wulise 4

wulise

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me: Well, I am feeling alot better now. I have been to Tenerife with Shane and now need some inspiration to write again. Any suggestions?

Member since:11.07.2000

Reviews:372

Members who trust:324

Quote-start

Please Sir, can I have some MORE.

Quote-end
07.10.2001 (09.10.2001)

Advantages:
Firm stools .

Disadvantages:
Made by Procter and Gamble .

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Food according to Life Stage

Variety of flavours

Tooth kind?

Nutritional Value

PriceSee opinion

36 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (99%):
  1. loerya
  2. Catswhiskers1
  3. FelineGroovy
and 94 other members
helpful by (1%):
  1. AnnieTime

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

As many readers will be aware I have rescued animals. My local rescue centre, Wood Green Animal Shelter recommends Iams for its animals. I know that Proctor and Gamble makes them, so am a little reluctant to buy this product. Max (my five toothed Tabby) is always hungry. Two weeks ago I ran out of James Well Beloved for Max, so at 6am in the morning I sent Shane down to Tesco’s to get some dried food for Max. Shane turned up with Iams so here is my opinion of the product.


Iams claims to ‘help your cat enjoy a long, active, healthy life'. It is a complete and balanced diet that works in conjunction with the immune system of the cat. It caters for all the life stages of the animal, from kitten to senior cat and all stages in between.


**Feeding Programme**

Remember to have plenty of water avalible when feeding any animal dried food.

Iams contains no added colorants, flavourings or preservatives, so may be ideal to use for a cat with a sensitive stomach. Do check with your vet first for dietary advice.

Slowly introduce this dried diet, ideally over a period of four to five days. Advice on the amount to feed a cat is given on the bags. If your cat uses a litter tray you will be able to observe you pets stools becoming firmer and a little less smelly! This is due to the higher content of fibre within their diet.

I find died food ideal for Max as he only has five teeth and Iams contains calcium and essential minerals for strong bones and teeth.


**Types of Iams**

*Iams Adult*
This is for the adult domestic cat with no medical conditions.

*Iams Hairball Control*
This product has a natural fibre to help reduce the formation of hairballs by generally carrying the hairballs though the alimentary canal and out though the stools.

*Iams Kitten*
This product is designed for the younger cat.

*Iams Light*
This food is the cat’s equivalent to ‘Weight Watcher’ from Heinz! It contains around 40% less fat than the other adult varieties.

*Iams Senior*
This is designed to help compensated with the changes to the cat’s immune system as they get older.

**Cost**

All in all the out lay for Iams is expensive. 100g of dried food is more expensive than Friskies Gourmet and I think that 31p for a 100g tray is a little excessive!

The prices below are those quoted by Tescos so may vary for pet shop to pet shop. My advice is to shop around.

Iams Cat food Adult Chicken 1kg £5.38 (£0.54/100G)
Iams Cat food Adult Chicken 300g £1.17 (£0.39/100G)
Iams Cat food Adult Lamb 1kg £5.49 (£0.55/100G)
Iams Cat food Adult Lamb 300g £1.17 (£0.39/100G)
Iams Cat food Adult Light Chicken 300g £2.16 (£0.72/100G)
Iams Cat food Adult Ocean Fish 1kg £5.49 (£0.55/100G)
Iams Cat food Adult Ocean Fish 300g £1.17 (£0.39/100G)
Iams Cat food Adult Ocean Fish 3kg £12.99 (£0.43/100G)
Iams Cat food Hairball Chicken 1kg £6.49 (£0.65/100G)
Iams Cat food Hairball Chicken 300g £2.19 (£0.73/100G)
Iams Cat food Kitten Chicken 1kg £6.49 (£0.65/100G)
Iams Cat food Kitten Chicken 300g £1.44 (£0.48/100G)
Iams Cat food Light Chicken 1kg £6.49 (£0.65/100G)
Iams Cat food Senior Chicken 1kg £6.49 (£0.65/100G)
Iams Cat food Senior Chicken 300g £1.44 (£0.48/100G)

**For further information**

Address:
Procter and Gamble UK
Weybridge
Surrey
KT13 0XP

Telephone:
0808 100 70 10(UK)
Or
1800 509 294(Ireland)

Website:
www.iams.com
  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

xdonzx 03.09.2007 18:56

very helpful x

FelineGroovy 29.05.2004 15:24

Hannah - Iams are probably the worst for animal testing. They have a horrific record. Wulise - great review, have you thought about adding something about the animal testing side of things?

mrs_dodger 02.12.2003 01:56

my cat dooby loves this stuff! I even put him on the light stuff and it worked - it got his weight down for the next check up at the vets lol...but it's probably gone back up again now ;) good op steph xx

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Iams has been rated:

"very helpful" by (99%):

  1. loerya
  2. Catswhiskers1
  3. FelineGroovy

and 94 other members

"helpful" by (1%):

  1. AnnieTime

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Iams? Click here