hollywood News: " some cracking songs and a lot of laughs ensure it’s giving off good vibrations and even some excitations"
• The Guardian: "This biopic of Belfast's godfather of punk is terrific, particularly in its scenes of noisy, pogoing epiphany"
• Mark Kermode, Radio 5 Live: "An absolute humdinger with real heart and soul"
• From Terri Hooley: “I’ve never really thought about the fact that I’m probably the only person in recent history in Northern Ireland to have had a film made about them until someone said it recently. The Good Vibrations story is an amazing story because it’s about somebody who hadn’t a clue about what he was doing and just wanted to do it.”
:¦:-• Soundtrack -•-:¦:


Much of the music is provided by bands released by the Good Vibrations label, but it also includes songs by The Shangri-Las, Small Faces, David Bowie, Hank Williams and Suicide, among others.

• I Saw the Light Performed by Hank Williams
• Blood and Fire Performed by Niney The Observer
• Outcast Performed by The Animals
• Past, Present and Future Performed by The Shangri-Las
• Gangster of Love Performed by Johnny 'Guitar' Watson
• Tin Soldier Performed by Small Faces
• You're a Disease Performed by Cathal Cully, Danny Todd and Keith Winter
• Freedom Train Performed by Lee 'Scratch' Perry and Ernest Wilson
• Big Time Performed by Rudi
• Cops Performed by Cathal Cully, Danny Todd and Keith Winter
• Pear Shaped Woody Jackson
• Sounds and Pressure Performed by Hopeton Lewis
• This Perfect Day Performed by The Saints
• I Spy Performed by Rudi
• Gotta Get Away Performed by Stiff Little Fingers
• Don't Wait Until Tomorrow Performed by Michael Yonkers
• Stronger Than You Performed by The Undertones
• Love You (aka Screw You) Performed by Ram and Sel
• The Pressure's On Performed by Rudi
• Dream Baby Dream Performed by Suicide
• The Top Performed by Jason Falkner
• To Know Him Is To Love Him Performed by The Langley Schools Music Project
• I Can Never Go Home Again Performed by The Shangri-Las
• Perfect Crime Performed by Jason Falkner
• Alternative Ulster Performed by Stiff Little Fingers
• Justa Nother Teenage Rebel Performed by The Outcasts
• Laugh At Me Performed by Richard Dormer
• Angie Performed by Bert Jansch
• Star Performed by David Bowie
• Self-Conscious Over You Performed by The Outcasts
:¦:-• DVD Details -•-:¦:

The sound and visuals are both excellent on this DVD recording and there are subtitles for the hearing impaired.
As of 013/01/17 ‘Great Expectations can be purchased from Amazon new from £2.55, used from £1.47
Some DVDs on Amazon are available for free delivery within the UK and are if you have a Prime account, if neither of these apply add £1.26 for postage
You can also watch it instantly from £2.49 with Amazon Instant Video and it is available to rent on DVD from LOVEFiLM By Post.

The Extras

Although there are not many extras, what are present are very interesting: these are: -

1. Interviews with Cast and Crew
2. Interview with Terri Hooley – an extremely interesting interview!
DVD Details

Format: PAL
Language: English
Subtitles: English
Dubbed: None
Subtitles For The Hearing Impaired: English
Audio Description: None
Region: Region 2
Number of discs: 1
Classification: 15
Studio: Universal Pictures UK
DVD Release Date: 5 Aug. 2013
Run Time: 98 minutes
ASIN: B00BIJBF6A

:¦:-• In Conclusion -•-:¦:

This is dark but funny film; it doesn’t just depend on nostalgia and or ignore the forbidding realities of Belfast and Northern Ireland in that era. Instead it perceives what it was like for Terri and those like him who were all about the music, and who tried to use it to Belfast’s benefits.

I can really recommend this film, whatever your musical tastes, you will find it hard to forget Hooley’s rousing speech at the end of the film -“New York has the haircuts, London has the trousers, but Belfast has the reason.”


Film pictures from Google


Thanks for reading, I hope that you have found this review useful

•:*¨:¦:-•© Sellerleygirl January 2017 -•-:¦:*:•

Community evaluation

This review was read 424 times and was rated at
75% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
exceptional

Comments on this review

  • stephbond1989 published 01/02/2017
    Another excellent film review
  • beautybuff published 21/01/2017
    vg
  • lilacdance published 20/01/2017
    vh
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Good Vibrations (DVD)"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Good Vibrations (DVD)

Manufacturer's product description

Product Details

Actor(s): Jodie Whittaker, Dylan Moran, Richard Dormer

Director(s): Lisa Barros D'Sa, Glenn Leyburn

DVD Region: DVD

Production Year: 2012

EAN: 5050582944549

Classification: 12 years and over

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 09/01/2017