International Velvet - Catatonia

Community images

International Velvet - Catatonia

Rock & Pop - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: Blanco y Negro Records, Beggars Banquet - Distributor: PIAS UK/Arvato Services - Released: 02/02/1998 ...

> Show product information

95% positive

8 reviews from the community

Review of "International Velvet - Catatonia"

published 14/11/2017 | killingtime69
Member since : 31/10/2017
Reviews : 7
Members who trust : 0
About me :
I'm not doing this for money.
Good
Pro Rock with pop choruses
Cons Middle of the album not too exciting
not helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"The Last Of The Famous International Velvet"

Had I known Catatonia to have a song named 'Mulder & Scully' I'd have been on their case sooner! It is a name-drop - Cerys Matthews is no X-phile; the opener has jerking guitars, conflict in trying to go it alone. Highlight of the album however, are the "do-do"s and "na-na"s being partnered over Mark Roberts' ascending guitar line in follow-up 'Game On' - it is the song I'd want to hear most if they ever got back together. Of the acoustic numbers I prefer 'Don't Need The Sunshine' over 'Johnny Come Lately'. The songs sandwiched between them are not too exciting, but I'll remember 'Goldfish & Paracetamol' for its drum and brass, and the title track for which, aside from the chorus is sung in Welsh and I am not Welsh. International Velvet ends strongly: 'Strange Glue' is lighters in the air, 'My Selfish Gene' heartfelt.

Community evaluation

This review was read 17 times and was rated at
80% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
not helpful

Comments on this review

  • Soho_Black published 20/11/2017
    As a starting point, this isn't too bad, but as a whole review, it needs a lot more.
  • FluffyKipper published 15/11/2017
    I'm sorry, but I didn't find this review very useful personally. You could do with writing a little more and perhaps looking at how to format reviews. Thank you for taking the time to write a review though :)
  • catsholiday published 15/11/2017
    Not much here to rate sorry
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : International Velvet - Catatonia

Manufacturer's product description

Rock & Pop - StudioRecording - 1 CD(s) - Label: Blanco y Negro Records, Beggars Banquet - Distributor: PIAS UK/Arvato Services - Released: 02/02/1998 - 639842083423

Product Details

EAN: 639842083423

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011