steven938 5

steven938

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:09.06.2004

Reviews:3

Quote-start

From a Korean Jaguar to the real thing.

Quote-end
22.05.2008

Advantages:
The name, the feel, the drive

Disadvantages:
Big engine, big insurance

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Comfort

Road Handling

Security

Looks

Fuel consumption

Purchase Price6300

ReliabilityExcellent

SafetyExcellent

SpaciousnessGood

Customer serviceGood

FeaturesExcellent

11 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
very helpful by (100%):
  1. MAFARRIMOND
  2. Soho_Black
  3. eljimbob
and 9 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

My previous car was a 2 litre Daewoo Leganza which I thought was pretty comfortable although a bit thirsty. Definitely roomy and until the head gasket went, very reliable.

I have to admit, another big car was not really on my shopping list - I actually had my eye on an LPG Astra and would have been happy, but the girlfriend saw this one at Carbase.biz in Weston-Super-Mare and it filled her criteria. It's red.

Now having driven a real Jaguar I realise what I heap the Leganza was. The bullet proof 2.5 litre, V6 engine, 4 wheel drive, the smooth and quiet ride, the comfortable quality leather seats, all make this car feel in a different world to its far-eastern competitor (fortunately no more in any incarnation).

The Jag's boot is large in plan dimensions but as others have said it's not deep. The rear passenger space is best described as 'enough', so long as you are not 6 ft tall, but then I don't expect that there are many cars that a tall person would be comfortable in for a long drive.

The front half though is a different story. Seats that adjust to every body shape and are firm enough to hold you in place and electrically adjustable on both sides. Cubby holes, nooks and crannies everywhere, including 2 storage compartments under the armrest - a small flat one for the mobile phone or GPS and a larger one for sweets, a bottle or other items. The glove box is quite generous too.

The stereo really sounds the biz for a factory fit - but that's just as well as you can't fit your own. Shame really as I'd prefer my 10 CD Sony unit, but I'll live with the single CD item as fitted. Air conditioning and climate control that chills you out and so many clever little ideas that more could adopt if they just took the thought to heart. Like a little arrow on the side of the petrol pump symbol on the gauge to remind you which side the filler cap is on. If you're constantly in and out of various cars, you appreciate the reminder.

If you're a DIY mechanic you'd be well advised to get a really good workshop manual or to forget it. There's not much space under the bonnet although all the items for regular checks are within easy reach, actually changing anything could be difficult. Even the plugs are under a large shield, but again that's not unusual on a modern car.

I bought my 52 reg model in May 2008 with 60,000 miles and 2 previous owners on the clock. I take my hat off to those 2 previous owners as the interior and exterior of my new car is immaculate. Absolutely showroom condition. My ambition now is to keep it that way. I'd say it's far more than the tarted up Mondeo which is at the root of this car. Jaguar have added all the touches that one would expect from the marque and added those to a solid, reliable and stable chassis. Four wheel drive adds another safety factor and more airbags than a room full of politicians make the car very safe in the event of a smash.

Of course all of the above is just initial thoughts and observations on a week of owning the car, but I'll re-write this after a few months of ownership and see if my feelings have changed.

  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

  Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

headcase44 22.05.2008 23:18

Very well reviewed...Thanks. J.

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Similar offers for Jaguar X-Type 2.5 »

1 to 3 out of 6 similar offers for Jaguar X-Type 2.5 Show all similar offers
Upgrade Spark Plugs NGK Iridium ITR6F13 x6 - JAGUAR X TYPE 2.5 01>08

Upgrade Spark Plugs NGK Iridium ITR6F13 x6 - JAGUAR X TYPE 2.5 01>08

Manufacturer: NGK

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace homeimprovement
Postage & Packaging:  Free!
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

ATEC Brake discs solid Ø 280 MM + Brake pads rear axle FORD MONDEO MK 3/III B5Y 1.8, 1.9, 2.0, 2.5, ST220 2000-04 + ESTATE BWY + SALOON B4Y; JAGUAR X-TYPE CF1 2.0, 2.2 D, 2.5 V6, 3.0 V6 FROM 2001 + ESTATE 2.0 D, 2.2 D, 2.5, 3.0 FROM 2004

ATEC Brake discs solid Ø 280 MM + Brake pads rear axle FORD MONDEO MK 3/III B5Y 1.8, 1.9, 2.0, 2.5, ST220 2000-04 + ESTATE BWY + SALOON B4Y; JAGUAR X-TYPE CF1 2.0, 2.2 D, 2.5 V6, 3.0 V6 FROM 2001 + ESTATE 2.0 D, 2.2 D, 2.5, 3.0 FROM 2004

Please refer to the vehicle list for all suitable vehicles and any technical restrictions ... more

in menu item "product details"!Brand new,
ready-to-fit, first class quality product
including a 2 year warranty!Price including
VAT!PLEASE NOTE: WITHIN THE EU BRAKE PADS MUST
HAVE A VALID ECE/90R CERTIFICATION. WE ONLY SELL
APPROVED AND APPROPRIATELY CERTIFICATED BRAKE
PADS.Remember: You will only be charged shipping
costs once per order. Buy two or more items - save
on shipping costs

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace sports
Postage & Packaging:  £10.99
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

ATEC 4x Brake discs + Brake pads front and rear axle FORD MONDEO MK III 3 B5Y BWY B4Y 1.8 16V SCi ST220 2.0 TDCi 16V 2.5 V6 UNTIL 08.2004; JAGUAR X-TYPE CF1 ESTATE 2.0 D 2.2 D 2.5 3.0

ATEC 4x Brake discs + Brake pads front and rear axle FORD MONDEO MK III 3 B5Y BWY B4Y 1.8 16V SCi ST220 2.0 TDCi 16V 2.5 V6 UNTIL 08.2004; JAGUAR X-TYPE CF1 ESTATE 2.0 D 2.2 D 2.5 3.0

Please refer to the vehicle list for all suitable vehicles and any technical restrictions ... more

in menu item "product details"!Brand new,
ready-to-fit, first class quality product
including a 2 year warranty!Price including
VAT!PLEASE NOTE: WITHIN THE EU BRAKE PADS MUST
HAVE A VALID ECE/90R CERTIFICATION. WE ONLY SELL
APPROVED AND APPROPRIATELY CERTIFICATED BRAKE
PADS.Remember: You will only be charged shipping
costs once per order. Buy two or more items - save
on shipping costs

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace sports
Postage & Packaging:  £8.90
Availability:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

Product Information »

Product details

Body Type Saloon
Fuel Type Petrol
Country of Origin UK
Range Jaguar X-TYPE
Range + Engine Type X-TYPE 2.5, X-TYPE 2.5 V6
Manufacturer Jaguar
Insurance Group 15
Engine Size (cc) 2495
Towing Limit (kg) 1500
Boot Capacity (litres) 452

Show all Product Information

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Jaguar X-Type 2.5 has been rated:

"very helpful" by (100%):

  1. MAFARRIMOND
  2. Soho_Black
  3. eljimbob

and 9 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Jaguar X-TYPE 3.0 V6 Estate

Jaguar X-TYPE 3.0 V6 Estate

Estate - Four Wheel Drive (4x4) - 5 Speed Manual, 5 Speed Automatic, 5 Speed - (Man) / 5 Speed - (Auto) - 2967 cc - Max Speed: 144 mph - 231 bhp - Petrol

User reviews (1)

Buy Now

Jaguar X-Type 3.0

Jaguar X-Type 3.0

Saloon - Four Wheel Drive (4x4) - 5 Speed - (Man) / 5 Speed - (Auto), 5 Speed Automatic, 5 Speed Manual - 2967 cc - Max Speed: 146 mph - 231 bhp - Petrol

User reviews (8)

Buy Now

Jaguar X-Type 2.0 Diesel

Jaguar X-Type 2.0 Diesel

Saloon - Front (FWD) - 5 Speed Manual Gearbox - 1998 cc - Max Speed: 125 mph - 128 bhp - Diesel

User reviews (14)

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Jaguar X-Type 2.5? Click here