mumsymary 5

mumsymary

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:23.09.2002

Reviews:2226

Video reviews:1

Members who trust:698

Quote-start

Getting tumbled

Quote-end
24.05.2007

Advantages:
good dryer stops when items dry

Disadvantages:
none except uses a lot of energy

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Performance

Ease of use

Durability

Noise

Value for money

User's ManualGood

Cleaning & MaintenanceEasy

SafetySafe

How much did you pay? school paid not me

Any repairs? not yet

Special features? set and forget

53 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (86%):
  1. SleepyDormouse
  2. RICHADA
  3. KELLYLOUJ
and 74 other members
helpful by (14%):
  1. SusanLesley
  2. maclennan33
  3. chattell
and 10 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

I noticed that the tumble dryer I was using at work was the Hotpoint VTD60G the G stands for graphite it comes in polor white too.
Dimensions: H 850 x W 595 x D 550 (mm)

Hotpoint make many electrical household products and are a well known brand. The machines are fairly dependable; they have a one year guarantee and you an extended 5 year parts warranty. It is easy to find someone to fix if there is a problem

So going into the sluice area to dry the t-shirt dear little john has soaked while playing with water I notice the tumble drier it is not unattractive to look at. I open the door which is at the front and notice it is a good large door.
I put the washing into dry shut the door and try and work out the settings easy peasy.

This machine has a 6kg capacity. Although we would not need it at school there is an 18 hour timed delay setting. There is a countdown timer so you can see at a glance how long is left of the drying time. / Useful for us as then we can see how long before the other classes drying is ready and we can put ours in. When the cycle finishes there is an alarm.
This machine is good as it

There are a variety of settings on this machine wool programme, an easy iron setting and a high and a low hear setting. There is a set and forget setting which will tumble clothes and use its own intelligence to stop when they are dry. Think this is the setting I shall use most at work.
There is a final cool tumble this sounds good as apparently it will cool the fabrics and relax them to make them easier to iron as sometimes after a hot tumble clothes are impossible to iron.
This is a vented dryer and a hose is included in the price.

So far my experience of this machine has been good because it has a sensor which monitors the moisture in the drying drum and when it senses the drying dry it will switch of the heating element and switch to cool it will consume less energy this way. It has a C energy rating

The Hotpoint VTD60 is a vented tumble dryer equipped with 'sensor dry' to monitor the washing

I am not sure where work got their model from but it is available at several stores on line. The http://www.empiredirect.co.uksell it for £179, http://www.comet.co.uk/cometbrowse/product.do?sku=198919 also has it for £199.
There are a couple of outlets selling it at £227, but most shops are selling it at 178or 179 this price is similar to other tumble driers of the same quality. Some stores are selling it for the same price as the white model some a little more edxpensive

Remember when you get a new drier to dispose of your old one safely lot of firms will deliver the new one and take away the old one too.

Personally I prefer to dry my washing at home outside when I can and use my tumble drier at home rarely in the summer as they consume so much electricity bad both for my pocket and for the environment, I often wonder how my parents and grandparents managed in pre washing machine and tumble drier days . Washed less often and used what Nan called a copper I was told. Also not even a spindrier Nan had to use a wringer . two rollers and you put the garment inbetween them and turn the handle it squeezed excess water out .

Happy wash days Mary

  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

  Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 1p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 1p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

SleepyDormouse 17.06.2007 17:11

Looks like its a good one . luckily my tunble drier is still going well

RICHADA 13.06.2007 23:21

We live quite happily without a tumble dryer - they use far too much energy and line dried clothes are so much fresher. Richard.

MumCC 04.06.2007 19:42

A very helpful review.

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Similar offers for Hotpoint VTD60P »

1 to 3 out of 16 similar offers for Hotpoint VTD60P Show all similar offers
Genuine Hotpoint Vtd60p Tvf760p Tvm562g Vtd00p Tumble Dryer Door Glass Bowl

Genuine Hotpoint Vtd60p Tvf760p Tvm562g Vtd00p Tumble Dryer Door Glass Bowl

brand new genuine hotpoint tumble dryer door glass replacement genuine door glass for your ... more

hotpoint tumble dryer suitable to fit the
following models hotpoint vtd 60 p tvf 760 p tvm
562 g vtd 00 p all items in stock and available
for same day dispatch browse more hotpoint tumble
dryer spares and models at the first 4 spares ebay
store here all goods are stock items and will be
dispatched the same day if order received before 3
pm on a working day mon fri and payment has been
received and cleared

 Visit Shop  >
ebay
Postage & Packaging:  £0.00
Availability:  available

Hotpoint Ctd40p Vtd60p Tumble Dryer White On Off Plastic Button Switch Cover

Hotpoint Ctd40p Vtd60p Tumble Dryer White On Off Plastic Button Switch Cover

this is a genuine part replacement genuine on off button for your hotpoint tumble dryer ... more

suitable to fit the following models hotpoint ctd
40 p vtd 60 p all items in stock and available for
same day dispatch all goods are stock items and
will be dispatched the same day if order received
before 3 pm on a working day mon fri and payment
has been received and cleared any items sold on
saturday or sunday will be dispatched the
following monday we only accept paypal as a
payment method powered by ebay

 Visit Shop  >
ebay
Postage & Packaging:  £0.00
Availability:  available

Hotpoint Indesit Vent Kit: Creda Hotpoint HOTPOINT - VTD60P (AQUARIUS 6KG ELECTRONIC VENTED PRODUCED SEPT 2004 (CC 31342)), HOTPOINT - VTD20G (AQUARIUS 6KG VENTED PRODUCED MAY 2004 (CC 31328)), HOTPOINT - VTD60T (AQUARIUS 6KG ELECTRONIC VENTED PRODUCED SEPT 2004 (CC

Hotpoint Indesit Vent Kit: Creda Hotpoint HOTPOINT - VTD60P (AQUARIUS 6KG ELECTRONIC VENTED PRODUCED SEPT 2004 (CC 31342)), HOTPOINT - VTD20G (AQUARIUS 6KG VENTED PRODUCED MAY 2004 (CC 31328)), HOTPOINT - VTD60T (AQUARIUS 6KG ELECTRONIC VENTED PRODUCED SEPT 2004 (CC

unifit.jpgHOTPOINT - VTD60P (AQUARIUS 6KG ELECTRONIC VENTED PRODUCED SEPT 2004 (CC ... more

31342)), HOTPOINT - VTD20G (AQUARIUS 6KG VENTED
PRODUCED MAY 2004 (CC 31328)), HOTPOINT - VTD60T
(AQUARIUS 6KG ELECTRONIC VENTED PRODUCED SEPT 2004
(CC 31341)), HOTPOINT - V3D00P (3KG REVERSING
VENTED FIRST PRODUCED JUNE 2004), HOTPOINT -
VTD00T (AQUARIUS 6KG VENTED PRODUCED MAY 2004 (CC
31329)), HOTPOINT - VTD00G (AQUARIUS 6KG VENTED
PRODUCED MAY 2004 (CC 31331)), HOTPOINT - VTD00P
(AQUARIUS 6KG VENTED PRODUCED MAY 2004 (CC
31330)), HOTPOINT - VTD65A (AQUARIUS 6KG
ELECTRONIC VENTED PRODUCED SEPT 2004 (CC 31344)),
HOTPOINT - VTD20P (AQUARIUS 6KG VENTED PRODUCED
MAY 2004 (CC 31327)), HOTPOINT - VTD60G (AQUARIUS
6KG ELECTRONIC VENTED PRODUCED SEPT 2004 (CC
31343)), HOTPOINT - VTD20T (AQUARIUS 6KG VENTED
PRODUCED MAY 2004 (CC 31326)), PROLINE - TDV62
(5KG VENTED PRODUCED SEPT 2004 (CC 31485)),
HOTPOINT - TDL52P (AQUA REV PHD DRYER PRODUCED MAY
2003 - MAY 2004), HOTPOINT - TDL60N (ULTIMA FMD
6KG VENTED PRODUCED NOV 2000 TO JULY 2002),
HOTPOINT - TDL52N (AQUA REV PHD DRYER PRODUCED MAY
2003 - MAY 2004), HOTPOINT - TDL54N (AQUA SENSING
REV PHD PRODUCED MAY 2003 - MAY 2004), HOTPOINT -
TDL52S (AQUA REV PHD DRYER PRODUCED MAY 2003 - MAY
2004), HOTPOINT - TDL34S (AQUA SENSING REV PHD
FIRST PRODUCED JULY 2002), HOTPOINT - TDL60YS
(ULTIMA FMD 6KG VENTED PRODUCED NOV 2000 TO JULY
2002), HOTPOINT - TDL31YS (AQUARIUS REVERSING DUAL
HEAT AUTO DRY), HOTPOINT - TDL62N (ULTIMA SENSING
VENTED FMD 6KG VENTED JULY 2002), HOTPOINT -
TDL32N (AQUA REV PHD DRYER JULY 2002 - AUGUST
2003), HOTPOINT - TDL32P (AQUA REV PHD DRYER JULY
2002 - AUGUST 2003), HOTPOINT - TDL54S (AQUA
SENSING REV PHD PRODUCED MAY 2003 - MAY 2004),
HOTPOINT - TDL60P (ULTIMA FMD 6KG VENTED PRODUCED
NOV 2000 TO JULY 2002), HOTPOINT - TL11P (T/D GDA
UNI 1HT), HOTPOINT - TDL31S (V2 PHD REV ECO AQUA
PRODUCED MAY 2000 TO JULY 2002), HOTPOINT - TDL32S
(AQUA REV PHD DRYER JULY 2002 - AUGUST 2003),
CREDA - E (EXPORT 5KG REVERSING VENT)

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace kitchen
Postage & Packaging:  £2.29
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Product Information »

Product details

EAN 5016108061305, 5016108061329, 5016108061312, 5051140359393
Colour White, Sandstone, Graphite
Manufacturer Hotpoint
Type of Loading Front Loading
Width in cm 60
Start Delay Option Yes
Heating System Electric Heating Element
Height in cm 85 cm
Construction Freestanding
Maximum Loading Capacity in kg 6

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Hotpoint VTD60P has been rated:

"very helpful" by (86%):

  1. SleepyDormouse
  2. RICHADA
  3. KELLYLOUJ

and 74 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Hotpoint TCYM750C6P

Hotpoint TCYM750C6P

Freestanding - Front Loading - Max load:7.5 kg - Timer Control - Width: 59.5 cm

Rate it now

Buy now for only £ 195.00

Hotpoint TVYM650C6P

Hotpoint TVYM650C6P

Freestanding - Front Loading - Max load:6.5 kg - Timer Control - Width: 59.5 cm

Rate it now

Buy now for only £ 159.00

Hotpoint AQC94F7E1M

Hotpoint AQC94F7E1M

Freestanding - Front Loading - Max load:9 kg - Timer Control - Width: 59.5 cm

Rate it now

Buy now for only £ 549.00



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Hotpoint VTD60P? Click here