HTC Touch HD2

Community images

HTC Touch HD2

HTC HD2 delivers an experience your senses have been waiting for. The unprecedented 4.3-inch pixel-packed display is stunning. The world's first capac...

> Show product information

85% positive

19 reviews from the community

Review of "HTC Touch HD2"

published 03/01/2011 | pedrodelarossa
Member since : 03/01/2011
Reviews : 17
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Good
Pro Big screen, good build and 1GHz processor
Cons Battery life, & worst of all, Windows 6.5
very helpful
Look & Feel
Durability & Robustness
Battery standby time
Battery talktime
Value for money

"Take the big screen with you. And leave out Windows."

This is my current phone and my feelings towards it is very much mixed. I hope this may be of some help to those who are considering buying this phone.

I've purchased this phone in March 2010, which is around 5 months after it's release in November 2009.

At that time I had Nokia N97 (which was 'ok') and from touching HD2 for the first time from a friend, I was mesmorised by the touch-interface, the screen size and the response (the dull touch experience of N97's resistive touch screen was no match for HD2's capacitative).

I've always liked my OS (operating system) to have some sort of eye-candy features; which N97 severely lacks, or any other Symbian based phones. This may sound silly and not entirely practical, but that's just how I like my phones to be - as I get bored of them very quickly.

So I spent 300 GBP for this phone, which was a good price at the time, and I started to use this Windows 6.5 phone. What I would like to note about Windows phone; terrible speed, responsiveness, ugly UI, complicated OS and not at all user-friendly. I've had HTC Diamond, Sony Xperia X1 and I was very disappointed with the OS every time (though with Xperia X1, there were pretty animations to keep you going but the phone itself was a terrible let down).

Now, HTC HD2 packs 1GHz Snapdragon (if I recall correctly) processor, and blimey, it did the trick (or so I thought first). Tabs moved seemlessly, applications opened in a blink and the capacitative touch screen was just fantastic! Wonderful! Brilliantly pleasant! How else could I put it!

So I fell in love with this phone; initially with the size of the screen, which is 4.3 inches (I remember this as this was the phone with the biggest screen) which I, comparing with a PSP, found out they shared the same size screen! Quite astonishing I must say, to own a phone with the same screen size as a games console! It is high resolution (800x480 I think), and to those who don't really know what this means, let's just say you won't be able to see the pixels - the pictures are viewed crisp, and brilliantly.

HTC Sense: Van Gogh paints the overlay. Windows 6.5 is a dull, ugly and conservative OS - there's nothing fun about it. Now HTC engineers cleverly employed Vincent to mask all the ugliness - and now Windows OS has become something of a masterpiece. HTC Sense is a intuitive user-interface, that's been overlayed on Windows OS, to make it more user-friendly. There are large panels for thumbs/fingers to press, simple designs, diagrams and pictures that organised the whole phone to be great. You'll see the home screen, with massive retro-style clock, with weather animations flowing marvellously and beneath it are few pictures that can be pressed to open up an application. The weather animations are just stunning - whether the current location you're in is pouring down, sunny, snowing, windy, the animations will sweep across the screen to alert you and make you feel like you own a very interactive intelligent device. I loved it.

Less of my too personal opinions: more about the phone; Camera is an important factor which many look for in a phone nowadays. 5 mega-pixels, produces attractive, crisp images and video-recording is of high quality, though unfortunately not of 720p HD recording. Some have wondered if some software was able to enable HD-recording but this is yet to be established. I was very content with the camera performance and you won't be disappointed (and talking about disappointment, I've been very disappointed in the past about cameraphones).

Music player is decent and so is the videoplayer. The good thing about having a Windows phone is that there are a number of applications which you can freely download and install on your phone - such as the DivX player, which will play most of your favourite movies. The big size of the screen will be a major plus when watching films or music videos.

You must have the internet-enabled sim card, because without the ability to browse internet/watch YouTube videos, this phone is a bit of a pointless device for you. Big screen is great for mails, texts, reading the news, watching the most viewed YouTube video, and aha! for navigation. Always, and by always, I mean without doubt, phones need assists from the net, with its integrated GPS module, for more accurate and pin-point navigation via Copilot (not free) or Google Maps (yey, free!). I've used Google maps for navigation few times, and it's brilliant - the big screen really does its good here.

Now that's about all I have to say about the phone out of the box. After a while, people get bored, even a phone with this calibre - 1GHz processor, Windows 6.5 OS, 5MP camera, 4.3 screen, videos, music, mail-integration, built in facebook tabs, tweeter tab, sat nav, etc etc, the list goes on, but this just isn't enough, and I started to see little flaws - the phone is still Windows.

Now, this is a big problem for me, as certain things - like phone crashing, and getting slower with use and with filling up with microSD card (oh yes, you can expand the memory with external memory card), battery life becoming worse and worse, and the fun of touch-interface starts to wear off - capacitative yet not capable enough to beat the iPhone - and I'm not even saying iPhone 4 - can't beat any of the iPhones.

This is where the fun begins, and also, where most of us have given up and bought a Blackberry or an iPhone - 3rd party applications and modifications. The World of mods is unlimited for this phone - new Roms (now this is an image, which you can install on your phone, which has certain parts of the OS modified by the developer to make the system run smoother etc) which can change the look of the phone entirely (I mean, different colour, different pictures, icons etc) but of course, the essence of the OS remain - still a Windows phone. These Roms will provide a smoother and more refined user-interface than what you get from HD2 straight out of the box. Now, comes what's even more exciting - Android. Now, I shall mention this briefly, but developers had been cleverly ported Android OS to HD2, and this is a major thing because HTC makes different phones and their hardware based on the OS they're going to imprint on the phone. HTC HD2 with Android, will be the equivalent of HTC Desire HD (or even HTC Desire, though it has a smaller screen). It's basically the same phone but with different OS. Android is by far, the better OS, than Windows, in terms of usability, function and hardware-OS integration.

It's very difficult at the moment to recommend this phone - there are many alternatives out there now which I personally would prefer having and will recommend. The phone has a great potential, and to me, it is a pity that it is on Windows (though this is a foolish remark, as like I said, there is Desire HD, which is HD2 on Android) and even with such advanced hardware, Windows have ruined the experience. If you really want a smartphone to do smart things correctly at all times, then Windows 6.5 isn't for you. If you want a giant of a multimedia phone, which is smart and will do its tasks 6/10 times, then go for it (and if you have the cash).

Oh, and in terms of phone build; glass-screen is surrounded by rubber-plastic soft edges which is great and will withstand shocks, and won't easily be scuffed (unless you drop it on asphalt), though it gets quite annoying as dust can accumulate in between the rubber and screen. Oh and yes, also watch out for the battery life. The big screen really will drain its small battery - so much for a big screen huh?

Community evaluation

This review was read 829 times and was rated at
83% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • SteffiK published 04/01/2011
    Welcome to Ciao. a good first review!
  • torr published 03/01/2011
    Welcome to Ciao. I know very little about phones, but this reads to me like a good first review.
  • dynamicnurse published 03/01/2011
    Welcome to Ciao!
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : HTC Touch HD2

Manufacturer's product description

HTC HD2 delivers an experience your senses have been waiting for. The unprecedented 4.3-inch pixel-packed display is stunning. The world's first capacitive touch technology on a Windows phone along with 1 GHz processing power ensure a smooth and lightning-fast response to the lightest touch of your finger. Most importantly, it is the first Windows phone to embody HTC Sense - a holistic experience that focuses on making phones work in the most intuitive way. HTC Sense is based on three core principles - make it mine, stay close, and discover the unexpected. HTC HD2's expansive display is like a canvas on which you create a phone that is just right for you. Customize the phone by prioritizing essential features like mail, calendar, messaging, browser and more. Next, with just a tap, put shortcuts to the most important people, favorite websites, or most used application right on the home screen. Your phone doesn't only reflect your personality; it also tunes into your location. The clock automatically updates to the local time wherever you are. You can see the outside temperature and weather at a glance. And, if you choose the weather wallpaper, you'll get a brilliantly lifelike animation that lets you virtually feel the sun's rays or the chill of the breeze without setting a foot outside.

Product Details

Product Description: HTC HD2 - black - 3G GSM - smartphone, HTC HD2 - 3G GSM - smartphone

Product Type: Smartphone

Mobile Broadband Generation: 3G

Service Provider: Not specified

Mobile Services: Video Call

Form Factor: Touch

Dimensions (WxDxH): 67 mm x 11 mm x 121 mm

Weight: 157 g

Colour: Black

Technology: WCDMA (UMTS) / GSM

Band: WCDMA (UMTS) / GSM 850/900/1800/1900

Integrated Components: Digital camera, 2nd camera, FM radio, digital player, GPS receiver, voice recorder

Rear-facing Camera Resolution: 5 Megapixel

Wireless Interface: Bluetooth, Wi-Fi

Display: LCD display - 4.3" - TFT

Input Device(s): Touch sensitive screen

Operating System: Microsoft Windows Mobile 6.5 Professional

Playback Digital Standards: WAV, WMA, AAC, AMR, MP3, QCP, MIDI , MPEG-4, WMV, 3GP

Supported Memory Card: Micro SD Card

Talk Time: Up to 380 minutes

Standby Time: Up to 490 hours

Long Name: Touch HD2, Leo

Cellular / Type: Smartphone

Cellular / Phone Form Factor: Slate

Manufacturer: HTC

Phone Design: Slate

General

MPN: 99HJY002-00, 99HJY008-00, HTC HD 2

Product Type: Smartphone

Form Factor: Touch

Integrated Components: Digital camera, 2nd camera, FM radio, digital player, GPS receiver, voice recorder

Width: 67 mm

Depth: 11 mm

Height: 121 mm

Weight: 157 g

Body Colour: Black

Cellular

Technology: WCDMA (UMTS) / GSM

Band: WCDMA (UMTS) / GSM 850/900/1800/1900

Mobile Broadband Generation: 3G

Service Provider: Not specified

Operating System: Microsoft Windows Mobile 6.5 Professional

Application Software: HTC Sense, Microsoft Office Mobile

Input Device(s): Touch screen

Messaging & Internet

Cellular Messaging Services: MMS, SMS

Messaging & Data Features: Mobile blog

Mobile Services: Video Call

Communications

Data Transmission: GPRS, EDGE, HSDPA, HSUPA

Wireless Interface: Bluetooth 2.1 EDR, IEEE 802.11b/g

Bluetooth Profiles: Dial-up Networking Profile (DUN), File Transfer Profile (FTP), Hands Free Profile (HFP), Headset Profile (HSP), Object Push Profile (OPP), Personal Area Networking Profile (PAN), Serial Port Profile (SPP), Generic Access Profile (GAP), Generic Object Exchange Profile (GOEP), Advanced Audio Distribution Profile (A2DP), Audio/Video Remote Control Profile (AVRCP), Human Interface Device Profile (HID), SIM Access Profile (SAP), Basic Imaging Profile (BIP), Basic Printing Profile (BPP), Phonebook Access Profile (PBAP)

Communication Features: Mobile Email client, Internet browser

Phone Features

Phone Functions: Speakerphone, call timer, conference call, vibrating alert

Polyphonic Ringer: Yes

Sensors: Accelerometer, ambient light sensor

Organiser

Personal Information Management: Calendar, calculator, reminder, alarm clock

Media Player

Supported Digital Audio Standards: WAV, WMA, AAC, AMR, MP3, QCP, MIDI

Supported Digital Video Standards: MPEG-4, WMV, 3GP

Processor

Type: QUALCOMM Snapdragon

Clock Speed: 1 GHz

Memory

RAM: 448 MB

ROM: 512 MB

Supported Flash Memory Cards: Micro SD Card

Digital Camera

Rear-facing Camera Resolution: 5 Megapixel

Focus Adjustment: Automatic

Camera Light Source: LED light

Navigation System

Navigation: GPS receiver

Display

Type: LCD display

Technology: TFT

Diagonal Size: 4.3"

Display Resolution: 800 x 480 pixels

Connections

Connector Type: Micro-USB ¦ Headphones - mini-phone 3.5mm

Battery

Capacity: 1230 mAh

Run Time Details: Talk - up to 380 min ¦ Standby - up to 490 hrs

Miscellaneous

Included Accessories: Power adapter

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 27/10/2009