fast_as_a... 4

fast_as_a_bullet

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:11.08.2006

Reviews:2

Members who trust:1

Quote-start

Better in red!

Quote-end
11.08.2006

Advantages:
Stylish, solid road handling, top performance for engine size

Disadvantages:
high insurance, small wheels as standard

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Value for Money

Road Handling

Comfort

FeaturesGood

Fuel consumptionSatisfactory

LooksExcellent

10 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (56%):
  1. littlewebby
  2. annaroos1
  3. Sam_Garland
and 7 other members
helpful by (44%):
  1. Soho_Black
  2. Aussieme1106
  3. COOOEEE
and 5 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

I've been after a Hyundai Coup for a few months. Ever since I saw it on the website I felt I just had to try it out. Now that I have test driven the 1.6 I really must have one.

For starters it looks sooo cool! I think it's one of the best looking sports coupes out there.
Just look at its rippled bonnet and smooth lines, not to mention the curvy boot. And to be honest inside is just as good as the outside. The leather sports seats keep you in the optimum driving position without taking away any comfort.

The dials look great with silver background and red numbers, the big REV counter and speedometer gives it a really sporty look. The finish of the panels and buttons is stylish and has a solid build quality just like the rest of the car.

However there is one disadvantage (if you could call it as such), indicator switch is on the right hand side of the steering wheel, so the wipers are on the left, and I found that I was reaching for the wipers more often then not instead of the indicators, but it is easy to get used to.

The back seats have a lot more space then I thought they would, leg space is more then enough, headspace is a bit tight but you can fit a 5'11" person there with no problem.

To the boring bits:
It has central locking, electric windows, electric sunroof, driver and passenger airbags and a spacious boot.

Now about the handling.....
It's a smooth comfy ride for just driving around town and cruising down motorways, but when you get onto tight twisty country roads you can really get a feel of the car, its not just a sports car by name it is one by nature. The suspension keeps the car level through corners and allows you too feel what the car is doing underneath you. The steering is quick and responsive, it lets you feel connected to the front wheels as you turn so you know exactly how much grip you have through the corners.

The engine may only be a 1.6 but has plenty of power and thanks to a great gear ratio you get to use all that power effectively.
The car that I tested was second hand for 5,995 on a 51 plate from Mazda Twickenham. The cheapest one that I found was 4,500.

At the end of the day this is a really great car (despite the small wheels, which could actually change for about 600 at Halfords nationwide) and I can't wait to get one.


  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

  Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this reviews content

Comments about this review »

Aussieme1106 20.08.2006 21:48

I have a Hyundai Getz myself, Getz me from A to B....... Not overly keen on too much speed really, I have a Baby...... xx

Sam_Garland 13.08.2006 14:26

Very good first review - concisely and well-written (and you didn't waffle on about all the technical info, etc!) Car looks good too! Sam :-)

COOOEEE 13.08.2006 13:18

Bet you are saving those pennies hard to get one. You can add extra information to your reviews in the future if you want by using the edit link and you can upload photos into your reviews once you reach 1000 community points. Fionaxx

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

Post comment

Similar offers for Hyundai Coupe 1.6 »

1 to 3 out of 3 similar offers for Hyundai Coupe 1.6
Fulmen Car battery 12V 60Ah for Hyundai Coupe 1.6 16V, i 12/1996 -

Fulmen Car battery 12V 60Ah for Hyundai Coupe 1.6 16V, i 12/1996 -

By Battery. FULMEN batteries are manufactured by EXIDE and this battery is equivalent to ... more

EXIDE EB604 FORMULA range CCA: 390A Polarity: + on
the right Casing: D23 - 15% more starting power
compared to a standard battery - Central
ventilation with spark protection - Visual charge
indicator for quick checking of charge level -
Totally maintenance free - Perfectly conforms to
the most demanding car manufacturers'
specifications This type of battery is used to
start equipment or machinery (e.g. vehicles,
trucks, generators). The electrolyte in these
batteries is liquid and this allows for a fast
exchange of the ions between the electrode plates
allowing high discharge rates to be supported.
Please recharge the battery once received and
before the first use to ensure the best possible
performance. Our products are stored in our
warehouse which is equipped with a charging area
to guarantee you optimum quality. As part of our
ISO 9001 quality procedure, quality control tests
are frequently carried out on all our products.

 Visit Shop  >
allbatteries.co.uk
Postage & Packaging:  £0.00
Availability:  3 Days

Rate it now
Atec 2x Brake disc vented 280 FRONT HYUNDAI COUPE GK 1.6 16V,2.0,2.7 V6 FROM 2001; HYUNDAI SONATA MK 5 V 2.4 FROM 2005; HYUNDAI TUCSON JM 2.0 FROM 2004

Atec 2x Brake disc vented 280 FRONT HYUNDAI COUPE GK 1.6 16V,2.0,2.7 V6 FROM 2001; HYUNDAI SONATA MK 5 V 2.4 FROM 2005; HYUNDAI TUCSON JM 2.0 FROM 2004

Please refer to the vehicle list for all suitable vehicles and any technical restrictions ... more

in menu item "product details"!Brand new,
ready-to-fit, first class quality product
including a 2 year warranty!Price including
VAT!High quality brake discs made of steel

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace sports
Postage & Packaging:  £8.90
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Atec 2x Brake discs vented 280mm + Brake pads front axle HYUNDAI COUPE GK 1.6 16V,2.0,2.7 V6 FROM 2002; YUNFAI TUCSON JM 2.0,2.7 ALLRAD FROM 2004; KIA MAGENTIS MG 2.0,2.7 FROM 2005; KIA SPORTAGE 2.0 16V 4WD/CRDi/CRDi 4WD/i 16V,2.7 V6 4WD FROM 2004

Atec 2x Brake discs vented 280mm + Brake pads front axle HYUNDAI COUPE GK 1.6 16V,2.0,2.7 V6 FROM 2002; YUNFAI TUCSON JM 2.0,2.7 ALLRAD FROM 2004; KIA MAGENTIS MG 2.0,2.7 FROM 2005; KIA SPORTAGE 2.0 16V 4WD/CRDi/CRDi 4WD/i 16V,2.7 V6 4WD FROM 2004

Please refer to the vehicle list for all suitable vehicles and any technical restrictions ... more

in menu item "product details"!Brand new,
ready-to-fit, first class quality product
including a 2 year warranty!Price including
VAT!PLEASE NOTE: WITHIN THE EU BRAKE PADS MUST
HAVE A VALID ECE/90R CERTIFICATION. WE ONLY SELL
APPROVED AND APPROPRIATELY CERTIFICATED BRAKE
PADS.

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace sports
Postage & Packaging:  £8.90
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Product Information

Product details

Body Type Coupe
Available Trims FS; S
Fuel Type Petrol
Weight 1332
Length 4395
Width 1760
Height 1330
Avg Price 14795
Type Car
Power 103

Show all Product Information

More reviews

Review Ratings

This review of Hyundai Coupe 1.6 has been rated:

"very helpful" by (56%):

  1. littlewebby
  2. annaroos1
  3. Sam_Garland

and 7 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Hyundai Coupe SIII 2.0

Hyundai Coupe SIII 2.0

Coupe - Front (FWD) - 5 Speed - (Man) / 4 Speed - (Auto) - 1975 cc - Max Speed: 129 mph - 141 bhp - Petrol - Available Trims: SE, FX

User reviews (27)

Buy Now

Hyundai Tucson 2.7 V6

Hyundai Tucson 2.7 V6

MPV - Four Wheel Drive (4x4) - 4 Speed Automatic Gearbox - 2656 cc - Max Speed: 112 mph - 173 bhp - Petrol - Available Trims: CDX

Rate it now

Buy now for only £ 5,288.00

Hyundai Accent 1.3

Hyundai Accent 1.3

Saloon, Hatchback - Front (FWD) - 5 Speed Manual Gearbox - 1341 cc - Max Speed: 108, 109 mph - 85 bhp - Petrol - Available Trims: CDX, GSi

User reviews (22)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Hyundai Coupe 1.6? Click here