Haunted - James Herbert

Community images

Haunted - James Herbert

Three nights of terror at the house called Edbrook - three nights in which David Ash, there to investigate a haunting, will be victim of horrifying an...

> Show product information

85% positive

4 reviews from the community

Review of "Haunted - James Herbert"

published 19/10/2007 | amylovelace
Member since : 18/10/2007
Reviews : 13
Members who trust : 4
About me :
I love being lazy!!!
Super
Pro A very easy read - with an unexpected twist!
Cons A bit cheesy - especially the film
helpful
Would you read it again?
Story
Characters
Readability

"Trashy Classic Horror"

This is a classic scary story... it was the first I read by James Herbert and it got me hooked!

It is a trashy horror - a nice easy read - but I wouldn't reccommend reading it alone in bed!

It's so good that a film was made based on this book - film is a bit cheesy!

It can be very frightening in parts - but if you are already a fan you will expect this.

It is like one of those ghost stories you hear - that you are not sure whether to believe or not!

Story focuses on a typical "Herbert-style" main character - a critical paranormal investigator. The character has to question whether to believe in ghosts or not after some very strange experiences!

You must be warned that there is an unexpected twist at the end - which makes the whole book worthwhile!

Community evaluation

This review was read 784 times and was rated at
60% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
helpful

Comments on this review

  • MAFARRIMOND published 20/10/2007
    I've read a few James Herbert novels but yet this one. I will do though one of these days. Maureen x
  • Carolina_Moon published 20/10/2007
    Its the twists that make James Herbert so good
  • tune57 published 20/10/2007
    sorry for the low rating, if you care to update it with more information I will gladly re rate it if you send me a message in my guest book.
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Haunted - James Herbert

Manufacturer's product description

Three nights of terror at the house called Edbrook - three nights in which David Ash, there to investigate a haunting, will be victim of horrifying and maleficent games. These are the three nights in which he will face the blood-chilling enigma of his own past - the three nights before Edbrook's dreadful secret will be revealed...And the true nightmare will begin! Remember with fear. "Disturbing atmosphere and constant unpleasant shocks." - "Daily Mail".

Product Details

Type: Fiction

Genre: Horror

Title: Haunted

Author: James Herbert

ISBN: 0330376284; 033045157X; 0333761324; 0340493674; 0340723378; 0399134867; 0515103454

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 09/02/2001

Haunted - James Herbert - Review - Trashy Classic Horror

amylovela... 4

amylovelace

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me: I love being lazy!!!

Member since:18.10.2007

Reviews:15

Members who trust:4

Quote-start

Trashy Classic Horror

Quote-end
19.10.2007

Advantages:
A very easy read  -  with an unexpected twist !

Disadvantages:
A bit cheesy  -  especially the film

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Would you read it again?

Story

Characters

Readability

How does it compare to other works by the same author?

How does it compare to similar books?

8 Ciao members have rated this review on average: helpful See ratings
very helpful by (10%):
  1. trevmit
helpful by (60%):
  1. Soho_Black
  2. MAFARRIMOND
  3. Carolina_Moon
and 3 other members
somewhat helpful by (30%):
  1. tune57
  2. christianfilmcritic
  3. just.bcoz

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on

This is a classic scary story... it was the first I read by James Herbert and it got me hooked!

It is a trashy horror - a nice easy read - but I wouldn't reccommend reading it alone in bed!

It's so good that a film was made based on this book - film is a bit cheesy!

It can be very frightening in parts - but if you are already a fan you will expect this.

It is like one of those ghost stories you hear - that you are not sure whether to believe or not!

Story focuses on a typical "Herbert-style" main character - a critical paranormal investigator. The character has to question whether to believe in ghosts or not after some very strange experiences!

You must be warned that there is an unexpected twist at the end - which makes the whole book worthwhile!

  Write your own review

Share this review on

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Report a problem with this reviews content

Comments about this review »

MAFARRIMOND 20.10.2007 17:52

I've read a few James Herbert novels but yet this one. I will do though one of these days. Maureen x

Carolina_Moon 20.10.2007 10:28

Its the twists that make James Herbert so good

tune57 20.10.2007 09:30

sorry for the low rating, if you care to update it with more information I will gladly re rate it if you send me a message in my guest book.

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

Post comment

Related offers for Haunted - James Herbert »

Amazon UK 859 Ratings

Amazon UK

Find "Haunted - James Herbert" New and Used on Amazon. Free UK Delivery on orders over 25.

 Visit Shop  >
Amazon UK

Product Information

Manufacturer's product description

Three nights of terror at the house called Edbrook - three nights in which David Ash, there to investigate a haunti...

Product details

Type Fiction
Genre Horror
Title Haunted

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since 09/02/2001

Show all Product Information

More reviews

Haunted - James Herbert - review by Mickm9

Quote-start Haunted Quote-start

very helpful

Haunted - James Herbert - review by Emzie-bab

Quote-start Haunted Quote-start

helpful

Haunted - James Herbert - review by Emma1973

Quote-start I SHAG DEAD PEOPLE Quote-start

very helpful

Review Ratings

This review of Haunted - James Herbert has been rated:

"very helpful" by (10%):

  1. trevmit

"somewhat helpful" by (30%):

  1. tune57
  2. christianfilmcritic
  3. just.bcoz

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Haunted - James Herbert? Click here