In the Aeroplane Over the Sea - Neutral Milk Hotel

Community images

In the Aeroplane Over the Sea - Neutral Milk Hotel

Alternative - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: Domino - Distributor: Discovery, PIAS UK/Sony DADC - Released: 05/09/2005 - 5034202002123

> Show product information

100% positive

5 reviews from the community

Review of "In the Aeroplane Over the Sea - Neutral Milk Hotel"

published 27/04/2014 | frankieb1992
Member since : 04/03/2014
Reviews : 60
Members who trust : 22
About me :
Hi thank you for rating my reviews I try my best to rate back hope you enjoy reading them xx. So much to review so little time
Excellent
Pro The whole album full of beauty
Cons Hipster album not for everyone
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"In The Aeroplane Over The Sea Neutral Milk Hotel What A Beauty"

Intro
This Album by Neutral Milk Hotel is an absolute sensational piece of music. Filled with subliminal lyrics and low fi vibes this album is a stunner from start to finish. With crazy instrumental and low vocals filled with feeling and meaning this album is easily one of the best albums i have heard. With slow paced songs that give this album a chill feeling until track 6 Holland 1945 that hits with a great fast paced storytelling song with a great backing from guitar and the occasional trumpet a great tune one of the best on the album.

Track Listing : The king of carrot flowers pt one : An excellent opening to this extraordinary album with subliminal lyrics about love relationships and family. With a calm backing from mellow guitars and very nice vocals in a classic low fi 90s indie style/psych elephant 6 sound which is really nice on this tune.

2 : Opening track pt 2 and 3 : Lovely instrumental start to this very mellow but the vocals are a repetitive i love you Jesus Christ. When the song hits the verses and choruses it is a song of power with a classic low fi style to it. Classic 90s tune which is a great follow on from the opening track played with some excellent backing from the drums

Track 3 : Title track : An absolutely beautiful love song. With a classic mellow guitar in the background. the best lyrical/ vocal on the album. A classic chill song for summer with real feeling and emotion and some lovely instrumentals with gentle drum backing Easily the best song on the album in my opinion an absolute masterpiece from Neutral Milk Hotel the trumpet instrumental on this track is something to behold.

Track 4: Two Headed Boy : This is an upbeat headed boy with some of the strangest lyrics off the album but it is still an exceptional track. With prolonged notes on the vocal and a cower into the two headed boy this song gives some real feeling. With a repetitive hard hitting guitar in an excellent rhythm. An exceptional track of this album lasting nearly 4 and a half minutes

Track 5 : The Fool : The shortest track of the album lasting less than 2 minutes. This is an instrumental which follow on nicely from two headed boy. Gives the feeling of a marching band with trumpets and a nice soft drum backing a very nice tune.

6: Holland 1945 : A great little tune this one an upbeat low fi anthem in my opinion with excellent lyrical content. An some great trumpet backing and exceptional vocals squeezed into this song with classic low fi style. A lovely song one of the best of the whole album.

7 : Communist Daughter : Slow darker low fi to the opening to this track but it is an absolute beauty. With lovely vocals and a slow mellow guitar and an excellent trumpet instrumental that compliments the feeling of this song in it's entirety. open low point of the track in my opinion is the slight amount of white noise at the end which isn't really needed. Overall a great track exurbanites all of the messages that this album puts across with true heart and grit.

8. Oh Comely : The longest track of the album lasting over 8 minutes. This is a crazy lyrical composition with a feeling of a throwback to a folk/psych feel. A song sung with real heart and feeling with mellow guitars and exceptional vocals so much squeezed into such a long song. Some of the lyrics are totally absurd but the song in my opinion grabs you and in most cases i would skip a song that it 8 minutes long but i had no need to in the case of this beauty as it was totally astonishing from start to finish.

9. Ghost: Nice acoustic intro to this track with some serious distortion which is a bit of-putting in the track. This is still a great song but it isn't on the level of the previous tracks. In my opinion this is the one track of the whole album that you would probably skip if you were listening to it.

10. Untitled : Complete switch up from the rest of the album featuring what sounds likes bagpipes.This is a completely instrumental track which in my opinion is great but some people may feel that it is very annoying and definitely skip it. But when the bagpipes meet with drums and acoustic guitar this rack really goes into it's own.

11. Two headed boy pt 2 : Follow on from the previous song is the intro to this track which sound a bit like an air shelter call. but don't let this put this of because but 30 seconds the beauty of this song is unleashed with exceptional lyrical content and a soft vocal complemented amazing by a lovely tuned acoustic guitar and absolutely amazing finish to this classic album.

Conclusion

Overall This Neutral Milk Hotel album is amazing in my opinion and grabs you from the opening track and just makes you love it. Describe by some as the best album of the 90s and it is pretty close in my opinion i recommend this to anyone that hasn't heard this before.

Places to buy

Amazon £4.24 + 1.26 new

Ebay 99p + 1.49 postage follow link below
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Neutral-Milk-Hotel-In-the-Aeroplane-Over-the-Sea-1998-/271464717580?pt=UK_CDsDVDs_CDs_CDs_GL&hash=item3f348edd0c

Community evaluation

This review was read 325 times and was rated at
67% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • EurekasLaw published 01/06/2014
    Nice Review
  • Deesrev published 23/05/2014
    Excellent review xXx
  • mumsymary published 01/05/2014
    well reviewwed
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "In the Aeroplane Over the Sea - Neutral Milk Hotel"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : In the Aeroplane Over the Sea - Neutral Milk Hotel

Manufacturer's product description

Alternative - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: Domino - Distributor: Discovery, PIAS UK/Sony DADC - Released: 05/09/2005 - 5034202002123

Product Details

EAN: 5034202002123

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 28/10/2011