I Am Alive (Xbox 360)

Community images

I Am Alive (Xbox 360)

Chicago, June 2009. A 10.3 magnitude earthquake destroys the city and shatters your life as an ordinary citizen. As the rescue mysteriously fails to a...

> Show product information

80% positive

2 reviews from the community

Review of "I Am Alive (Xbox 360)"

published 13/03/2012 | MrBrightside1987
Member since : 06/08/2010
Reviews : 189
Members who trust : 128
About me :
Make today count because we ain't getting it back!
Excellent
Pro Fantastic graphics & sound effects, great story and realistic to some extent!
Cons Very short and can be quite tricky in places!
exceptional
Gameplay/Playability
Graphics
Sound
Value for Money
Difficulty & Complexity

"I Am Alive!"

Adam in a street in town!

Adam in a street in town!

I AM ALIVE


Finally I can say that I Am Alive has been released. I Am Alive has taken four years to be released but not how we all thought. I Am Alive didn't get a retail release and is in fact an Xbox Live Arcade game. This doesn't bother me an awful lot because a while back the game looked dead and was forgotten about but it definitely would of been better as a full release. I Am Alive is a survival horror game and one of the more realistic ones around to date mainly because others usually involve things like zombies or other creatures/monsters. I Am Alive doesn't feature any of these but you do have enemies such as other human beings. The game is available on PS3 as well as Xbox 360 and the game was developed by Ubisoft Shanghai and published by Ubisoft.
STORY

The story to I Am Alive is one reason why I love the game because its something new and exciting and is full of suspense and thrills. You are a guy called Adam who, one year on, after a worldwide disaster finds himself alone with most of human civilization wiped out and also finds himself struggling to survive in the deserted and destroyed town of Haventon. Adam is alone as he goes in search of his wife and daughter whom he hasn't seen in almost a year. Adam also meets survivors in and around the town and must help them with things they need and want and he also meets people which give him quests to do as he searches for his family.
GAMEPLAY

I Am Alive is similar to some survival horror games but mainly because of the camera angle the game uses. The game is shot from a third person perspective and overall this works really well and the camera in this game barely gets annoying like in most games. There is only one real game mode but there are two difficulties. One is just a basic normal difficulty and the other is actually called survival mode where enemies are harder to beat and rations and other items are harder to come by. When in the game you will come across tons of different items and you have to be very careful because you will meet survivors that might want your items.

After helping a survivor by giving them your goods that you have found you will automatically receive a bonus retry. Retries in this game are a massive thing because if you die and use one it automatically takes you back to your last checkpoint but if you die and have used all your retries you are automatically taken back to your last save point. I think this is a really good thing about the game because it makes it much more challenging over time. Adam has a health bar and stamina bar which is used throughout the whole of the game with the things you can do with Adam. He can jog which uses his stamina and sprint by tapping your button which uses much more stamina. Stamina automatically refills when you are resting, walking or basically not straining yourself. You will find items that will heal your health and stamina if you get desperate.

Adam does a hell of a lot of climbing in this game and its a bit of a mix between Tomb Raider style and Prince Of Persia style but more realistic and exciting. When climbing up to extreme heights Adam's stamina will drop increasingly but there are pitons that can help you. The game is quite realistic in places with bullets, rations and other bits hard to come by. Adam will use things such as a pistol, bow and grappling hook to get to those hard to reach places. You can use your pistol to hold up enemies and force them to back off to the edge of buildings or close to a lit fire and then you can kick them off or into the fire if you so wish. Adam will also receive a gas mask later in the game to help with the dust and ash in the lower area of town.

The game doesn't just have your normal survivors as it also has enemies that will attack you to survive or protect their territory. You must do what you can to survive and sometimes you can find yourself taking on up to 6 enemies at once. Approaching enemies with guns will cause them to aim the gun at you, now you have the decision to either approach the enemy because some don't actually have bullets or you can just walk away and nothing will happen. You could also go for the more serious option and pull your gun out and try to kill them before they kill you. The only downside is the rarity of ammo so you must use it wisely. Other enemies may approach you with machetes so you can hold your hands up and surprise them when they least expect it by slicing them with your very own machete. There are enemies later that wear bullet proof armor and will require you to shoot them in the head.

GRAPHICS

Now the graphics to I Am Alive are superb and stand out with great detail. Okay so its not up to some high standards like proper retail games but for an Xbox Live Arcade game the graphics are amazing. The town is beautifully designed very similar to a foggy Silent Hill town. Also Adam the main character of the game is a great looking character to play and is detailed really well. The game is better played at night because the game does have its dark parts which are very hard to see in daylight but the colouring overall is actually spot on. Later in the game things get worse with the dust and ash which makes it harder for you to see and to navigate around but i also think this works really well too. Enemies are probably the least detailed because you will meet many enemies that look alike but its nothing major. Overall I think I Am Alive is definitely one of the better looking Xbox Live Arcade games around!
SOUND EFFECTS

The sound effects to the game are very detailed in all aspects and is by far one of the positives of the game. The music gets exciting at times and adds more suspense and drama to the game. But the real bonus about the sound is the actual in game effects because they really bring the game to life. What stands out really well is the climbing effects when Adam is flying up all kinds of different bits. I was quite impressed with the action sound effects as well. Overall the game does have some top sound effects that sound perfect from a bit of machete fighting, climbing up massive buildings, running in the empty streets and having a shoot out with a bunch of savages and they all sound fantastic overall. You will meet many characters who sound and fit the game really well and its surprisingly impressive.
DIFFICULTY & LONGEVITY

This is one of those games where it can be quite challenging especially if you're new to these survival horror games. This is probably one of the hardest and most annoying at times but it rarely disappointed me. The hardest part of the game is probably keeping your items for other survivors that you want to help and when fighting numerous enemies at once. Because you rarely find ammo and sometimes you don't have any then you're going to struggle especially against the enemies with the guns which is always best to try and take them out first because 9/10 they will drop a bullet for you and you can hold the others up with your gun. Climbing up and finding where to go isn't too hard but can be confusing later on in the game. Controls are pretty much accurate and easy to master. Overall the difficulty of the game would be challenging for most.

By far the disappointment of the game is the length of it. It does have its replay value though and is one of the most enjoyable survival horror games I have ever played. Also because its something different is a bonus. The game took me roughly around 4-5 hours on one playthrough which isn't the worst ever and that's not forgetting the game is an Arcade games. Also the game is more challenging in survival mode which could take double the amount of time to finish. Overall I think its a little disappointing but its worth it and is worth playing through numerous times.
PRICE & ACHIEVEMENTS

I wasn't really that surprised by the price of the game but its definitely worth its value. The game cost me 1200 Microsoft Points which is equivalent to around £9.99. So for a fantastic survival horror game at that price its definitely value for money. Microsoft Points can be more expensive than that but there are places such as eBay, Game and Gamestation that sell them online for £9.99 for 1200 points and its even better because you get the code for the points in seconds. So overall very cheap for a brand new game.There are a total of just 12 achievements on the game and to get all of them it will require you to go through the game at least twice. 200g is on offer because its an Arcade game but there is a bit of variety in the achievements which is always good to see. Some achievements include completing the game on normal mode and survival mode and some also include saving a certain amount of survivors or doing certain missions. Overall there is a nice variety.
PROS
  • Stunning environments and very detailed graphics for an Arcade game.
  • The game features some fantastic sound effects and some suspenseful music throughout that will keep you on edge throughout.
  • I really like the story because its something new and very interesting.
  • Not just a survival game because it has action and platforming elements too.
  • £9.99 for a top notch survival horror game is well worth it.
  • Its quite realistic in some places and makes a lot of sense.
CONS
  • Its not a proper retail release which is a shame.
  • The game isn't massive and can be completed in no time when you get the hang of it.
  • Also the game is a little difficult in places especially when you're surrounded by enemies.
  • No multiplayer options at all except online leaderboards.
  • The side quests when helping survivors seem a little repetitive at times.
FINAL THOUGHT

So I Am Alive was finally released on the Xbox 360 but not as a proper game but just as a download only after a whole 4 years worth of waiting I have to say i thoroughly enjoyed it and I am very glad I got it. I Am Alive is exciting and full of surprises. I do feel the game would of been better if released on disc and if it was much longer or had some sort of multiplayer option other than a leaderboard that doesn't effect the game at all.I Am Alive is definitely a game i would recommend especially if you like the Silent Hill games or other games similar to that. Also if you like a good challenging game then this could be right up your street. The main thing to look at is the length and to be honest you shouldn't let the length of this put you off because the town is quite big and you can explore quite a lot of it. Also the game has to be completed numerous times for all achievements and its just as enjoyable second time round.

So Overall a top Arcade game and worth every penny and definitely a game I would recommend. I would give I Am Alive a fantastic 9/10 rating! One of the best Arcade games available on Xbox Live and soon to be on PSN (PS3).


Review also posted on dooyoo under the username: simon020187!

Community evaluation

This review was read 1009 times and was rated at
64% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
exceptional

Comments on this review

  • Gingerkitty published 04/04/2012
    Not my cup of tea, but a fantastic review all the same!
  • Coloneljohn published 25/03/2012
    Excellent review. John
  • Lools_24 published 20/03/2012
    Excellent review x
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : I Am Alive (Xbox 360)

Manufacturer's product description

Chicago, June 2009. A 10.3 magnitude earthquake destroys the city and shatters your life as an ordinary citizen. As the rescue mysteriously fails to arrive, you are trapped in an environmental and social chaos that gets worse by the hour. Your only way out is to set up a massive refugee camp to hopefully attract rescuer?s attention. You will need to find resources and organize survivors to create your headquarters. In the midst of Chicago?s ruins, you?ll have to both preserve and sacrifice in order to survive during 7 days. Rescue, heal, protect, kill, ambush or steal. But first, try staying alive.The city is falling apart all around you! Survive the earthquake and its aftershocks, the collapsing buildings and the devastating rifts in this never before seen hostile environmentMake your way through social chaos. Evolve among other survivors in an urban jungle where there are no more rules and where violent groups dictate their lawLearn to survive. Use tactics, diversion and discretion to survive against the oddsRescue or hunt. In this new era where everyone is for himself and where water is gold, hunt for precious resources, save people in distress and restore order to unify survivors in one base camp

Product Details

Publisher: Ubisoft

Genre: Action/Adventure

Format: DVD-ROM

Platform: Xbox 360

EAN: 3307211504707; 3307211504721; 3307211504738

EAN: 3307211504707

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 08/12/2009