Houses of the Holy (Digitally Remastered) - Led Zeppelin

Community images

Houses of the Holy (Digitally Remastered) - Led Zeppelin

Hard Rock - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: Atlantic - Distributor: Arvato Services, Cinram Logistics - Released: 01/08/1997, 08/1997 - 75678263927

> Show product information

90% positive

4 reviews from the community

Review of "Houses of the Holy (Digitally Remastered) - Led Zeppelin"

published 07/10/2004 | joshholmes
Member since : 01/10/2004
Reviews : 1
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Excellent
Pro ground breaking experimentation, 6/8 superb tracks
Cons The Crunge
helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Lyrics
How does it compare to the artist's other releases

"Houses - Zep's unusual masterpiece"

Led Zeppelin's 5th studio album "Houses of the Holy" commences with the high octane, sex-driven "The Song Remains The Same". This, however, is not the precident for an album which contains amazing musical variety.

With the final strum of the opener still ringing in our ears, we're delicately introduced to 7 minutes 39 seconds of blissful ballad in "The Rain Song".

"Houses of the Holy" represents Led Zep at their hitherto most experimental, with mixed results. While "Dancing Days" plays like a superbly ominous monster-rocker, "The Crunge" is an unfortunate forray into the world of funk. They almost pull off their solitary career take on reggae during "D'Yer Mak'er" (meant to sound like "Jamaica"). Following this jokey number with the supremely eerie "No Quater" shows just how adventurous the band was being on this album.

"The Ocean" is a tribute to Robert Plant's newly born daughter. It's a massively confident, stomping, playful number that contains perhaps the catchiest riff of all time (later sampled by the "Beastie Boys").

Overall, "Houses of the Holy" is a magnificent album. It shows Led Zeppelin's massive diversity. On II, Zeppelin are awesome as heavy rockers, but "Houses" shows their range of ideas streatched far beyond this. After making this recoding Led Zeppelin must have justifiably thought that they could do anything, their status as rock-gods was set in stone.

Community evaluation

This review was read 1273 times and was rated at
91% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
helpful

Comments on this review

  • zedavies published 28/12/2004
    i agree "the ocean" riff is one of the best riffs of all time
  • pinkmatchstick published 06/11/2004
    Welcome to Ciao from a newcomer myself. I agree this is far and away their best album.
  • ray52 published 08/10/2004
    Hi and a warm welcome to ciao. I fair first review. I hope you enjoy the ciao experience. Ray
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Houses of the Holy (Digitally Remastered) - Led Zeppelin

Manufacturer's product description

Hard Rock - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: Atlantic - Distributor: Arvato Services, Cinram Logistics - Released: 01/08/1997, 08/1997 - 75678263927

Product Details

EAN: 75678263927

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 04/07/2011