Laundry Service - Shakira

Community images

Laundry Service - Shakira

1 CD(s) - Latin, Rock En Espanol - Label: Epic - Distributor: Sony Music/Arvato Services - Released: 11/11/2002, 11/03/2002 - 5099749872059, 509974987...

> Show product information

89% positive

16 reviews from the community

Review of "Laundry Service - Shakira"

published 15/04/2002 | ms19
Member since : 02/03/2002
Reviews : 1381
Members who trust : 133
About me :
Rate me and il try to rate you back :-) x
Super
Pro great mixture, very varied and catchy songs
Cons some dull songs
very helpful

"Shake your hips and sing out loud"

Shakira is a young singer from South America, she has been singing since a very young age but has only started releasing singles worldwide recently, she impressed everyone with her worldwide debut 'Whenever Wherever' but it isn't a debut for her just the world. Her style of music is a mixture of everything, native really and maybe latino? It's a different sound but seems to have surprised everyone.
The reason she has released this album worldwide is because it is her first album written in English, I think it's impressive and she has done words well to her songs considering she isnt't a born English speaker. Shakira doesn't have a normal ordinary singing voice she has a good voice which can reach lots of nots but it can go deep to, it's hard to describe, she always puts on a great performance by shaking her hips and getting the audiences all high.

TRACKLISTING
__________
1.Objection (Tango)
2.Underneath Your Clothes
3.Whenever Wherever
4.Rules
5.The One
6.Ready For The Good Times
7.Fool
8.Te Dejo Madrid
9.Poem To A Horse
10.Que Me Quedes Tu
11.Eyes Like Yours
12.Suerte
13.Te Aviso, Te Anuncio (Tango)

TRACK INFO
________
1.OBJECTION-This is a very tango sound, and starts off with a slow beginning with a piano and other music then builds up to a very catchy beat which is great for dancing to. She turns pop/rock etc all into one type of music it's very clever and a great result. Her voice fits great into this song a good way to start the album very fast and my favourite of the album.

2.UNDERNEATH YOUR CLOTHES-This is a nice ballad where Shakira shows off her vocals and it's not a dull ballad very nice. This is the next single she will release from her album I am sure. The music is nothing spectacular here but it never is in ballads.

3.WHENEVER, WHEREVER-This was the first song released from the album which everyone knows, and for the famous line about her breasts being small and humble which a comment was made everywhere it played. This is a very catchy and relaxing song. The tune is great and a different sound to hit the UK music scene she got to number 2 with this unfortunately because of Will Young but she deserved a no1.

4.RULES-This starts off with a drum beat then it goes on, I think Shakira's voice sounds a bit annoying on this song, it isn't the best song on the album a bit too repetitive and not her usual style.

5.THE ONE-This is my favourite ballad on the album, it's nicely sung by Shakira her voice fitting perfectly to the slowness of the music. This ballad builds up after the chorus, with a drum behind it even though it doesn't get too loud just more powerful. This has a similar sound to Underneath Your Clothes at first but then becomes a different song.

6.READY FOR THE GOOD TIMES-The chorus on this song is a bit repetitive and Shakira sounds posessed. This song is more of a pop sound to me it has an actual beat. This is ok but nothing excellent.

7.FOOL-This is quite a relaxing song, the music and Shakira's voice smoothly play through the song and so it isn't boring. I think it's a guitar playing in the background music.

8.TE DEJO MADRID-This song is a mixture of rock/pop, it has a catchy rhythm to it though and it doesn't really make any difference that it's in Spanish the singing. I think this is quite a mid tempo song so it could be good for a party or to relax.

9.POEM TO A HORSE-I think that this song starts of quite slow and happy then the verses are quite slow with good singing, I think this is a nice calm but melodious tune. The singing good and it is not tedious.

10.QUE ME QUEDES TU-This has an oriental beginning and then it gets very slow, this is quite a boring song and not exciting enough to keep up the good music in the album. This is another song sang in Spanish, which makes it sound a bit better but still doesn't make me love it. It is also if you have guessed it, a ballad.

11.EYES LIKE YOURS-This is a very native sounding song very lous very catchy and very much what I would expect from Shakira, it also has a touch of an arabian like sound. This is very great for dancing and I like this song.

12.SUERTE-There isn't really much to describe about this song it's just Whenever Wherever but in Spanish.

13.TE AVISO, TE ANUNCIO-This again I can't describe it's just Objection but sang in Spanish.

CONCLUSION
_________
This is a good album very mixed and a different one for me to like, every type of music on there so you are bound to like something.

Community evaluation

This review was read 3725 times and was rated at
100% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • LiveMusicLoverLyn published 31/12/2016
    Lovely
  • Evep published 18/05/2002
    I've just ordered this from CD-Wow. I love Whenever, wherever and it comes across as new age, latin american type of tune. It's the only one I've heard and I'm hoping I'll like the rest, I adore latin american music.
  • TheChocolateLady published 27/04/2002
    Excellent op! Too bad the woman is a neo-Nazi bigot.
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

offers "Laundry Service - Shakira"

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Laundry Service - Shakira

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Latin, Rock En Espanol - Label: Epic - Distributor: Sony Music/Arvato Services - Released: 11/11/2002, 11/03/2002 - 5099749872059, 5099749872028

Product Details

EAN: 5099749872059, 5099749872028

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/07/2011