Review of "Hacksaw Ridge (DVD)"

published 22/07/2017 | sellerleygirl
Member since : 15/02/2015
Reviews : 963
Members who trust : 120
About me :
♬ •♩ All we need is rates!! •♩ Everybody!!•♩ All we need is rates!! ♩ •♬
Excellent
Pro An amazing, unmissable film
Cons Very hard to watch at times
exceptional
Did you enjoy it?
Story
Characters / Performances
Special Effects
Soundtrack

"Mel Gibson is back - with a vengance!"

Hacksaw Ridge (DVD)

Hacksaw Ridge (DVD)

-•- Hacksaw Ridge -•-


-• Film Only Review -•-

We bought this off Sky as my daughter in law (who is studying theology and religion at Uni) had been advised to watch it during the summer break. So far I have only watched it straight from the download on Sky, we are waiting for our DVD to arrive.

-•- Tagline-•-

When the order came to retreat, one man stayed.
Genre

• Biography
• Drama
• History
• War

-• Film-•-

Hacksaw Ridge is a 2016 is a true story about the World War II experiences of Desmond Doss, an American pacifist combat medic. Doss was a Seventh-day Adventist Christian, and refused to carry or use a firearm or weapons of any kind. He became the first conscientious objector to be awarded the Medal of Honour, for service above and beyond the call of duty during the Battle of Okinawa.
‘Hacksaw Ridge’ is named after a piece of sandy rock in Okinawa where Doss performed his incredible deed.
This is the first film directed by Mel Gibson in a decade, since Apocalypto (2006)
According to Mel Gibson, Desmond T. Doss's son Desmond Jr. attended the screening and was moved to tears by Andrew Garfield's accurate portrayal of his dad.
Film Details

Directed by Mel Gibson
Produced by Bill Mechanic, David Permut, Terry Benedict, Paul Currie, Bruce Davey, Brian Oliver and William D. Johnson
Written by Robert Schenkkan and Andrew Knight
Music by Rupert Gregson-Williams
Cinematography Simon Duggan
Release date 4 November 2016
DVD release 22 May 2017
Classification: 15
Running time 139 minutes
Country United States and Australia
Language English

-• The Trailer •-

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2119532/videoplayer/vi2633414169?ref_=tt_pv_vi_aiv_1
The Real Desmond Doss

The story of Doss, who died in 2006 at the age of 87, has previously been made into a documentary, but Hacksaw Ridge is the first major film based on his wartime deeds.
Born in Lynchburg, Virginia, Doss was the son of a carpenter and was a devout Christian, a member of the Seventh-day Adventist Church. Unable to reconcile his observance to the commandment “Thou shalt not kill” with a role as a soldier, but at the same time patriotic and wanting to help his country, he was classed as a conscientious objector and joined the army as a medic.
Unlike most other medics, he refused to carry any form of knife or gun, determined that, no matter what situation he found himself in, he would not take the life of another human being
His first major achievement occurred in 1944 in Guam, where, across a period of several months, he repeatedly braved enemy gunfire and torrential rain and mud to rescue his companions – earning him two Bronze Star Medals.

The next year, in Okinawa, Doss proved again that he was a man of exceptional bravery, performing the actions that would lead to his being awarded the Medal of Honour. The official citation for the award describes how, on April 29th 1945 during an assault on a high summit of the Japanese island, heavy enemy gunfire inflicted serious injuries on “approximately 75” Americans.
The citation read: “Pfc. Doss refused to seek cover and remained in the fire-swept area with the many stricken, carrying all 75 casualties one-by-one to the edge of the escarpment and there lowering them on a rope-supported litter down the face of a cliff to friendly hands,”

He has also recognised for battlefield actions that took place throughout the May of 1945. After repeatedly risking his life, he was wounded in the legs by a grenade on May 21 – but even while injured, still managed to prioritise the lives of his fellow-soldiers.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/films/0/mel-gibsons-hacksaw-ridge-the-extraordinary-true-story-of-desmon/
-• -The Story -•-

_ “In peace, sons bury their fathers. In war, fathers bury their sons.” _

The film starts with very graphic images of war, as soldiers are blown up, shot at and are blown apart, burnt alive. We hear the voice of Desmond T. Doss (played by Andrew Garfield) saying that God will not grow tired of his children, no matter how bad things are. Then Desmond is seen being carried away on a stretcher as another soldier who reassures him that he will be fine.

The film then goes back 16 years as a young Desmond (played by Darcy Bryce) and his brother Hal (played by Roman Guerreiro) are happily playing in the woods They live with their parents, Bertha and Tom (played by Rachel Griffiths and Hugo Weaving), and the whole family are Seventh-Day Adventists. One afternoon, after a fight between the boys goes wrong, Desmond reads the Bible and vows not to harm another human in his life thereafter.

When the US entered WW II, Desmond volunteered to enlist in the US Army, however he refuses to carry or use any weapon and asks to serve as combat medic to save lives. He faces several problems during the training due to his beliefs, but he does succeed to go to war to participate in the Battle of Okinawa.
How does he mange his Christian principles against the bloody backdrop of war?
-• -The Main Cast -•-

Andrew Garfield as Desmond Doss
Vince Vaughn as Sergeant Howell
Sam Worthington as Captain Jack Glover
Luke Bracey as Smitty Ryker
Hugo Weaving as Tom Doss
Ryan Corr as Lieutenant Manville
Teresa Palmer as Dorothy Schutte
Rachel Griffiths as Bertha Doss
Richard Roxburgh as Colonel Stelzer
Luke Pegler as Milt "Hollywood" Zane
Richard Pyros as Randall "Teach" Fuller
Ben Mingay as Grease Nolan
Firass Dirani as Vito Rinnelli
Damien Thomlinson as Ralph Morgan
Matt Nable as Lt. Colonel Cooney
Robert Morgan as Colonel Sangston
Nathaniel Buzolic as Harold "Hal" Doss

-• - Acting -• -

_ “Private Doss, you are free to run into the hellfire of battle without a single weapon to protect yourself.” _

I thought that the whole cast in this film was excellent.; with Andrew Garfield really carrying the film, - in my opinion his Best Actor Oscar nomination is really well-deserved. He is perfectly cast as the hero/soldier and all memories of Spider Man go out of the window.

Another incredible performance was the one from Hugo Weaving as the WW1 vet father. He really carried the first half of the film as he battled his demons. Likewise, Rachel Griffiths plays Desmond and Hal’s devoted Christian mother who tries to hold her family together really well.

Vince Vaughn's excellent role as Doss' training sergeant bringing both humour and pathos letting us get our breath back before the final battle and his memorable final action scene.
Teresa Palmer the beautiful and charming nurse that captures Desmond's heart really well, again adding a little humour to the tension.
-• -My Opinion -•-

I have to say that I am not usually a fan of war films; my memories of war films are watching black and white films on a Sunday afternoon with my parents, where the English were either toffee nosed RAF types or “y’er ok mate” rough Cockney soldiers and we were fighting Germans.

This film is totally different, it is based on the Second World War, but focuses on the American v Japanese battles. At the heart of this devastatingly awful view of war, lies a more conformist character study of the devout Seventh-day Adventist - Desmond Doss (played by Andrew Garfield). Doss is torn by his patriotic necessity to assist in the fight against Japan, after the Japanese bombing of Pearl Harbour in December 1941, and the stringent moral code that stops him from taking life. Doss signs up as a medic, hoping to do his duty by saving lives instead of taking them.
This is also a true story, and in my opinion, true stories are usually the best stories, and I thought that ‘Hacksaw Ridge ‘was one of the most enriching and inspiring ‘true story’ films that I’ve seen in a while.

From the very beginning of this film, Mel Gibson lets us know dramatically, just what we’re in for with its opening shot, that contains a mixture of pictures of the bloody results of a brutal war. There are some of the most brutal and harrowing shots that I have ever seen, with soldiers on fire and blown to pieces – it is reminiscent of the opening scenes of "Saving Private Ryan” and it is NOT easy watching.

With our emotions in pieces, we are then taken back to the life of the young Desmond (this time played by Darcy Bryce); set in a small Virginia town during the Forties, with Desmond as a gangly country boy, with a cliché violent drunken father who survived WW l physically but not mentally.
Despite the scenes of Desmond and his brother romping in the fields, their life was far from idyllic. The family can barely make ends meet, the father and Tom, abuses his wife and children and his mother Bertha (played Rachel Griffiths) is deeply religious.
Gibson injects this portion of the film with a balance of harsh realism and comedy as he follows Desmond’s clumsy attempts to court local nurse Dorothy Schutte (Teresa Palmer). These early scenes are maybe a little sweet and soap operish, but Gibson makes us believe in the characters, as Doss grows meets and falls in love with pretty nurse Dorothy (played by Teresa Palmer) I was fully engrossed in the family story, the love story between the rather dopey Desmond and Dorothy and Desmond’s fight to be accepted into the army and not branded a coward, that I was lured into a false sense of security – those early graphic war scenes ALMOST forgotten.

However, after his training (some good humorous bits here to break the tension, we end up at Okinawa – and the flood gates of blood and guts is opened up – with a vengeance. The battle is shown with unbearable remorselessness. We witness the relationship of the soldiers, we see them dodging bullets as well as the grisly remains of what were their friends, Meanwhile, Doss, dashes about trying to save those men who weren’t dead.
It is though, after the final and worst battle, when we see our un-armed hero alone at the top the ridge gasping “Let me get one more” that you realise that you are VERY glad that Gibson is back!!

-• Ratings-•-

• IMDb 8.2/10 from 235,771 reviews
• Metacritic :71% from 431 critics
• Rotten Tomatoes:86% from 232 reviews
-•- Critics -•-

• The Telegraph: "Hacksaw Ridge is a fantastically moving and bruising war film that hits you like a raw topside of beef in the face – a kind of primary-coloured Guernica that flourishes on a big screen with a crowd.”

• Variety: "Mel Gibson has made a movie about a pacifist who served nobly during WWII. It's a testament to his filmmaking chops, and also an act of atonement that may succeed in bringing Gibson back."

• The Australian's: "Gibson’s approach is bold and fearless; this represents his best work to date behind the camera."

• Rolling Stone: "Thanks to some of the greatest battle scenes ever filmed, Gibson once again shows his staggering gifts as a filmmaker, able to juxtapose savagery with aching tenderness."
-•- Awards -•-

Hacksaw Ridge was chosen by the American Film Institute as one of its top ten Movies of the Year

Academy Awards, 2017

Won

Oscar for Best Achievement in Film Editing: John Gilbert
Oscar for Best Achievement in Sound Mixing: Kevin O'Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie and Peter Grace
Nominated

Oscar for Best Motion Picture of the Year: Bill Mechanic and David Permut
Oscar for Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role: Andrew Garfield
Oscar for Best Achievement in Directing: Mel Gibson

Golden Globes, 2017

Nominated

Best Motion Picture - Drama
Best Performance by an Actor in a Motion Picture - Drama Andrew Garfield
Best Director - Motion Picture Mel Gibson

BAFTA Awards 2017

Won

BAFTA Film Award Best Editing John Gilbert
Nominated

Best Leading Actor: Andrew Garfield
Best Screenplay: Robert Schenkkan and Andrew Knight
Best Make Up/Hair: Shane Thomas
Best Sound: Peter Grace, Robert Mackenzie, Kevin O'Connell and Andy Wright

-• - How to View - •-

As of 22/07/17, ‘Hacksaw Ridge ‘can be purchased from Amazon from £4.60 new and £8.99 used or buy from Amazon Instant Video -£9.99 or rent form £3.49.
Some DVDs on Amazon are available for free delivery within the UK and are if you have a Prime account, if neither of these apply add £1.26 for postage
Amazon are currently offering £1.00 credit to spend on movies or TV on Amazon Video when you purchase a DVD or Blu-ray offered by Amazon.co.uk. A maximum of 1 credit per customer applies.
Offer ends at 23:59 GMT on Wednesday, December 20, 2017
It is also available free to subscribers on Netflix and is currently available from Sky Store for £5.49 to rent or £13.99 to buy.
-• - DVD Details & Extras - •-

As I have so far not received the DVD from Sky and I only watched the download so far, I have no comments on the DVD, but I have looked up the extras and DVD Com gives the following details on the extras:

• Screen formats: Widescreen 1.85:1
• Subtitles: English, Spanish (Neutral)
• Closed captioned: No
• Language and sound: English: Dolby Digital 5.1, English: DTS-HD Master Audio
• Other features: Colour; interactive menus; scene access.
• Extras:
1. A Veterans Day Greeting with Mel Gibson is a one-minute camera address from Gibson to those who have served in the military, also obviously designed to promote his movie.
2. Six deleted scenes run 4 minutes and 32 seconds and emanate from all different parts of the movie

-•- In Conclusion - •-

Do I recommend it?

YES, YES, YES!!!

You will need a strong stomach (or a big cushion to hide behind) for the battle scenes, but believe me this is WELL worth watching. Mel Gibson has certainly redeemed himself for any of his past misdemeanours and outbursts with this film, and I really do recommend that you watch it.
This is a great war film and also a n incredible tribute to a man with strong beliefs and amazing courage.

The film photos are taken from Google.

Thanks for reading I do hope that this review has been of some help!
© Sellerleygirl July 2017


Community evaluation

This review was read 155 times and was rated at
96% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
exceptional

Comments on this review

  • kiss_me2070 published 25/07/2017
    Great review. I enjoyed this.
  • justarube published 25/07/2017
    Good review
  • danielalong published 24/07/2017
    E x
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Hacksaw Ridge (DVD)"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Hacksaw Ridge (DVD)

Manufacturer's product description

Product Details

Actor(s): Andrew Garfield, Sam Worthington, Luke Bracey

Classification: 15 years and over

Production Year: 2016

DVD Region: DVD

EAN: 5055761909197

Video Category: Feature Film

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 20/03/2017