Hyundai Coupe SIII 2.0

Community images

Hyundai Coupe SIII 2.0

Hyundai present the Coupe 2.0 SE 3dr Coupe with 5 Speed - (Man) / 4 Speed - (Auto), Front (FWD) running on Unleaded Petrol

> Show product information

89% positive

26 reviews from the community

Review of "Hyundai Coupe SIII 2.0"

published 22/12/2007 | KatiePuckrik
Member since : 28/03/2003
Reviews : 34
Members who trust : 3
About me :
Good
Pro Low price, good looks and a punchy engine.
Cons Cheap interior, soft suspension and depreciates fast.
very helpful
Road Handling
Comfort
Features
Fuel consumption
Looks

"It could have been so much more..."

15 years ago Hyundai was considered a bit of a joke. Their reputation was in the toilet and it grouped together with brands like "Yugo"! Then, the CEO, Chung Mong-Koo, ordered his managers to make quality and reliability their number one focus when building cars.

Today, Hyundai is winning awards for its reliability and is affectionately known as a "poor man's Toyota". They have announced plans to expand and become one of the 5 biggest car makers in the world. If they achieve this target, then, this will put them in the league of Ford, General Motors and Toyota. So Hyundai are aiming high! So Hyundai need some good cars on the market to achieve this ambition.

The Hyundai Coupe is a sports coupe. It's in a market segement which is full of choice. Its main competitors are the Honda S-2000 and the Porsche Boxster. The Hyundai Coupe will need to stand out in order to carve a place in the market for itself.

I drove the car long distance (250 miles). I was expecting a firm, powerful, pleasant drive. What I actually got was a floppy suspension! The ride was soft. I really would have thought Hyundai would have stiffened the suspension for this sports coupe. However, the Hyundai Coupe is reasonably powerful. When I needed to overtake, the car summoned power and speed without straining the engine and drive. On the whole, I felt neutral about the drive. What the Hyundai Coupe takes with one hand (soft ride) it gives with the other (power on command, without straining).

Fuel consumption isn't too bad either. Official UK figures are around 35mpg, which I achieved on my drive even with my heavy foot!

The exterior of the car looks good. There are certainly uglier cars out there (Renault Megane, anyone?). The interior is where it loses points. Now Hyundai cars all come with a 5 year bumper to bumper warranty, so I'm sure the plastics will last the life of the car, but it all feels cheap and the layout looks a like an after thought. But for the price, I can understand this.

Price is where the Hyundai Coupe shines. Starting from £15772, it is a bargain from brand new, but I recommend that you look at a third party broker like www.autoebid.com or www.drivethedeal.co.uk. However, there is a caveat with this. I have a friend who bought a brand new Hyundai Coupe for £15000. 3 years later, he is struggling to sell it for £5000! I have mentioned this before in my Hyundai Getz review that is one of the problems with Hyundai cars. Brand new, they are fantastic bargains. You get so much for your money. However, when it comes to selling it, the second hand market is already awash with American, Japanese and European cars at bargain prices. So laws of economics dictates that Hyundai cars need to fall a LONG way, in order to be attractive to a potential buyer. Buy a Hyundai car, by all means, but always bear in mind that once you get hold of it, it will start losing money and won't stop. It may be cheaper to have the car through to its death. Incidentally, my friend's Coupe is the 2004 model, but the principles still apply.

Overall, the Hyundai Coupe is a good car, but I just don't think it will be enough to survive the sports car market. It doesn't have the brand strength of a Porsche or Mercedes-Benz, or the quality of a Honda. If one were in the market for a sports coupe, people are willing to pay extra for a decent product. It's just not the sort of car you buy on a budget. That aside, it's strong on the road, has a good warranty and looks good. So it has its strength. But personally, I'd rather save up buy the Honda S-2000.

Community evaluation

This review was read 3385 times and was rated at
81% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • Bens__mummy published 04/01/2008
    Great review
  • patriciat published 27/12/2007
    I know nothing about cars but I'm quite happy with my Corsa VXR. Pat.t x
  • just.bcoz published 26/12/2007
    great review
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Hyundai Coupe SIII 2.0

Manufacturer's product description

Hyundai present the Coupe 2.0 SE 3dr Coupe with 5 Speed - (Man) / 4 Speed - (Auto), Front (FWD) running on Unleaded Petrol

Product Details

Body Type: Coupe

Fuel Type: Petrol

Range: Hyundai Coupe

Range + Engine Type: Coupe SIII 2.0, Coupe 2.0

Manufacturer: Hyundai

Transmission type: 5 Speed - (Man) / 4 Speed - (Auto)

Classification: Sports Car

Country of Origin: South Korea

CO2 Emissions: 193 g/km - (Man) / 211 g/km - (Auto), 193 g/km - (Man); 211 g/km - (Auto)

Emissions Class: EU3

Number of Doors: 3

Acceleration (0 - 62 mph): 9.3 seconds - (Man)

Maximum Speed (mph): 129

Warranty: 5 years / Unlimited miles

Cylinders: 4

Fuel Capacity (litres): 55

Torque: 137@4500 lb/ft

Driven Wheels: Front (FWD)

Insurance Group: 10

Engine Size (cc): 1975

Towing Limit (kg): 1400

Boot Capacity (litres): 418

Power: 141

Type: Car

Release Date: 01.01.2005

Height: 1330

Width: 1760

Length: 4395

Weight: 1382

Wheel Base (mm): 2530

Combined Fuel Consumption (mpg): 35.3

Service Interval: 10000 miles

Avg Price: 16795

Available Trims: FX; SE

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 19/11/2007