SueLiz 2

SueLiz

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:17.11.2002

Reviews:12

Members who trust:20

Quote-start

Hotpoint Aquarius WMA 32 -hot machine.

Quote-end
02.12.2002 (12.08.2003)

Advantages:
Good ,reliable machine  .

Disadvantages:
No major disadvantages .

Recommendable No:

Detailed rating:

Performance

Ease of use

Durability

Noise

Value for money

User's ManualGood

MaintenanceEasy

SafetyVery safe

How much did you pay?£363.99

Any repairs?YES

Special features?Wheel locks ,automatic water level on small loads.

36 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (97%):
  1. daz.2k
  2. QueenAngella
  3. Tiggilina
and 32 other members
helpful by (3%):
  1. Sweetie51

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

About 18 months ago our second hand washer finally gave up and died - poor thing ,probably exhausted.
We decided to get a Hotpoint from a local shop.Not my first choice ,I didn't really like Hotpoint.

- For the energy efficency concious among us it is rated A for efficiency and washing performance.
- Spin drying is rated B, but I wouldn't have known if I hadn't checked.
- Capacity 5.5kg cotton , the drum is big.
- Uses 58 litres water on a 60 degrees ,cotton wash.
- The machine is available in white ,siver, and linen (cream to you and me !)

The dials on the front are well set out and easy to use.
Five buttons in a row:-

1. Time saver - saves up to a third on the normal programme time.(not available with Quickwash , or any rise or spin only settings.)

2. Super rinse -does what it says really. Uses more water to make sure you get as much soap out as possible.Good if you have some one with sensitive skin or you have used extra detergent to get out bad stains -that's what I use it for epecially if my 13yr.old son has just done cross-country and made me a cross mum.

3. Rinse hold - Ive not used this very often,it holds the water in the final rinse .It is supposed to help reduce creases in delicate fabrics.

4. Gentle action - reduces wash action and spin speed for delicate fabrics. If I ever get delicate fabrics ,I will have to try these out.

5. One- You can use this option for washing single items or a small number of items. eg. jeans or dirty hill walking clothes .Great for keeping them separate from other items.

There is one knob for varying the spin speed , for those delicate fabrics I suppose!

The final knob is the programme selector -more of them in a minute, bet you can't wait.

The machine does not have an LCD display ,I deliberately avoided one ,I prefer to see something mechanical to see where the progamme is up to.

The WMA 33 also has a variable temperature control but I don't think you really need that as you choose the cycle which sets the temperature at a suitable level in the first place.

Now for the programmes, I wont go into all the variables possible , just bear in mind the buttons I have already described.

A MAIN WASH, with pre-wash. Main wash reaches 95deg.C.

B COTTON WASH,with pre-wash.Main wash reaches 40 deg.C.

C WHITE COTTON WASH ,reaches 95deg C.

D COLOURFAST COTTON, reaches 60deg C.

E NON-COLOURFAST COTTON , reaches 40 degrees C . This is the programme I use most , I find it effective on most materials.

There are four spin and rinse only programmes , in various combinations. If you don't know what I mean then you had better ask the woman in your life!

There are also six different programmes for various types of synthetic material including silk and a programme specifically for wool.

As mentioned earlier, there is a quickwash programme which is great if you spill something on a special shirt or for freshening up lightly soiled items.

There are two automatic features ,when washing smaller loads water levels are automatically adjusted to the smaller load. The other is when themachine is spinning if the load is unbalanced the washer stops and starts to try and balance the load itself. If it doesn't manage it, the final spin indicator light flashes and you can open the door to re-arrange the clothes yourself before spinning.

I use my washer for a family that includes two children who seem attracted to mud , my husband and myself.

It probably gets used 5-6 times a week on average ,sometimes more and we have had it since June 2001.

We paid £363.99 including delivery and removal of the old machine.
We have had no problems with it so far .And the results are good .

It's a lot quieter than my old washer, but then it was old. I think this is partly due to the wheels .
They are easy to adjust and can be locked into position when the machine is level. Since the floor where my washer sits is a bit uneven this was a very useful feature.

The only disadvantage I can think of is the wash takes a long time between 90 minutes to 2hours. This does not bother me as I simply do another job whilst it does it's job. There are the shorter programmes if you need something quicker.


*** IMPORTANT UPDATE!! ***

About 3 - 4 months after writing this op. I noticed the machine was getting very noisy and not spinning properly.

I contacted various people and spoke to someone from Hotpoint. They said it sounded like a fault had developed with the machine that was one that they knew about . It had occurred in a few hundred machines.

Apparently it had been flagged up on T.V. The arrangement they had come to was that they would agree to replace the drum on all machines under two years old that developed this fault for £50.

I had been without my machine for nearly a week by now , so I was glad to get it repaired . I wasn't happy about the charge, because I see it as entirely the fault of the company.

The engineer came and said all the bearings round the drum were completely corroded and that the drum was a new design. The washer had to be stripped down to the bare bones and virtually rebuilt.

I now do not recommend Hotpoint and not the Aquarious at all. Though it now washes efficiently and is back to its quiet ways. I think the customer service is terrible.

Incidentely, my mum bought a washer a little later. For different reasons she ended up getting a top loading Hotpoint . The assistant said all the parts were Bosch in the machine. When I asked if this was unusual , she said not at all. The label on the machine no longer tells you who supplies the parts for that machine. she said the parts for my Hotpoint were supplied by Whirlpool!!

Nothing is quite what it seems !

Thanks for reading this op. ,hope you find it helpful.
SueLiz.

  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 1p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 1p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

SueMagee 12.08.2003 08:01

£50 does seem rather a lot for a repair that the company knew about and accepted was their fault. My sympathies though for being without a washer for a week - I know from experience that that's hell! Sue.

SusanLesley 15.02.2003 09:55

I had one of these for years at our previous house and was very impressed with it, Susan

Sweetiesarahjane 03.12.2002 16:31

great op - my washing machine is looking a bit worse for wear, so might have to look for a new one! :-) Sarah

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Similar offers for Hotpoint WMA30P »

1 to 3 out of 3 similar offers for Hotpoint WMA30P
AllergyFlow Hotpoint WMA30P Washing Machine Drum Paddle Lifter Version 1

AllergyFlow Hotpoint WMA30P Washing Machine Drum Paddle Lifter Version 1

This is the version 1 drum paddle lifter and is fixed to the washing machine drum by ... more

plastic location plugs that break away when the
drum paddle lifter is removed.Drum lifters are in
stock and available for free fast dispatch using
1st class Royal Mail.

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace kitchen
Postage & Packaging:  Free!
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Hotpoint Wma42p, Wma30p, Wma33s Washing Machine Damper Suspension Strut Kit

Hotpoint Wma42p, Wma30p, Wma33s Washing Machine Damper Suspension Strut Kit

powered by frooition pro shop search hotpoint wma 42 p wma 30 p wma 33 s washing machine ... more

damper suspension strut kit click here to view
full size full size image click to close full size
item description compatible hotpoint washing
machine suppension kit pack contains 2 x washing
machine suspension legs with pins fits the
following models

 Visit Shop  >
ebay
Postage & Packaging:  £0.00
Availability:  available

Hotpoint Indesit Door Handle: Creda Hotpoint 1604425 and C00202372 Creda TDL Series, Hotpoint SCR, TDL, WMA, WMS, WMT Series washing machine and tumble dryer door release kit Genuine: CREDA TDL11PE, TDL30IS, TDL30PE, TDL30PI, TDL31PE, W200FW, W220VW, WMA10PE, WMA30P

Hotpoint Indesit Door Handle: Creda Hotpoint 1604425 and C00202372 Creda TDL Series, Hotpoint SCR, TDL, WMA, WMS, WMT Series washing machine and tumble dryer door release kit Genuine: CREDA TDL11PE, TDL30IS, TDL30PE, TDL30PI, TDL31PE, W200FW, W220VW, WMA10PE, WMA30P

This part replaces part numbers 1604425 and C00202372Creda TDL Series, Hotpoint SCR, TDL, ... more

WMA, WMS, WMT Series washing machine and tumble
dryer door release kitSee more information for
full model details:Genuine: CREDA TDL11PE,
TDL30IS, TDL30PE, TDL30PI, TDL31PE, W200FW,
W220VW, WMA10PE, WMA30PE, WMA31PE, WMA32PE,
WMA33PE: HOTPOINTFEW10P, FEW12P, SCR11P, SCR33N,
SCR33P, SCR33S, SCR33YS, SCR34N, SCR34P, SCR34S,
SCR35N, SCR35P, SCR35S, SCR36N, SCR36P, SCR36S,
SCR37N, SCR37P, SCR37S, SCR38N, SCR38P, SCR38S,
SCR61N, SCR61P, SCR61S, SCR61YS, SCR62N, SCR62P,
SCR62S, SCR63N, SCR63P, SCR63S, TDL10P, TDL11P,
TDL12P, TDL13P, TDL14P, TDL15P, TDL30N, TDL30P,
TDL30S, TDL31N, TDL31P, TDL31S, TDL31YS, TDL32N,
TDL32P, TDL32S, TDL34N, TDL34P, TDL34S, TFA34N,
TFA34P, TFA34S, TVM35A, WMA10P, WMA11P, WMA12P,
WMA13P, WMA20P, WMA22P, WMA30N, WMA30P, WMA30S,
WMA31N, WMA31P, WMA31S, WMA32N, WMA32P, WMA32S,
WMA33N, WMA33P, WMA33S, WMA33YS, WMA34N, WMA34P,
WMA34S, WMA35N, WMA35P, WMA35S, WMA36N, WMA36P,
WMA36S, WMA37N, WMA37P, WMA37S, WMA37YS, WMA40N,
WMA40P, WMA40S, WMA42N, WMA42P, WMA42S, WMA44N,
WMA44P, WMA44S, WMA46N, WMA46P, WMA46S, WMA48N,
WMA48P, WMA48S, , WMA60N, WMA60P, WMA60S, WMA60YS,
WMA61N, WMA61P, WMA61S, WMA61YS, WMA62N, WMA62P,
WMA62S, WMA62YS, WMA63N, WMA63P, WMA63S, WMA63YS,
WMA64N, WMA64P, WMA64S, WMA66N, WMA66P, WMA66S,
WMA74S, WMA9P, WMM39A, WMM65A, WMS38N, WMS38P,
WMS38S, WMS39P, WMT01P, WMT02P, WMT03P, WMT05P:,
HOTPOINT - TDL52P (AQUA REV PHD DRYER PRODUCED MAY
2003 - MAY 2004), HOTPOINT - TFA53P (AQUA FRESH
AIR DRYER PRODUCED JULY 2003), HOTPOINT - TDL54P
(AQUA SENSING REV PHD PRODUCED MAY 2003 - MAY
2004), HOTPOINT - WMA52P (AQUARIUS 1100RPM 6 KG
2003 TO CURRENT POLAR), HOTPOINT - WMA5P (ENTRY
LEVEL 1000RPM 5.5KG 2003 TO CURRENT POLAR),
HOTPOINT - WMA50P (AQUARIUS 1000

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace large appliances
Postage & Packaging:  Free!
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Product Information »

Product details

EAN 5016108051023, 5016108054109, 5016108051092, 5016108051085
Manufacturer Hotpoint
Energy Efficiency Class (EU) A
Start Delay Option No
Type of Loading Front Loading
Depth in cm 58
Freestanding with Decor Door No
Width in cm 60
Height in cm 85 cm
Construction Freestanding

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Hotpoint WMA30P has been rated:

"very helpful" by (97%):

  1. daz.2k
  2. QueenAngella
  3. Tiggilina

and 32 other members

"helpful" by (3%):

  1. Sweetie51

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Hotpoint WMYF822P

Hotpoint WMYF822P

Freestanding - Front Loading - Energy Efficiency: A+ - Max Capacity: 8 kg - Width: 59.5 cm

User reviews (1)

Buy now for only £ 288.00

Hotpoint AQ 113 L 297 E

Hotpoint AQ 113 L 297 E

Freestanding - Front Loading - Energy Efficiency: A+++ - Max Capacity: 11 kg - Width: 59.5 cm

User reviews (1)

Buy now for only £ 347.00

Hotpoint HY6F451P

Hotpoint HY6F451P

Freestanding - Front Loading - Energy Efficiency: A+ - Max Capacity: 6 kg - Width: 59.5 cm

Rate it now

Buy now for only £ 349.00



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Hotpoint WMA30P? Click here