Last Night - Moby

Community images

Last Night - Moby

1 CD(s) - Electronic - Label: EMD Int'l - Distributor: EMI Operations/CEVA Logistics, PIAS UK/Arvato Services - Released: 12/05/2008 - 5099951830724

> Show product information

80% positive

2 reviews from the community

Review of "Last Night - Moby"

published 30/06/2008 | costas1234
Member since : 27/01/2004
Reviews : 266
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Super
Pro great Electronic and dance compact disc
Cons some poor tracks and perhaps uses too many music genres
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"moby last night compact disc"

moby - last night

I have always been a fan of Moby’s work most obvious tracks from the ninetee's in 'go', and most recently the itv formula one signature track ‘lift me up’, and also the james bond theme of ‘tomorrow never dies’. It is something about the style and the rhythm of the music played along with these track's tempted me into buying this album.

I tend to find his music rather easy to listen to as the artist demonstrates in these particular tracks alone, that the music is particularly well dressed up from start to finish. This album by genre is more electronically music based compared to some of his previous albums. So instrumentally speaking the use of a keyboard synthesiser was the album’s main focus point. The album was released at the end of March of this year, and the total music playing time is just under sixty five minutes.

moby last night track listing

1) oOh yeah: The first track on the compact disc starts with the title of this track. It does sound strange with its electronic repetition, which is then followed by some ninety seconds where the music breaks into some mellow singing, the largely repetitive voice stops for a while and comes back later. It does sound a complete contrast to moby’s more well known and much more famous songs. This would count as a good disco tune in the right venue and a very good opening track.

2) i love to move in here: This has a Latin jazz feel to it, though the music is electronically led. The background is followed up with some repetitive singing I love to move in here, after about two verses of a Mr t old school style rap is then included and then re mixed with the opening music. Overall this track is a nice and pleasant nice disco tune suitable for a Summer Day Listening.

3) 257 zero: This is a Good track that is similarly electronically produced aimed at a dance and disco audience. The track has a female voice making a count-from 1-9 then zero. What sets this particular track aside is that there is a sharper and faster rhythm and it includes some Electronic keyboard drum and violin style notes that form at different intervals.

4) everyday it's 1989: An interesting dance track whereby there is a female singer called Sylvia who plays in another band called Kudu.

5) live for tomorrow: The same female singer takes solo charge of the singing and the singing is done in a way that caught me by surprise, as the singing is done in a way that create a nice mellow and synchronised varied blend of singing and Electronic beats.

The one criticism of the singing is that the word ‘tomorrow” has a projected word ending effect. The overall result I had when I listened to this song was experiencing a strange form of peaceful harmonious. Also it does have some good variation in electronic Music.

6) alice: Interestingly enough when I listened to this song, it sounds like a broken down record player with its rap style focus here. No more comment on this.

7) hyena's: Now apart from the silliness of the title of this song, this goes back to being one of the more better songs on the compact disc.

8) I’m in love: From the lyrics this song is really nicely made. The singing is good, the main focus again is on the electronic music being produced.

9) disco lies: This was a track previously released in 2007. This is a nice Dance track that moves fast into singing verses where the female singer sings about the end of the people at the disco telling lies. Lyrics used include “how could you lie”, and “now this is the end”.

10) the stars: The drum sounds a much faster pace, and the keyboard effects and the vocal are really well versed together. The main lyrics are “can you believe it”, and “i see the star's”. Overall it is a nice dance track that focuses on good variation at different interval's and is well paced throughout.

11) degenerates: Sounds like a death type soundtrack that I guess could be included in a murder film. Their is a depressing start to this track then it drags itself out of the dull introduction after about two minutes and then forms itself into a slower hollowed out version of what was played before. This particular track would be good if it was included in a relevant film though from a listening point of view it does not entertain.

12) apocalypse: This has a pleasant organ style feel to this track and is really nice and cleanly sounding. I entirely enjoyed this track as although it features towards the end of the album listing it still provided me with a great variation in music. The range of soft, slower rhythm and beats than his previous titles and mellow Listening made this track enjoyable.

13) mothers of the night: Again this is another track that impresses in terms of hearing perhaps less keyboard and instead focuses more on hearing a much wider array of other instrumental sounds.

14) last night: From a listening perspective I felt that this has a romantic yet emotional feel to it. The over riding feature is a nice solo singing which sounds really sweet and pleasant to hear. The keyboard plays a more minor role in this track though it does provide well timed notes. This I guess is a perfect Summer time track.

overall I found this particular album really good based on its variation of wide scope of genres, and incorporated the style within the Moby’s main Electronic music magic.

i must mention that the style as it appears quite wide, will no doubt have an influence on other artist’s work as it does rely so heavily on other types of music that gives the artist slightly less Credit than a much more focused artist of their own particular genre.

as the music on this compact disc is entirely studio based I was slightly disappointed in that no live tracks were included which is my main criticism of this album. This music is largely worth listening to and I would certainly recommend listening to several of these tracks before deciding to buy.

though as I went ahead and bought the compact disc not knowing the tracks before hand I found myself being pleasantly surprised. Out of the tracks I would say I liked all with the exception of the ‘degenerates’ track which should not have been included. Whilst the compact disc is great this track should ‘go’.

recommended:
yes

Community evaluation

This review was read 1049 times and was rated at
89% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • kevin121 published 28/12/2008
    I'm not familiar with this one, so thanks! great review.
  • burtybookworm published 12/12/2008
    Fab review xx
  • christinat published 03/12/2008
    great review, i am a massive fan of Moby's, hes the chill out genius!
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Last Night - Moby

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Electronic - Label: EMD Int'l - Distributor: EMI Operations/CEVA Logistics, PIAS UK/Arvato Services - Released: 12/05/2008 - 5099951830724

Product Details

EAN: 5099951830724

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 28/10/2011