Joe Strummer - The Future Is Unwritten

Community images

Joe Strummer - The Future Is Unwritten

The iconic frontman for the Clash takes centre stage in this documentary from THE FILTH AND THE FURY director Julien Temple. Joe Strummer, one of musi...

> Show product information

85% positive

3 reviews from the community

Review of "Joe Strummer - The Future Is Unwritten"

published 01/06/2007 | Sh123
Member since : 15/02/2007
Reviews : 3
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Excellent
Pro awesome soundtrack, inspirational
Cons N/A
somewhat helpful
Did you enjoy it?
Story
Characters / Performances
Special Effects
Soundtrack

"In a league of its own!"

One of the best biographical films i have ever seen. It's difficult to put into words how amazing this film is, as what ever i say couldn't possible do it the justice it deserves.
Anyone interested in the clash, joe strummer, or even the punk movement in general is going to love this movie. it is both informative and entertaining, but more importantly: enlightening, eye opening and inspirational.
The film has been wonderfully put together and structured. It's in a league of it's own with its fast pace, immense soundtrack and surprising appearances from huge stars, such as johnny depp!
This is most certainly a must see film, I would reccomend to absolutely anyone of any age, but expecially those who around in the days of the clash!

Community evaluation

This review was read 453 times and was rated at
100% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
somewhat helpful

Comments on this review

  • TheHairyGodmother published 06/06/2007
    sorry for the low rating but this review is crying out for loads and loads more information. Have a look around at similar reviews to see what is required and if you update, please do not hesitate to drop me a line in my guestbook and i will happily come back and re-rate :o)
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Joe Strummer - The Future Is Unwritten

Manufacturer's product description

The iconic frontman for the Clash takes centre stage in this documentary from THE FILTH AND THE FURY director Julien Temple. Joe Strummer, one of music's most original voices, gets the full treatment, as this film explores his life from birth to his death in 2002..

Release Details

DVD Region: DVD, Blu-ray

Studio(s): 4DVD; SPIRIT ENTERTAINMENT; TECHNICOLOR DISTRIBUTION SERVICES, VERTIGO FILMS

Producer: Alan Moloney, Amanda Temple, Anna Campeau

Featured: The Clash, Joe Strummer

Editor: Niven Howie, Mark Reynolds, Tobias Zaldua

Cinematographer: Ben Cole

Subject: Joe Strummer

Languages

Main Language: English

Technical Information

Special Features: Interactive menu

Aspect Ratio: 16:9 Anamorphic Wide Screen

Sound: Dolby Digital

Professional Reviews

Review: A documentary the rocks. Unmissable (Esquire, 2007-04-26)<br><br>Powerful, emotional, a must-see (Mojo, 2007-04-26)<br><br>Passionate, innovative film-making at its best (The Times, 2007-06-26)<br><br>Moving and imaginative trip through the life of one of rock's most fascinating spirits (Time Out, 2007-04-26)<br><br>Phenomenal, captures the spirit of rock 'n' roll (Uncut, 2007-04-26)<br><br>The best music film ever (XFM, 2007-06-26)<br><br>

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 08/05/2007