DarkDave 5

DarkDave

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:22.01.2003

Reviews:25

Members who trust:81

Quote-start

The ultimate riding experience

Quote-end
14.02.2003 (01.12.2003)

Advantages:
It's a Harley, Looks, Sound, Riding Position

Disadvantages:
It's a Harley, Weight, Spares/Servicing costs

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Performance

Reliability

Comfort

Handling

Fuel consumption

Purchase Price£6000 (£7445 new)

Customer serviceExcellent

LooksExcellent

FeaturesSatisfactory

27 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (98%):
  1. plod591
  2. tune57
  3. ilusvm
and 58 other members
helpful by (2%):
  1. coldzero

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

I have loved Harleys ever since I was small. There was something about them, that look, that sound, THAT reputation. All bad-ass bikers ride Harleys, right? Well, erm, no actually. Now I'm a grown-up (sort of) and I find the reality is somewhat different to the dream.

The majority of Harley riders I know are very nice chaps, with not a hint of "bad-ass" about them. They simply appreciate their bikes, and enjoy riding, and, more often than not, customising them.

I entered the fold late last year. I was, at the time, in hospital recovering from a broken back and smashed pelvis following a quite nasty bike accident. Whilst incarcerated, I had plenty of time to think about what I had done, and how I wanted to proceed with my life. Quitting riding was out of the question, biking is in my blood. So, I decided the best course of action was to change my riding style (previously fast, lairy and loud). Because of my injuries I figured I need something with a nice, relaxed and above all, comfortable riding position. Of course, my pondering led me to Harleys, and the 1200 Sportster Sport in particular. My parents managed to find a beautiful model for me whilst I was still in hospital, they brought in pictures and I just had to have it.

My bike is a W plate, 2000 model with 10,000 miles on the clock. It was up for £6000 and had a Stage 1 tuning kit and extra loud pipes, boosting power by about 10% and noise by about 200%!

After getting out of hospital, it was about 2 months before I could even get a leg over it, but as soon as I could, I took it round the block. First impressions were: "Oh my God, what have I done!" The thing weighs a ton, you need arm muscles like He-Man to operate the clutch and who knew what the matter was with the gears. Still, I knew these bikes had "character" so I persevered. It turned to be mostly my fault, as I had forgotten about my new riding style I was supposed to adopt (slow, careful, but still loud!) A Harley Davidson is a lot more engaging to ride than your typical Japanese pocket rocket. Changing gear is a very different process. You have to physically roll off the throttle, pull in the clutch, lift your toe to slot it into gear, ease the clutch out as you gradually open the throttle again. nothing like those fire and forget race-reps. The heavy clutch though, was not so easy to get used to, it is still hard work in town, although I am slowly getting used to it. The weight also is not something you can do much about, although the problem is not so great now I have been out of hospital a while, and got some strength back. I can forgive my bike all these things though. It's just so darn beautiful. It's not slow though, contrary to popular opinion.

The 1200cc V-Twin engine delivers around 80 BHP at 5500rpm and about 70lb/ft torque at 3000rpm, which equates to a 0-60 time of around 4 seconds, and a top speed of 110-120mph, although it will struggle above 100mph. It will also stop you with ease, there is a twin disc setup at the front and a single at the rear. Handling also, is none too shabby, it takes corners with ease, and the fully adjustable suspension means you should have no trouble getting it set up just right.

There is however a downside to owning this magnificent motorcycle and that is the cost of parts, spares and servicing. An official H-D rear tyre for example costs £150, and a small fly screen will set you back about the same. A major service costs £350 plus parts and about half that for a minor service. Although I have noticed it does seem to vary from dealer to dealer. The tank range is also quite poor, despite moderate fuel consumption, this is due to the grossly undersized fuel tank - 3.3 gallons, which gives 130 miles to a tank at best, with this figure dropping to around 70 with more "spirited" riding.

Overall, this is a fantastic bike, it handles, it has the looks, it has the sound, and people never fail to ask "Are you a Hells Angel?"

Buy one now, you wont regret it!

*UPDATE DECEMBER 03*

Well... I have now owned my Sporty for over a year...I think it's about time for an update. I have now got 15,500 miles on the clock...not a lot you may think, but I'm still recovering remember!

Modifications:

I was a bit put off buying any fancy parts for the bike at first - mainly due to the cost, but also as there was still a lingering fear of crashing again. I have managed to address both of these issues by A) Getting a job in a Harley-Davidson Dealership(!) and B) Getting to know both the bikes, and my own limitations. I haven't done anything to drastic to the bike, as I don't want to spoil it! So far I have changed the exhaust for some (even) louder ones, bolted on a twin headlamp unit to give a streetfighter look. I have also binned the horrendous "bread bin" air cleaner cover and opted for a Kuryakyn Hyper Charger, which along with looking neater and more aggresive, has vacuum operated butterflies on the air intake (they open when you give it some gas!) which looks really cool!! Less serious mods include changing the brake and clutch levers for black, rather than silver ones, and replacing the chrome mirrors with black ones - I'm not a great lover of chrome, or rather, I'm not a great lover of spending hours keeping chrome looking pretty!

Living With It

I can only reiterate what I said earlier in the year. This bike is a joy to own and run. It has not let me down once - apart from running out of fuel one time - in a year of ownership. I now use it daily for my commute to work, in all weathers and the worst corrosion I have seen is a slight "furring" of the alloy on the wheels, easily rectified with a bit of elbow grease.

Problems/Downsides/Niggles

As I said, I have had no major problems with the bike. The oil pressure switch did fail once, in extremely hot weather, while stuck in traffic. This caused the oil warning light to come on at low revs. A replacement switch costs about £10.

I am also now in need of another rear tyre - seems about 5,000 miles is about the best you can hope for from the soft compound Dunlop (but I do give it some away from the lights!)

The most annoying concern remains the tank range. I have been on several long runs at sensible speeds and still need to fill up at 130 miles. This is becoming frustrating and as I'm riding to Portugal next June, I have ordered a larger tank (3.5 gallons) which will hopefully allow 160-170 miles between fill ups.

So...That's it! I'm still pleased as punch with my Sporty, and if you're ever in the Romford area, and you notice a loony on a bright yellow Harley bearing down on you...get out the way or I'll have your wing mirrors off!!

Take care all.

DarkDave
Pictures of Harley Davidson Sportster XL1200S
Harley Davidson Sportster XL1200S Picture 187 tb
Me and my Sporty!
  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

  Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

plod591 08.02.2009 14:24

Personally I am not a bike fan but did have the enjoyment of being taken out in Canada on an old Harley by a friend. Only the once however !! Well reviewed.

anonymili 13.11.2005 21:12

It's evident from your review (and later reviews) that you love bikes :) It's good to be so passionate about something. I prefer nice 4 wheel vehicles like cars LOL. Mils xx

l-m-n-o-p 05.10.2005 23:15

Bikes aren't really my thing, but I'm really impressed with your 4000+ reads!

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Similar offers for Harley Davidson Sportster XL1200S »

1 to 3 out of 9 similar offers for Harley Davidson Sportster XL1200S Show all similar offers
Harley Davidson 2008 XL 1200N sportster 1200 Nightster from Maisto

Harley Davidson 2008 XL 1200N sportster 1200 Nightster from Maisto

Harley Davidson 1200N XL Nightster (2008) Diecast Model Motorbike by Maisto

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace toys
Postage & Packaging:  £4.11
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Stitchtastic Harley Davidson XL1200 L Sportster Custom Cross Stitch Kit

Stitchtastic Harley Davidson XL1200 L Sportster Custom Cross Stitch Kit

Counted cross stitch kit - 198(w) X 169(h) stitches. Finished size will be - 14.1" X 12.1" ... more

or 35.9cm X 30.7cm. 19 DMC threads pre-sorted onto
thread cards. 14 Count Zweigart Aida provided .
High quality needle & easy to follow instructions.

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace kitchen
Postage & Packaging:  £2.09
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Harley-Davidson Xl883 Xl1200 Sportster 2004-2013 (Clymer Manuals: Motorcycle Repair) - Clymer Staff

Harley-Davidson Xl883 Xl1200 Sportster 2004-2013 (Clymer Manuals: Motorcycle Repair) - Clymer Staff

Pages: 616, Paperback, Haynes Manuals N. America, Inc.

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace books
Postage & Packaging:  £2.80
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Product Information »

Product details

Long Name Davidson Sportster XL1200S
Bike Type Custom; Cruiser
Type Motorbike
Manufacturer Harley Davidson
Displacement (ccm) 1199.61
Stroke 4
Engine Type V-twin

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Harley Davidson Sportster XL1200S - review by tootle

Quote-start XL1200S - Great Quote-start

very helpful

Harley Davidson Sportster XL1200S - review by Jeffomatic

Quote-start I have one. Quote-start

somewhat helpful

Review Ratings »

This review of Harley Davidson Sportster XL1200S has been rated:

"very helpful" by (98%):

  1. plod591
  2. tune57
  3. ilusvm

and 58 other members

"helpful" by (2%):

  1. coldzero

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Honda Shadow VT125

Honda Shadow VT125

Cruiser - 125 ccm ccm - V-Twin

User reviews (1)

Buy Now

Harley Davidson Sportster XL883C

Harley Davidson Sportster XL883C

Cruiser, Custom - 882.66 ccm - V-twin

User reviews (5)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Harley Davidson Sportster XL1200S? Click here