Legend (The Best of Bob Marley and the Wailers) - Bob Marley

Community images

Legend (The Best of Bob Marley and the Wailers) - Bob Marley

1 CD(s) - Reggae - Label: Island - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 07/08/2000 - 42284621021

> Show product information

100% positive

1 reviews from the community

Review of "Legend (The Best of Bob Marley and the Wailers) - Bob Marley"

published 18/02/2006 | motty03
Member since : 01/09/2005
Reviews : 16
Members who trust : 0
About me :
Excellent
Pro catchy rhythm, lively music, easy listening and includes marleys best songs
Cons reggae is not everyones taste in music and can be found boring to some people
very helpful
Originality
Quality and consistency of tracks
Cover / Inlay Design and Content
Value for Money
Lyrics

"The Legend of Reggae"

If you have never heard of Bob Marley. He was the most famous reggae singer in the world. The wailers was the name of Bob Marley's backing singers/vocalists. And reggae is a type of music that originated from Jamaica. Also it once got very popular in the united states.

This album was made after Bob Marley died. This album includes many of bobs number 1 hits from other albums he produced. Nearly all of bobs songs have a meaning to them. They have a lively beat and also are very catchy songs. Like most albums they include a few songs you dislike and a few songs you really enjoy, I think that this album starts off with the better songs and towards the end they do start to drag a little. But all the way through they have a really great beat to them and a liveliness that are in nearly all of bobs songs except the slower love songs which are just as good.

Here is the list of songs in the albums

1. Is this love
2. no woman no cry
3. could you be loved
4. three little birds
5. buffalo soldier
6. get up stand up
7. stir it up
8. easy skanking
9. one love/people get ready
10. i shot the sheriff
11. waiting in vain
12. redemption song
13. satisfy my soul
14. exodus
15. jamming
16. punky reggae party

Heres a little information about each song.

Is this love
This song is one of the most beautiful songs in bob marleys collection. Its a playful song full of passionate commitment that appeared in bobs Kaya album.

No woman no cry
This song is the live version recorded from the London Lyceum concert. It has a slow build up which includes a stunning gospel organ. This is a heart rendering classic from bob marley.

Could you be loved
This song appeared in the uprising album. Another of Marleys beautiful love songs. With a dance edge to it.

Three little birds
This song brings light to a grey day it has got to be the most lively song in the album. It was originally on the exodus album.

Buffalo soldier
This was the hit single from the fantastic confrontation album. This song tells the story of the black men being taken into the ranks of the union army to kill indians. A great song with true meaning to it.

Get up stand up
This amazingly crafted song kicked off the burnin' album. This song is a religious song that explains about all religious boundaries in rastafarianism.

Stir it up
This is a masterpiece of seduction. Which was included in the Catch A Fire album.

Easy skanking
This song is another from the Kaya album. A song that was once pleyed alot in european clubs. Also a very lively simple song that repeats itself all the way through. A romantic song.

One love/ people get ready
This was the closing track on the exodus album. A song about brotherhood. A song about respect to men of men of good will.

I shot the sheriif
The song that was original written and sung by eric clapton and made into a reggea classic that shows defiance and testimony.

Waiting in vain
One of marleys most popular songs. A song that shows love can be worth waitng for. Also was firstly in the exodus album.

Redemption song
This song was taken from the uprising album. A very meaningful song which talks about the endurance against awesome or terrible odds.

Satisfy my soul
Originally from the Kaya album. A lovely song thats shows love and true passion.

Exodus
A very popular and successful song. The song that made the exodus album what it is. A danceclub hit in the u.s and uk. Lively and catchy song.

Jamming
From the title you can tell it is a song that will have a great beat and a fantastic livliness, and it definatly has. This was once an international hit.

Punky reggae party
Another of bobs most lively songs. A great song to finish of the album and leaves you wanting more.

This is the first ever album i bought of reggae. And i loved it. Ever since i had this album all i basically listen to is reggae. It is a great album and has a really great rhythm and beat to it. I have got to admit i think this is the best bob marley album i have bought as other albums have alot of songs that drag along, but this album is a collection of beautiful energetic songs.

The sound quality of this album is very good. It is all live recorded and recorded with real instruments which give a great effect, atmosphere and sound. Also reggae is a different sound completely to any other music you will ever listen to.

If you are interested in trying out reggae i suggest this is the album you should try. It is a great album to start with and it will give you a taste for the music and if you dont like it, you probably wont like any other types of reggae either. I found this album great to listen to and i couldnt stop listening to it for about around 3 weeks. I recomend this album if you are interested in trying out reggae.

if you decide to buy the album, i hope you enjoy it

Community evaluation

This review was read 877 times and was rated at
77% :
> How to understand evaluation of this review
very helpful

Comments on this review

  • HotBabes published 19/02/2006
    Buffalo Soldier has got to be a fav but there are so many good songs on this. x x
  • Averilla published 19/02/2006
    Stir it up and Easy Skanking are my faves off this album. Av
  • sandyback75 published 18/02/2006
    I love Bob, he was a true musical genius. Great review. Jono :-)
  • Did you find this review interesting? Do you have any questions? Sign into your Ciao account to leave the author a comment. Log in

Most popular similar products

Product Information : Legend (The Best of Bob Marley and the Wailers) - Bob Marley

Manufacturer's product description

1 CD(s) - Reggae - Label: Island - Distributor: Universal Music - Released: 07/08/2000 - 42284621021

Product Details

EAN: 42284621021

Ciao

Listed on Ciao since: 18/02/2006